TravelCenters of America Employee Reviews

Found 1,097 reviews matching the search See all 1,098 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a different world
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Denmark, TNAugust 17, 2018
For those that have never been around the trucking industry, it's a whole new world. TA does seem to care about its employees but the bottom line is the business! Also some managers can be cut throat.
Pros
Discounts in the restaurants, medical is pretty good
Cons
Always open
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s ok
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 15, 2018
They don’t really care for their employees. They want you to do everything a manager does without pay or title. You get treated horribly by drivers & customers & you’re on your own.
Pros
None
Cons
No advancement opportunities or pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well if you overwork yourself.
Monroe - Technician (Current Employee) –  Monroe, MIAugust 15, 2018
A good training company. Most employees last 6 months. Commission based pay so paychecks In my case would fluctuate by $500 take home. Also you have to compete for "good jobs" with people on your shift. Overtime hardly affects you paycheck. Simply more time equates to more opportunities to generate labor. The technicians who made the most money are in constant pain from rushing through repairs and by doing so not ergonomically lifting heavy components. Always understaffed.
Pros
Pays well, training
Cons
Inconsistent pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just okay
Fleet Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIAugust 14, 2018
If you are looking for a foot into the diesel industry TA is a good option. The downside is there isn't much opportunity for growth. Financially speaking TA pays much less than their competitors. I was a home office employee and the culture in home office is not the same as being in the filed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fultonville, NYAugust 14, 2018
Friendly customer service required...positive attitude required...must be able to multi-task. Being on time is very good trait..lots of patiences because you talk to people from all nationalities..being able to handle cash is good
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not enough wages for cost of living
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace work environment.
Server (Former Employee) –  Seymour, INAugust 14, 2018
Travel centers of America was a very good job experience for me for 3 years. I learned how to do more then 1 thing at a time. I leaned great peoples skills. I handled money and any issues with a customer. I learned a lot about customer service.
Pros
Could take off as long as manager was warned
Cons
Healthcare, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long-term positions
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hampshire, ILAugust 13, 2018
Many of the people I worked with stayed at TA for multiple years. The pay was steady and competitive. If you made it a fun experience, it was a pleasant place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work General Manager treats you like a dog or challenge
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenland, NHAugust 12, 2018
Dont work TA Greenland NH treat staff like their stuped and dont matter GM creates drama and shift battles. GM steals money from servers when the drops are over when it should go back to servers considering its their tip money. Treats staff like they dont matter when your nothing with out the people around you.
Pros
Loved working with my staff
Cons
GM treats people like their stuped and creates fights and drama among staff. Gm needs to shower .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely horrible place to work
Fuel Clerk (Former Employee) –  Monroe, MIAugust 11, 2018
One particular manager hated me and seemed like he was out to get me he made me feel as if i didn’t know what i was doing, and rude even the simplist questions when i first started he was rude and not very managerial like at all
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over 10 years ago
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 10, 2018
Started as a fuel desk Lead and worked my way up to a retail marketing specialist within 4 years. I ran several locations, worked at Cleveland HQ and then traveled 5 days per week visiting teams in several different states. Team culture was good at the time but this was over 10 years ago
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Mobile Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 9, 2018
Over all good job rough work and quick pace... not a job for a family man ... swiching hours is random.... ot reguarly all around ta is a great work place for on the go people
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVAugust 8, 2018
During the peak hours time flies. I learned so much about Comdata, personal checks, and point of sale during my time there. You will be crosstrained in both fuel desk and store transactions.
Pros
Unlimited drinks for small fee each month
Cons
You have to be on top of your own breaks or you wont get one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool productive place to work
Cashier/ Crew member (Former Employee) –  Lake Station, INAugust 5, 2018
It’s a laid back place to work, customers come in with a great amount of respect, and the managers are very awesome. They have flexible hours and give time off if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your job is always on the line.
Assistant Truck Service Manager (Current Employee) –  AnywhereAugust 4, 2018
Even when it comes to minor issues or circumstances that are beyond your control, your job is always being hawked for better candidates. It unfortunate, as the site team is great, but upper management is a nightmare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 3, 2018
I worked here quite a while ago, but when I worked there it was a good place to work. I waitressed, so my salary was minimum wage + tips. The tips we're pretty good. No benefits though.
Pros
Good Tips
Cons
Could be stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Arvin, CAAugust 2, 2018
Fast paced working environment , I just would've wished they were a bit more flexible with hours. Other than that it was alright. Customers are a bit difficult.
Pros
One Free Lunch and 20% discounts
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Lead CSR III (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHAugust 1, 2018
Management made things very stressful for employees, everything was cutthroat and no one wanted to listen to anyone. employees were treated like slaves without compensation
Pros
none
Cons
short breaks, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow work place
cashier (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAJuly 31, 2018
never got any breaks management was never there. 90 percent of the customers where complete jerks. there was very few things to do when you finished everything during your shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace
Manager Trainee (Current Employee) –  Foristell, MOJuly 30, 2018
Good employees easy going able to move up in company pays decent also. Everyone is pretty fun and they try to help out. Will help with college but must stay at company for so long and only detain classes will they cover.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
Insurance but have to be full-time for a year and it cost a lot!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uptight uncomfortable place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJuly 30, 2018
Mistreatment of employees. A lot of sexual harassment and nothing gets done. Management treats employees badly. Management has favorites and treats everyone else like dirt.
Pros
Lunch only $3
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TravelCenters of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,098 reviews
5248
4297
3290
2121
1142

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight