Tropicana Entertainment Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INDecember 21, 2018
Tropicana cares about their employees and makes safety their first priority. I enjoyed my three years there. The pay was also great and we stayed super busy around the holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My thoughts about Trop
Server (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MSDecember 4, 2018
I would go back to work there any day I enjoyed my time there its a good place to work I always was ready to go back on my off days I would tell anybody that its a nice place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready to work weekends and holidays.
Dual Rate Floor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Laughlin, NVDecember 3, 2018
You get as much out as you put in. This property sees a lot of turn over in a short amount of time. But if you show interest in learning and advancing they will work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at in all of tahoe other than McDonalds
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Stateline, NVDecember 1, 2018
If you wanna be stressed,lied to,and talked trash about behind closed doors AND open doors this is the place for you! Management is the WORST at the front desk they hire just anyone that doesnt know what their doing.
Pros
None
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good customers
Valet Attendant (Current Employee) –  Atlantic City, NJNovember 10, 2018
Nothing but good things to say about the trop. They are fair with the hours that you can work and am flexible and will work with you. The hourly rate is competitive for valet.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atosphere is lively lots of people to meet poor management
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 25, 2018
work is very hectic costomers are very funny management is unprofessional atomosphere is very lively hardest part of job are the weekends best part of job meeting new people
Pros
beneifts pay
Cons
point system policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Poolside attendant and cashier (Former Employee) –  Laughlin, NVOctober 4, 2018
It doesnt matter how long you have worked there seniority means nothing. They promote from the outside not from within the company. Some of the managers are great to work for or with while others show favoritism. The company was a good place to work for but as all places have there is drama in every department.
Pros
They do feed all employees for free
Cons
Favoritism, no promotion with in company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend this employer
VIP Concierge (Current Employee) –  Laughlin, NVSeptember 25, 2018
Very stressful, poor management, hostile work environment I would never work for this company again. Manger doesn't listen to employees, certain employees get preferential treatment.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
bad management, stressful, hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and hard work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Laughlin, NVSeptember 13, 2018
Housekeeping is not an easy job, it was a lot of fast paced and often competitive work. Working well under pressure is a requirement for this type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and managers
Senior Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 24, 2018
Have been with Tropicana nearly 10 years and it has been a fun and rewarding job. My co-workers and managers are hardworking and appreciative of one another.
Sad to see the company being acquired by another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-Paced and Fun Work Environment
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INAugust 23, 2018
We have a small staff in the department I'm in which allows me to know all of my co-workers. Working in a casino you meet a lot of people you wouldn't normally meet, in an environment where every body is there to have fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of walking but not a stressful job unless there was an electrical problem.
Facility Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INAugust 21, 2018
Most people are good to work with and talk to. Cleanliness of lot was never good. Hotel needs update. Parking garage was nasty due to never being clean or not enough trash cans.
Pros
See different customers, multiple repair types
Cons
no money, no raises, minimum insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect has gone down the hole
Cage Cashier (Current Employee) –  EvansvilleAugust 20, 2018
Been here for a few years and had a problem with management. When i tried to get it resolved with HR because i knew our top manager wouldnt do anything about what had happened, a few months later that manager has gotten off the hook, like they always do, and I have nothing but a bitter taste in my mouth and no respect for anyone in upper management or HR. Favorites are played and it's felt like a high school drama for months because no one will do anything about any of the problems. Though the issues of the drama stick to one shift, day shift is almost impossible to get on unless you dont want to move your way up the corporate ladder. There are so many people willing to go to day shift with senority but would have to take a demotion to do so because 'its just a front window position'. Not worth the drama or lack of respect. They will not work with you, and frankly dont care. Go to a different department if you want to work here.
Pros
Great supervisors, Pto
Cons
Upper Managment, discounts, health care, Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers are hard to deal with
Dual Rate Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 11, 2018
Its a ok job they pay a little more then the other casino in the area. But it is downtown the guest can get out of control.They give you free lunch but most of the time its horrible .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Security Coordinator/Security Officer-EMS (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 11, 2018
Overall not a bad place to work, sometimes stressful depending on which position you work in. Most employees are nice and easy to get along with.
Management could be a lot better for some departments, others are just fine.
Pros
Free food
Cons
expensive insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Becoming way too corporate
None (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 25, 2018
Worst management ever. The place used to be cool, but has steadily become more corporate. Don't expect much in the way of benefits or pay. Many back-stabbers.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not helpful expensive healthcare stressful
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MSApril 19, 2018
Ok place to work but rules and regulations are made up as management goes along Management make up excuses about everything Management not hands on Could be better as a whole
Pros
PTO incentives
Cons
healthcare too expensive not being paid for overtime Salary is not enough for the work you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 8, 2018
I would consider going back to work for this company. They provide a good safe working environment. They also require a hair follicle test to insure they do not risk hiring anyone on illegal drugs who could steal from their business or their patrons.
Pros
Discount on some restaurants.
Cons
Can't attend the casino with out permission, not even off duty
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish it wasnt the case but low pay and unfortunate situation at Trop
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlantic City, NJ 08401April 8, 2018
Pay is roughly one third less than at other casinos in the area starting at $10 an hour. Guest complaints were unending and usually justified. Loud elevator noise in some towers can be heard halfway down the hall. Motel style rooms for several hundreds of dollars in some towers. No way to secure renovated rooms and many high level player booking in advance get rooms in the non renovated party tower.
Front desk managers there are great.
Corporate decisions caused unnecessary dissatisfaction.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Low pay at the front desk
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Cocktail Waitress/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MSApril 4, 2018
It was a nice environment towork in if you stayed focus on your job only. Not a good place to become overly friendly with coworkers or patrons. Managemet was a passive person and had no problemsolving skills. The hardest part of the job was disrespectful unruly partons and the best part was the money.
Pros
Fun enviroment
Cons
Lot of different personalities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tropicana Entertainment Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 72 reviews
514
423
314
211
110

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture