Transport America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Dedicated driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 21, 2018
Good company i would recommend anybody to work for them i. Deliever parts for Mercedes back and forth to Lexington ky and back inwas on dedecated routs making 1050 a week sometime i deleiver otr work
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different challenging and exciting
Diesel Mechanic Start Date (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNMay 14, 2018
There is always something to laugh about every single day...laughing is good for my soul and my psychological wellbeing.
Every day is different challenging and exciting. No two days are the same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNApril 26, 2018
This is a wonderful company to work for. They do what they tell you they will. They maintain their equipment. Plenty of loads to make your miles. Only down fall is I want to be home daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNApril 2, 2018
Good place to work. They are very safety oriented. Work with drivers on home time. Good benefits and pay scale. Fleet leaders are respectful and will work with you on any issue you may have.
Pros
They stick to their safety conmintments
Cons
Being away from home and family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very competitive
Truck Driver/Over the road (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 9, 2018
it's a job that gave me the over the road experience but I feel is not very concerned with family time, the communication has to improve, as well as the home time scheduling.
Pros
good milage
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what i need right now
Regional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNFebruary 24, 2018
my situation has changed since I had started here three yrs ago, I no longer desire to be on the road all week long with not much time at home, and I don't like the way I see the company going basically
Pros
decent pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and sometimes stressful
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALFebruary 9, 2018
You have to stay focus and on point in order to get your loads in daily. Sometimes the traffic will not permit you to get to your appointments on time and you would have to wait until the next day. The most enjoyable part is I got to see the country.
Pros
Eat on the run and pay is great
Cons
On the road is not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNFebruary 1, 2018
If you come to this company, be prepared to work hard. This company is fast paced, and will run you. On the plus side, it will get you the miles you want or need.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Sometimes too fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team truck driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 31, 2018
I am one part of a team that drives for the Mercedes Benz account that picks up in Laredo. I enjoy having consistent miles and pay. Home on weekends.
Pros
Consistent miles and pay
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place with too much politics
Diesel Technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 30, 2018
the work was ok, too much politics in management and in the shop, if your not in the clique then your miserable.............................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transport America
OTR Driver/ Student Driver Instructor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 29, 2018
cool little company..ok starter company.they take really good care of equipment people are easy to get along with and they will never judge you nor force you todrive if you dont feel safeno matter what account it is
Pros
drivers safety is priority
Cons
need better hometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very poor company to work for...
Ex Lease Purchase Driver (Former Employee) –  Egan, MNJanuary 16, 2018
Transport America is by far is the worst company I have ever been dumb enough to work for. The lease purchase is a JOKE and if for any reason you have to give up your truck, they will bill you for fake repairs.

You will be treated poorly and even have some wanna be dispatcher talk to you like trash but if you dare talk to them in the same way, they will threaten to fire you and they will put things on your dac so watch that closely.
Pros
Very little
Cons
To much to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good middle size company
Over The Road Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNJanuary 10, 2018
nice place to work,not push about loads if u take the work u need to finish,dispatch has nice people will work with u to get u home.any problems let them
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good equipment
Southeast Regional Driver (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNJanuary 3, 2018
Fun place to work and great dispatcher at my time of employment with this company..............Not a bad place to work other than if you work the southeast region , you must park the tractor in Atlanta for your home time. and then drive your personal vehicle to where ever you live ...............................................................................................
Pros
washer and dryers at terminals
Cons
had to leave tractor in atlanta, ga. during off time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company just some minor hicupps
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  MinnesotaJanuary 1, 2018
good place just pay is low for the hours and time your on the road, first CDL trucking job. just would like to be home more often as much as I'm out and its a good company just hoped I would be paid better. my over all experience is average for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people that respect drivers
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaDecember 26, 2017
Good people that respect drivers but they want respect and responsibility in return. In fact, I think that word respect is the buzz word for the company. Their trucks are not the newest but are very well maintained and most look new. Trailers are also good. It would be great if they included a XM radio but they do include a fridge in their trucks. Good miles and good home time.
Pros
Good people that respect drivers
Cons
no xm radio in truck
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as all the other companies.
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNDecember 21, 2017
they are not "changing trucking"
they micromanage.
get no miles.
lack of maint. on trucks and trailers.
went over my HOS 2 times because of them.
low pay.
no incentives at all.
no use of BT devices at all.
sat for 16 hours waiting for a load. didnt get paid for it.
Pros
none
Cons
read the review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend no body work there
Shop (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 16, 2017
Bad management. Picked and choosed there favorites. Drama. Lots of uncomfortable situations with employees having smart mouth the mechanics wasn’t great
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the ppg account was great
Driver (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 8, 2017
I ran the ppg account and it was great good people and good life style. Was able to get home every night and ran the same account almost every day. Management was great.
Pros
home time
Cons
64 mph trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOOctober 24, 2017
I enjoy working for transport America. They keep you moving all the time. The people are very friendly and helpful. Always had a safe haven for you to take breaks when nothing was close by to break ( truck stops or rest areas).
Pros
Always kept loads added on while on a different load
Cons
Delays at shippers when arriving on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Transport America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 150 reviews
536
447
337
213
117

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
4.6

4.8Personal Development

4.9Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight