Travel Leaders Group Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale, management has questionable ethics, no diversity
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VADecember 21, 2018
You are expected to sell, sell, sell without any incentive. You can sell ten fold and it goes unappreciated and unpaid. The incentive and commission structure is questionable-and you are expected to NOT question it. No work-life balance at all. As an employee, you are just a mere means to the end. The management throw random tantrums, slam office doors, and speaks to staff in such a condescending manner that it creates a very low morale. It is not unusual to be screamed at or belittled in front of your peers. The most unprofessional office I have ever witnessed in my entire life!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a new oportunity
Director Business Development (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 12, 2018
A great place for meeting new people in the travel industry. Always enjoyed the win in bringing on new clients. Working with great team to ensure the best in delivering service.
Pros
The spirit of winning!
Cons
Expensive healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible temp job
Virtual Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 24, 2018
The work wasn’t really difficult, however a lot was expected. Accepted this temp assignment through an outside agency, so I can’t blame everything on the company; but overall was nor treated well. Too much work, lack of real support or help. Once they see you’re capable, they pile it on. Long days and would finished stressed out daily.
Pros
Virtual
Cons
Little to no support for temp employees; overload of work; rediculous precedures and policies
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a contractor so much of Travel Leaders' policies did not apply to me
Sales and Account Management (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDNovember 14, 2018
My departure was a mutual decision. I am 71 years old so retirement was the obvious direction. The company with whom I was contracted was acquired by Travel Leaders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
VIP/Corporate Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2017
No team work. Agents squeal on each other. No help from management.very poor managers with no managerial experience. overall bad work environment. My friend has been there for over 3 years without a raise. would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.
Pros
pay
Cons
everything there is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Travel Agent (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 19, 2018
The role of a Travel Agent with today's accessibilities are extremely competitive. I excelled at each task for this position such as trip sales, finance, invoicing, emails, and communication. The work was very demanding but rewarding in the end. It was easy to get discouraged by disgruntled clients or a loss in a sale. Although this job gave me great experience I decided to look at a new career path since I believe my skills can be used for a greater purpose.
Pros
Discounted Trips
Cons
Mangement, 30 min lunch, 13 hour days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The agency was nice
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 13, 2018
I enjoyed my co workers
It was a great job
I had formed many wonderful relationships with clients
I was sorry the name of the Agency had to change and then the business closed
Pros
Great people I worked with at company
Cons
Business closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 28, 2018
Great workplace with plenty of learning opportunities. Enjoyed working with other agents and giving the customer exactly what they want. Offer customers extra opportunities to enhance their travel experience.
Pros
Learning opportunities
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx xxx xxx
WAH Travel Agent (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 2, 2017
Days can be stressful. But for the most part, they are ok.The favoritism is transparent. Benefits are not favorable to employees. Management needs to be trained on being professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Fantastic Job
Integration Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLJuly 16, 2018
I worked with acquired agencies to integrate them into the company. I was busy all of the time however, I loved it!

I had the autonomy to manage my own schedule and that is a fabulous!

I worked with quite a few different internal departments over the life of the project. Everyone was very nice.
Pros
Work From Home, Self Directed, Fun co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just vendor contractor
Project Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 7, 2018
I was just a vendor contractor.
• Daily operation consisted of processing daily Flight bookings/changes and Excess Bags forms. Check flight manifest for month-end reports.
• Administered credit card payments Thru E-Pay system; research and entered incoming check payments for deposits. Scanned ALNG and BP forms to executive office form Amadeus system.
• Assist clients and co-workers when necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps going downhill
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 31, 2017
Company states they are making big profits but make acquisitions instead of giving raises to employees. Always pushes "revenue" but does't give employees time to attend training. Pay is decent if you work hard, good interim job. They do some nice things around Christmas time and there are some very good people working there. Management spouts the same message over and over, but gives little direction to get there. Company is still little known in the industry, which is strange considering it's so big. Need to get their brand out better.
Pros
Good people, fun holiday giveaways, virtual/work from home
Cons
Difficult work/life balance, stressful workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 79No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun culture
Information Technology Procurement Analyst (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNAugust 13, 2015
Awesomeness all around.
Great company culture.
Must be a winner.

Rate this company
*required
Overall rating*
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly coworkers
o Travel Consultant- Leisure/Corporate travel (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJune 5, 2018
Travel Leaders was a great place to work, I enjoyed the work itself and my clients and coworkers. My only problem was the pay and slowness in business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel Agency
Corporate Travel Agent (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COMay 23, 2018
Travel Leaders is shut. Gunbarrel Travel where I had worked for 13 years had shut and Travel Leaders was still trying to hold on in the changing travel agency marketplace but they were not successful in doing so. I got offered a job at DigitalGlobe and took it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, low pay
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Travel LeadersJanuary 27, 2016
Outstanding coworkers and lots of opportunity to learn new skills. The management is friendly and supportive. Lots of travel opportunities domestically and sometimes to international and exotic locations. Very flexible for requesting time off and telecommuting. Compensation is very low, not just for the area but also in comparison to the national average. Expected to work long hours and nights with no extra compensation. Insurance and benefits are good but very expensive. No 401k matching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Local Travel Agency
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSMay 5, 2018
Had the pleasure of working with a great group. I was looking to travel and experience more rather than sit behind a desk. Due to unfortunate circumstances I resigned to pursue other opportunities that allowed me to be more remote and still book quality travel. I continue to explore international opportunities and gain more knowledge in foreign languages to further my travel adventures.
Pros
Worked with friends, local
Cons
No vacation, no health insurance, no commission, no private office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned about interesting places to travel.
Receptionist and Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INNovember 2, 2015
A typical day at Travel Leaders is answering the phone, listening to clients questions about travel, and helping the agents with administrative work. The most enjoyable part has been ordering the brochures and looking at the different locations for traveling. I enjoy interacting with the agents and the clients.
Pros
one hour lunches.
Cons
Healthcare and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
VIP/Corp Trvl Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2017
This company has the worst management I have ever encountered in a company. They also encourage agents to squeal on each other which I find very disturbing. There is no team work at this company and no help from managers. The pay was good but my sanity was more important.
Pros
pay
Cons
To many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many changes have occurred within the past 10 months or so. The organization is a mess. This is nothing but a call center,
Senior Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 9, 2017
Many changes have occurred within the past 10 months or so. The organization is a mess. This is nothing but a call center, with overworked agents, and angry customers.
Horrible phone system. Many ridiculous rules.
Agents are expected to emulate into many different psuedo cities.
Agents are expected to be familiar with way too many accounts, which is impossible.
Overall a very overwhelming, stressful environment.

The ONLY good thing is the affordable health insurance.
Pros
Affordable health insurance
Cons
too many accounts for too few agents
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Travel Leaders Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 41 reviews
514
49
39
22
17

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture