Transocean Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 329 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5141
4114
360
211
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 161 reviews matching the search See all 329 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recession Layoff
Ordinary Seaman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2018
I can understand laying someone off for financial reasons but don't string them along not knowing from one day to the next if you will come back to a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD people and good work environment
Internship (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 3, 2018
Nice people and good work environment to work with.
Fast pace, can learn lots of things from the other professionals.
The paid is good and diversified work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning and advancemet
Rig floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Gulf of Mexico,Trinidad, BrazilMay 22, 2018
day to day different operations ,rigging ,tripping drill pipe maintenance where needs,fire emergency drills,on board training,pulling BOP is one of the hard days because handling the bolts any way is a a tough job
Pros
Advancement Training
Cons
Lay offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
DECK SUPERVISOR/CRANE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 27, 2018
Fast paced, great coworkers and supervisors. hardest part of job was being away from family. most enjoyable part of job was crew change day when you headed home to family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Time working for TRANSOCEAN
Contact Person (Former Employee) –  Gabon, Port GentilApril 9, 2018
This was the best time of my life. I truly enjoyed my time with the company and would return any time to them. Management was great and money as well as benefits were outstanding
Pros
Salary and benifits
Cons
Promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Scanning Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 6, 2018
Always greeted with a smile. Very knowledgeable. Manager was very into employee growth which made you want more as in regards to advancement. Truly there weren't any hard parts of the jobs unless you didn't like to do manual work as you often had to pick up boxes containing records. The most enjoyable part of the job I would have to say is the actual fact is the team truly was a team and that reflects on the management. More managers are needed with his character and style.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having over 27 years with the company this is testament in it's self
Senior Management Systems Lead Auditor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 5, 2018
Good company to work for until the cutbacks in the industry and the loss of many of the drilling units due to selling and scraping of a large amount of the fleet.
Pros
Good pay, good time off, good people
Cons
Cutbacks in Health care and pensions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place with outstanding safety focus
ROUSTABOUT/ELECTRICAL DEPT (Former Employee) –  gulf of mexicoFebruary 24, 2018
if you like long work hours with extremely rewarding pay scale, this is the company to work for. the benefits were great and the schedule allowed for ample time to recover from 96 hour work week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Chief Electronic Technican (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 22, 2018
Learn to work on many different types of electronic equipment, Worked with people from different countries and culture. Mostly a good bit of time off the rig.
Pros
Good food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Sr. Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 19, 2018
was a busy job, but ok. worked long hours on deck and on the dynamic positioning console. utilized on the job experience to management different crews
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Ballast Control Operator (Former Employee) –  West AfricaJanuary 31, 2018
I was lucky to build up a wide experience base within Transocean. They invested a lot in Training and workplace culture, which is good business sense but mostly it ensured a safer workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people you saw everyday
IT SUPERVISOR/CHIEF ELECTRONIC TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2018
You front-line people are the best and I would go to war with them. But this company reminds me of every typical major corporation and how they truly value money over there people. They argue that by the amount of money one is paid to work here. It should always be about the people. However, they really don't care about you but more of what day rate they can get BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY
Pros
Great EVERYDAY people
Cons
So-Called BOSSES would sale their family upstream for favor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Derrick Man/ Assist Driller/Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  OffshoreJanuary 28, 2018
Great company, great benefits, decent offshore life and work atmosphere. Management supported safety and employees. Great family atmosphere to work and live in
Pros
Pay
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s long and boring
Unloader/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VAJanuary 23, 2018
It was a easy job ,but after while it gets boring and the days get longer.THe management is terrible I wouldn’t recommend anyone to apply there it was time for me to leave .
Pros
Fun and slow
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Stressful
Project Engineer Mechanical (Projects-Planning) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2018
While working at Transocean I felt that i was a number, the company had merged with my previous company and went from a company where most people knew each other to a large corporation where you could not know everyone. This lead to a silo effect as it was hard enough to keep up with the people in your department.

The company has since downsized and is more in line with the size prior to the merger.
Pros
good managers
Cons
upper management disengaged from the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, good bennefit and providing good life style.
Third Engineer (Former Employee) –  drill shipJanuary 20, 2018
What I can tell you is.. I was very exited to work there and miss the job so much. I really hope Transocean will have soon some project again then could take me in.
Pros
They provide all you need on job site with hight standard of quality.
Cons
You will have all your portion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place while oil prices are good
Subsea Engineer (Former Employee) –  gulf of mexicoJanuary 18, 2018
I loved working for Transocean I love the oilfield I just hate being laid off. When its good its great but when it bad its really bad. I loved the challenging work environment and potential for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract
Receptionist/Facilities (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 16, 2018
I started working with Transocean thru a staffing agency so there was no growth with the company. The environment was very separating where each department kept to themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat employees like babies. No respect or professionalism
3rd Assistant Engineer (Current Employee) –  Gulf of MexicoJanuary 12, 2018
Don't work here, they do not respect their employees and treat them like children. Zero opportunity for job advancement. That is all that needs to be said about this awful company
Pros
5% 401k match
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive greatplace to work
Roustabout (Former Employee) –  gulf of mexicoJanuary 9, 2018
working for transocean was great. had plenty of oppurtunites for advancedments.great people in mangement and. welling help advnce ccareer in the oil an gas industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport