Transport America Employee Reviews

Found 160 reviews matching the search See all 161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job to work at if you have responsibilities
Transport Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas txSeptember 1, 2018
I worked here for almost 6 months. I was a OTR driver for the most part things were going well I was getting paid decent than I transferred to Dallas and everything went down hill, mark (safety headquarters) made my time in Dallas very horrible he was very unprofessional, he watched my every move and always had something to say . He even went as far as to insulting my wife. Not to mention I went 5 long hard working weeks without receiving a paycheck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if not for the shop supervisor i had, this would be my absolute favorite job ever
Diesel Mechanic Technician (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 24, 2018
This is a great company with competitive pay and benefits and a great work environment. I thoroughly enjoyed working here, other than my shop supervisor, and I would recommend working here to anyone.
Pros
all around great employer
Cons
Shenard Gordon
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and helpful staff.
COMPANY DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNAugust 19, 2018
I would stay with transport america if they could find me a dedicated account that had me home daily. I have worked for TA for over 6 years and it's a little sad to resign. The Safety/Terminal/Dispatch managers at my home terminal will be lifetime references and truly missed. All companies are subject to change, but us as drivers have so much stability in the workforce.
Pros
Safety 1st. Very peaceful work environment. Staff and terminals were acceptably appreciated.
Cons
A lot of executive changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to drive for
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 18, 2018
I love my time there. Everyone there is amazing and the training is top of the line. If you are afraid of something by the time you get out of your trainer truck you will be comfortable! I love This company
Pros
Driver Manager, loads, load times and drop off time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work careing people
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNJuly 28, 2018
I would stay longer but family needs me home more. Lots of different job opportunities and placements. The will help you and listen to your life needs
Pros
Job advancements
Cons
Health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNJuly 27, 2018
Decent company to work for. Truck maintenance could be better. It's a lifestyle more than a job if you can't hack it then move on, It's not for everyone. They do what they say 95 % of the time so overall it's better than most.
Pros
Dedicated runs
Cons
Healthcare premiums
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a vision
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 20, 2018
Transport America is a company that is honestly trying to change trucking. Both times I worked there it was a positive experience. I was an OTR driver I enjoyed my time there, sadly my Driver Manager created a Conflict of interest and put saftey second, and freight first. I highly recommend Transport America to new drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok..place to work
Regional Driver (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNJuly 1, 2018
This was a good company was a regional driver home on weekends . I learn lot about the company, the hardest part was driving hazmat load around the the tunnels.
Pros
Working at the port in phila
Cons
Truck speed govern to low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is a great trucking company to start with and/or retire from
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNMay 31, 2018
The company really wants the drivers to be safe. If you're sick or tired, they don't want you to drive. They will make arrangements to have the load rescheduled or relayed. Compensation is very good for the indusry.
Pros
Very nice terminals with lots of amenities.
Cons
During holiday seasons, freight was not available to get you home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNMay 26, 2018
The people are good, they listen, they care, it's a great company. One of the finest I have ever worked for. If it wasn't for my health, I may still be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Dedicated driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 21, 2018
Good company i would recommend anybody to work for them i. Deliever parts for Mercedes back and forth to Lexington ky and back inwas on dedecated routs making 1050 a week sometime i deleiver otr work
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entertainment for the drivers when they come in to the terminal
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIMay 16, 2018
I enjoyed working for transport America they were patient and very helpful and the work environment was kind of laidback and the people were very nice and friendly.
Pros
free laundry and free detergent to wash your clothes
Cons
healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different challenging and exciting
Diesel Mechanic Start Date (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNMay 14, 2018
There is always something to laugh about every single day...laughing is good for my soul and my psychological wellbeing.
Every day is different challenging and exciting. No two days are the same
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNApril 26, 2018
This is a wonderful company to work for. They do what they tell you they will. They maintain their equipment. Plenty of loads to make your miles. Only down fall is I want to be home daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNApril 2, 2018
Good place to work. They are very safety oriented. Work with drivers on home time. Good benefits and pay scale. Fleet leaders are respectful and will work with you on any issue you may have.
Pros
They stick to their safety conmintments
Cons
Being away from home and family
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very competitive
Truck Driver/Over the road (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 9, 2018
it's a job that gave me the over the road experience but I feel is not very concerned with family time, the communication has to improve, as well as the home time scheduling.
Pros
good milage
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what i need right now
Regional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNFebruary 24, 2018
my situation has changed since I had started here three yrs ago, I no longer desire to be on the road all week long with not much time at home, and I don't like the way I see the company going basically
Pros
decent pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and sometimes stressful
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALFebruary 9, 2018
You have to stay focus and on point in order to get your loads in daily. Sometimes the traffic will not permit you to get to your appointments on time and you would have to wait until the next day. The most enjoyable part is I got to see the country.
Pros
Eat on the run and pay is great
Cons
On the road is not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNFebruary 1, 2018
If you come to this company, be prepared to work hard. This company is fast paced, and will run you. On the plus side, it will get you the miles you want or need.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Sometimes too fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team truck driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 31, 2018
I am one part of a team that drives for the Mercedes Benz account that picks up in Laredo. I enjoy having consistent miles and pay. Home on weekends.
Pros
Consistent miles and pay
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Transport America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 161 reviews
537
451
342
213
118

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

4.6InHerSight Score

4.8Personal Development

4.9Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight