Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Found 10,931 reviews matching the search See all 12,987 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaSeptember 20, 2018
I would reccumend that you work at. Toysrus it is a good exspierience. And fun place to work at. And agood place to make a good friend.and hard working managers and dedicated workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place for all to be like a kid.
Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Union Gap, WASeptember 20, 2018
It was a wonderful place to work. I worked for ToysRus for 20 years until they closed there doors.It was a place you could go to be a kid again. It allowed you to go to just look or experience the new toys as the store got them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the happy job
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARSeptember 20, 2018
i was very happy to work for toys r us because it gave me more experience to go into this world and make a difference for all the people in the surrounding areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Assistant Store Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaSeptember 20, 2018
the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with kids, Grandparents, and parents trying to make happy a kid and see their facial expression with the toys it's Amazing!!
Pros
kids happy make your day
Cons
recover the store each 10 minutes to get ready for more customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with great co workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chino Hills, CASeptember 20, 2018
this was a great place to work but it is closed now. a typical day would be cleaning the floors, putting everything where it belongs. the most enjoyable part was being able to interact with the guests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Totowa, NJSeptember 20, 2018
Meeting new people
learn how to merchandize. Great management
hardest part of the job is during the holidays.
Overtime is great during the holidays
friendly staff
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
cut hours after holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Totowa, NJSeptember 19, 2018
Everyday at Toys R Us was different some day would be packed some days they weren't. It had to be one of the friendliest and fun jobs I ever had, everyone was so helpful and friendly. the managers were understanding when I couldn't work one day. My co-workers were amazing, they taught me a lot about the job and we became very close till the last day there. I think the hardest part of the job had to be working on holidays such as Christmas Eve or just the whole month on December and Black Friday, one of the craziest/busiest days I ever worked but I got through it and got the hang of everything.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Johnstown, PASeptember 19, 2018
I loved working at Toys R Us when it was still open. I enjoyed the atmosphere. I enjoyed the people I worked with. And the management was wonderful there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 19, 2018
i was always the only cashier always had long lines and i always got yelled at for the long lines and i had to work a double when i could not.sometimes i did not get a break
Pros
happy customers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed
Back of House Associate (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOSeptember 19, 2018
The chain has closed down therefore i would not recommend for employment. The work was not rewarding and there was minimum room for promotion. Hours were inconsistent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad they Closed
Sales Team Member (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TX 79124September 19, 2018
Enjoyed working with my crew. Sad that they are no longer in business. All in all they taught me to be a social individual, I was a shy worker and I stepped out of my comfort zone. Christmas time was very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Work expeience and learning
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Totowa, NJSeptember 18, 2018
I was able to pick up a lot of skills and experience within a short amount of time. Shifts were often busy with lots of customers but straight forward to work through.
Pros
friendly workplace
Cons
Long hours and busy shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly
Team Member/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 18, 2018
Nice and friendly environment. Fast-paced does not offer enough hours. Can be a bit unorganized but friendly culture. Cannot recommend this company considering it is no longer in business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal - full time
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 18, 2018
It was a decent environment. Seasonally the other team members were ok. Management was very poor. Workers were not taken care of. When I was given full time after the season ended it was kind of a normal routine. The shifts changed a lot but I did my job and stayed until the day they closed. I enjoyed being around the children. Helping out the parents when they couldn't find what they wanted was the best. They were always so thankful. It was also nice being in the same neighborhood where I lived because the customers were so glad to see a familiar friendly face.
Pros
interacting with people, especially children
Cons
standing/walking all day., Those few customers that were never happy regardless of how much you helped them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TRU was a great place to work
BOH Specialist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 18, 2018
TRU was a great place to work, Great family environment. Great team members. Great store managers and asst. managers We all worked together. One team, one goal. One team, one dream
Pros
Great place
Cons
Corp. Office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Picking
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHSeptember 18, 2018
Complete battery swap for electric order picker. Very clear instructions on job responsibilities. Group stretches before beginning work. hour lunches were provided at no pay but it was nice to have time to relax before completing the last half of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Though short lived, it was a great job!
Seasonal Part-Time Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Cape Girardeau, MOSeptember 18, 2018
I was only brought in on a temporary basis through holidays and store closing, but the store and it's staff were amazing. More like a family than co-workers. If they ever open back up, I'd love to go back!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLSeptember 17, 2018
woriinj there I was seasonal , I worked for only 2 weeks and I was on call I made a lot of money during the Christmas season. It’s a good company so sad it’s out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Package Handler/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 17, 2018
I was a forklift driver and learned about warehousing in different department learning about also rf guns and more I enjoyed the people that worked there and also the gym the had there as well
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
Closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company sorry to see it gone
Sales Register (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORSeptember 17, 2018
It was a great company with flexible hours for the assocates. there where lots of room for growth with in the company . I would send people there for jobs even after i left.. After spending 20 yr there the store was like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,989 reviews
54.2K
43.9K
33.1K
2976
1693

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight