Trader Joe's Employee Reviews

Found 1,312 reviews matching the search See all 1,317 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet tons of really cool people (customers and crew members)
Stocker, Cashier, Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 25, 2019
Overall decent company with opportunity for growth. Management can be a little underwhelming and weak at times but as long as you do your job your more than likely fine. Attendance is pretty much the most important job in working for TJs.
Pros
Room for growth. Meeting cool people.
Cons
Too much favoritism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working there but the management could be better
Crew Member, Trader Joe's (Current Employee) –  Hoboken, NJMarch 24, 2019
Love working there but the management could be better. Never had a problem but the head boss would be picking on certain people on different days. She just needs to learn to be nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t do it to yourself.
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsMarch 24, 2019
It was nice at first until I switched to the early morning shifts. People are petty, rude, and unwelcoming. They act fake to your face and then turn around and pick you apart. One mate at my store even joined in on it and pretty much encouraged their behavior. It went to the point of one of the crew blatantly ignoring me when I came to answer her one bell. She looked right past me and waited for another person to come.
Cons
Mates dictate and don’t lead like they should. Crew is unfriendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 23, 2019
Had to work well within a team environment. Fun place to work especially if you enjoy working within a fast paced environment. Worked there many years and it is pretty easy for how much they pay you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The crew and mates are like family
Crew Member/Dept Head (Current Employee) –  Arlington Heights, ILMarch 23, 2019
Very good job, competitive pay, management is great, physically hard work but you are never bored . We are customer service experts and our clients have some high expectations
Pros
Very fun, lots of samples, great management
Cons
physically hard sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont go work their
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 22, 2019
don't go work their its not a good company to work for, the hours are horrible. they tell you one thing and don't hold to their word. they lie to you about the pay. you get 20
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Waterhouse Grateful to be a previous employee
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAMarch 21, 2019
Growing and Achieving Company(Warerhouse)
Provides and Dedicates skills and opportunities inside the distribution and earning of a great expanding Warehouse Production.
Pros
There welcoming of Employees
Cons
Temperary Employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cahier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Whittier, CAMarch 21, 2019
Working the cash registers, receiving and unloading deliveries, stocking shelves, answering questions about Trader Joe's products, and just generally making sure that every customer has a fun, friendly and informative shopping experience
Pros
discounts
Cons
heavy work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Opportunities
Community Participation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Monrovia, CAMarch 21, 2019
The workplace culture is a fun, interactive and grants the chance to meet new people within the company. The most enjoyable part is learning about what everyones role was and learning from one another. There was not a difficult part about the job because it was so exciting to get to work and make a difference in a positive way and be there for the customers.
Pros
Health Insurance, Company Parties and Discounted food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be better
Crew Member / Manager (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZMarch 21, 2019
Good company as long as you are willing to work hard. Harder work than people think. Balance customer service with a lot of lifting and stocking. Must be flexible and available all hours to get the best benefits from the company.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Availabilty dictates how many hours you are able to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People and good food
Meat & Seafood Section Leader (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, COMarch 21, 2019
A day at Trader Joe's is very dynamic in that in a single shift I would spend time with inventory, spoilage and donations, ordering, stocking, receiving, register, training, food demo, Illustrating signage excetera. I learned to multitask efficiently, and work with many personalities. Management was very solid and the work culture was always a good time. If you like food and people, you would probably be a good fit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment with delicious products
Trader Joe's Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Plainview, NYMarch 20, 2019
I loved my job at Trader Joe’s for the time I worked there. My favorite part about working there would be working at the sample station and enticing customers with the products we were promoting for the day! It felt good to help customers find products that become house hold favorites for the whole family to enjoy.
Pros
Discount, health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast-paced enviroment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAMarch 19, 2019
Typically at work i would arrive ten to twenty minutes early to make sure i have proper protective gear and prepared for my shift. My management was very motivating and helpful with task to help with faster productivity. The most enjoyable part of the day was lunchtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Section leader of every section during tenure (Former Employee) –  West Hartford, CTMarch 19, 2019
good place to work, show up on time and do what your told to do. you should get a raise every six months, it is a physical job that can hurt you if your not careful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly employees.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMarch 19, 2019
I had a great time working there. I was respected everyday. There was so much to lear from my fellow coworkers. Everyone put their best effort into making the customer happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 18, 2019
It was a good place to work but too much politics. Most mates only hire friends and family for permanent positions. I got in because of the holiday season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and family like company culture
CREW MEMBER (SALES/STOCK ASSOCIATE) (Former Employee) –  Sawtelle, CAMarch 18, 2019
A day at trader joes is pretty straightforward. You either come in before the store opens and restock shelves and unload the morning shipment and go home a little after midday or you start after the store opens and maintain shelves or work at the cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Special Job
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 17, 2019
Trader Joe's is a company like no other. They value their employee's very much. Management is good. The work environment is customer experience oriented.....they want their employee's to have fun while getting the job done. The work itself can be strenuous at times, but for the most part it is fine. Shifts and availability are flexible.
Pros
Benefits, work environment
Cons
Work load (at times), on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Crew Member/Order Writer (Former Employee) –  Bend, ORMarch 17, 2019
Wonderful place to work ad a very nice environment. Happy positive work energy and great staff and management. Competitive wage and room to increase skills attained during the time spent working for this company.
Pros
Decent wage and happy work environment
Cons
Some nepotism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a good job at a different store
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  NJMarch 16, 2019
I have heard good things about the work/ life balance at every other store. Poor management= lack of motivation for the team. No "community culture", as is traditionally described to be the case
Pros
dental, vision, healthcare if youre able to maintain an average of 30 hours
Cons
poor management, no set schedule, hours cut randomly during the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Trader Joe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,317 reviews
5639
4388
3186
257
147

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight