Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Found 10,400 reviews matching the search See all 12,377 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but not for long.
Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX 78753July 16, 2018
I worked as part of the truck crew, so I was in charge or unloading the trucks and filling the floor. For how I worked and what I was getting paid, I think this would only be good for part-time and not full time at all.
Cons
No breaks, quick lunches, hard labor, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the business was already go down so peolewasnt feeling lose their job
stock clerk/ dock receive (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 16, 2018
the crysis hit them so hard everybody no the consequences
anytime problem with the costumer
the supervisor treat they team member like they stupid etcetc
thank god was seasonal
Pros
discount
Cons
no bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent low-wage job for some extra spending cash during the summer
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 16, 2018
A typical day consisted of stocking and re-organizing shelves and toys. Often times I would also help guests check out at the register, locate an item ordered online or via the phone in the back warehouse, and clean the store as necessary. The hardest part of the job was doing boring, unfulfilling work for 7 hours before clocking out and repeating 3 days a week.
Pros
nice lunch room
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
r us
seasonal cashier (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 16, 2018
i worked here for the christmas season. so yes that makes things as crazy as it sounds however even though it is crazy they refused to work with me with my health issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Good employer
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJuly 16, 2018
I had a okay time at Toys R Us just wish the pay was little bit more then what i was getting i enjoyed helping the customers in the store the work was very good
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks, Disrespecful in front of customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys R Us
Back of House Team Member (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLJuly 16, 2018
I learned very quickly. I started as Seasonal worker. After seasonal I was hired permanently. Work was at a fast paced. Always busy. Unfortunately, Toy R Us closed its doors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff both employees and management. Flexible with work schedule if an emergency for a day or so off was needed.
Sales/Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJuly 16, 2018
I worked for Toys R Us for over 23 years. An average day was to unload a truck and then merchandise it to the sales floor.

Hard part of the job was the difficulty of working with inadequate or outdated equipment which impeded the workflow process.

In general the staff was a pleasure to work with over the years especially the past few years before we closed up. We were a good team of employees that really worked well together.
Pros
Working with Staff employees and management
Cons
Lack of enough hours outside of Christmas season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate / Cashier / Stock Handler (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 16, 2018
Enjoyed my time working there was a good experience for me in communicating with people. I grew up loving going to this store for toys. It brought back memories as a child.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun experience.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 16, 2018
Everyone was very nice and welcoming and the customers most of the time were very respectful and understanding, My peers were very nice and helpful when things got difficult and everything was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working retail chain
Back of House Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hazlet, NJJuly 16, 2018
more work then could ever get done with the size of the teams in place to do the work. had to constantly work as fast as possible to keep the store going and get other projects done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced working environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDJuly 16, 2018
The flow of customers often fluctuated due to the seasons. They seamed to be short staffed a good majority of the time which made it so most of us had to do multiple things at once.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDJuly 16, 2018
Managers: hands on always came to directly handle issues
Typical Day: it started slow then picked up busy but it was relaxing
I learned to function as a leader, i assumed alot of different roles during my days
hardest part: customers trying to think they knew better
best part: co workers, i always looked foreward to seeing everyone
workplace: usually clean in the beginning, messy at the end but we kept it a good ship
Pros
Discounts on items
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsJuly 16, 2018
it was good until we got news they were closing, alot of pressure to find a new job, but that was a very fun place to work at i will miss bringing my kids in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys r us
Cashier/Sales Associate/Customer Service/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Middletown, NYJuly 16, 2018
Great place to work... when it was still around. Amazing environment and fair work with pay. Learned many skills and important industry information. If it was possible I would consider working there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys “R” Us offered events for children on the weekends
HR Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJuly 16, 2018
Toys are us offer events for children on the weekends which we set up and participated in. We work hard but we had fun. Made our store very inviting for parents, grandparents and of course the children .
Cons
Employees got a 10 percent discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and interactive store.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 15, 2018
The store was very interactive and there were many customers from all over the world.
The holidays were very hectic at times but it was still fun. Unfortunately Toys R Us is no longer in business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a fun place to shop
RECEIVING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Secaucus, NJJuly 15, 2018
Working in the stock room and on the sales floor was very interesting. I started during the busiest time of the year *Thanksgiving weekend*
The people I worked with were very knowlegble in their area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at and see kids play around
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAJuly 15, 2018
I would always be on cashier and see kids playing around with toys and parents tries to talk to me. I help them out with anything they ask for so I can get a smile from their face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service job
Customer Service/Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIJuly 15, 2018
Working at Toys R Us was enjoyable. There was an energizing atmosphere which made it a pleasure to be there. I enjoyed assisting customers with their purchases.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Top associate month after month to be the leader (Former Employee) –  Miamisburg, OHJuly 15, 2018
It was a productive place to work. I had to work with coworkers and the public. I had two departments that I primarily worked in. The cash office is where I started in the morning and then I went to the furniture department to complete my tasks.
Pros
I enjoyed what I did there.
Cons
I never took breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,382 reviews
54K
43.8K
33K
2941
1650

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight