Toyota Tsusho America, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Control
Quality Control Coordinator Product (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYMarch 26, 2018
Management is combative, company culture is hostile toward any kind of innovative ideas. No employee engagement. Pay is in the bottom 10% for the field of quality control. They justify this by offering mediocre benefits.
Pros
Decent work life balance.
Cons
Management, pay, benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodution
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYMarch 14, 2018
Very stressful. Overall no help from Management with everyday things. Pay is poor compared to the work required. Company keeps taking Benefits away. Good old boy system , No Team work. Worked 12 hr. days , long days. hardest part of job was having to work with power hungry supervisors. best part was the friendships of coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun.
Training Developer (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, KYMarch 8, 2018
Working with this organization for a project. I work with their HR department only, not sure about the other aspects of the organization. Very interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management disconnect
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, KYFebruary 5, 2018
You job totally depends on the manager that comes from Japan every 4 years. Place is made for expat employees, if you are local hire your career is very limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivle place
Produccion Team leader (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAOctober 2, 2017
A typical day at work was all ways the problem with people missing
work days I learned that we have to work as a team because if one fails all the team fails we need to be focuses in the areas that we are responsible for it .
Management don't took the next step to fix problems before was to late. work place culture we all get along well
hardest part when we make mistakes
when all people show up and we finish our jobs at timely manner
Pros
free lunches when we work in saturdays
Cons
no room to grow up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Reach Truck Operator/ Picker (Current Employee) –  Franklin, INSeptember 26, 2017
fun environment. All you need is to be focused. it can be hard if you like to chat with people because the jobs require you to be focused to meet personal goals.
Pros
diverse
Cons
it can be hot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of drama
Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Maryville, TNAugust 26, 2017
There was not enough pay. No advancement for up to 3 years. Management didn't do anything about the employees starting drama. Very childish environment.
Pros
Sometimes they buy us food
Cons
Drama, lack of advancement, no raises, childish environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Forklift Operator/Team leader/Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Walesboro, INAugust 21, 2017
I really liked working here but they didn't pay you much when I worked through the the company. But that could of changed by now. But that's what I didn't like. But had really good benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production scheduling
Production Scheduler/Planner (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYAugust 4, 2017
You will work 24/7, 7 days a week so be prepared to check your phone all day every day till at least 11 pm every night. Very stressful and pay is not worth the work load. There is never work/home life balance. Your management is very crooked and they do NOT have a backbone or stand up for their employees. Sales is the golden children and always right! Make sure you NEVER delete emails to CYA! There are very few that you can trust and everyone seems to always be out for eachother there.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Pay, management, no work/home balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Receiving and Shipping (Former Employee) –  Maryville, TNJuly 26, 2017
Great people to work for management is awesome...treated people the same liked that...always included temps as apart of their company and events they had
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay to work here
Forklift Operator/Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Franklin, INJune 17, 2017
Would be a better place to work if management could work together better. Need better HR people. Need more competitive wages. Could keep employees if the mentioned items would change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Princeton, INMay 2, 2017
Worked there for 3 years. Really worked with me when I had medical issues, but not as forgiving if you have to miss if family fall ill. Has decent benefits package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, great benefits, great employees.
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILApril 7, 2017
* typical day of work:
10 to 15 hours
* what you learned:
received good business management skills, developed great organizational skills (5S), developed great problem solving skills through (PDCA, TBP, etc.). Developed great budget skills.
* management:
majority of the corporate management team was fair, good coaches, listeners, leaders.
* workplace culture:
great employees that were there to make a difference because of my management style.
* hardest part of job:
I relocated 5 times to other facilities (Kentucky, Illinois - twice, Indiana, Tennessee) needing my management skills. I do not mind to travel, but not willing to relocate).
* the most enjoyable part of the job:
I enjoyed the relationships that I have made from working directly with suppliers, or Toyota Production Plants.
Pros
great healthcare.
Cons
lack of being able to strenghten my management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Export Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Maryville, TNDecember 29, 2016
Management was very good and worked well with the employees. Made sure to make everyone feel like a person and not just a worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but great people to work for
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYAugust 25, 2016
sorry they sent most of there plant over seas. they shut down most of plant. most of us was laid off. co workers was great to work with.
learned a lot machine work,different kinds.
Pros
free insurance, for whole family same pay never got a raise
Cons
short lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere
Safety Environmental Quality Specialist (Current Employee) –  Maryville, TNAugust 26, 2013
Secure friendly atmosphere. Though Be prepaired for long hours.
Pros
Great Health care (cost)
Cons
No advancement opportunties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with safety oriented coworkers
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAJune 29, 2012
A typical day at work would go smooth as long as everyone did what
they were assigned to do and did it in a safe manner. At this job, I
learned many different things in the time I spent there like operating
machinery(balers, compactors, a crane, forklift, trackmobile,conveyor belts) transported material to an
from truck weight scale to rail road pad to unload material into rail cars.Operated trackmobile to weigh rail cars for outbound shipment.
The hardest part of the job to me, was when one of the many pipes on the compacter broke or sprung a leak, we had to locate it, shut down the machine an to the best of our ability repair it in order to move on an clean up a slippery mess of hydraulic fluid.The most enjoyable part about the job that I liked was when the area I worked in got weekend overtime an our supervisor let us get a fire permit an barbeque during our shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
Group leader (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAJune 19, 2012
This job was the best job. Great team members. I liked the atmosphere .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/ Fast paced office/warehouse
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Maryville, TNMay 10, 2012
Typical Day:
Fast paced, productive. Very busy.

What I've learned:
JDE Systems, More on Excel, invoicing, receiving, shipping, HTS Codes, custom audits, ISO.

Management:
Discrimination towards my "young age" (22)

Hardest part:
Trying to accept the fact that i've been here for two years as a temporary and they will not hire me because of my age.

Most enjoyable:
Working with others as a team.
Pros
mon-fri 8-5, 1 hour lunch.
Cons
communication, expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inflexible management and long work days during month-end
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYMarch 31, 2012
Cordial coworkers, but inflexible management. Long work days during monthend and audits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toyota Tsusho America, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 21 reviews
56
47
33
23
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Toyota Tsusho America, Inc. Reviews by Location