TruGreen Employee Reviews

Found 2,480 reviews matching the search See all 2,526 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time Consuming with Advancement Opportunities
Sales (Current Employee) –  Not ListedJanuary 27, 2019
> Sales driven, corporate friendly company, which has recently adopted more customer oriented service.
> Good benefits, which can be costly, depending on tiers selected.
> Great training preparation for door to door and phone sales, with constant coaching to improve sales skills.
> Advancement opportunities available, but can be dependent upon relationship to management instead of management skills (be ready to re-locate for advancement).
> Management can be ruthless at times and could use more training in motivational skills, but does practice an open-door policy, and can be supportive when needed.
Pros
Lucrative opportunity for high school gradtuates, with little or no college experience.
Cons
Long hours and extreme conditions to work in, i.e. long hours, weekends and extreme weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a career
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 3, 2019
Laid off but do recieve unemployment December-Febuary. Work about 55 hours per week. Management was aweful. They will give you a bad performance review no matter how well you perform in order to not give you a raise. The pay is very low and the managers are horrible with communication. Customers are getting ripped off and will get mad at you because of the false expectations they had when they were sold the programs. It's very cutthroat and management knows you are replaceable. Required to make sales weekly on top of your already overbearing work expectations. Equipment is cheap and will break. I love my co-workers, 3 day weekend, and having my own work vehical but absolutely do not plan on staying with TruGreen.
Pros
Nice co-workers, work alone, 3 day weekend, weekly paycheck
Cons
Management, 14 hour days, seasonal position, low pay, hard fastpaced work and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for young single people. If you value family time, look elsewhere.
Field Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLNovember 15, 2018
Working for trugreen taught me that my work ethic will take me further than most. Was it recognized? Somewhat. After being groomed to be a sales manager after the two current ones couldn’t retain employees, upper management brought in a THIRD supervisor from another branch, and he never clicked with the employees. Top that with corporate only caring about the bottom line, this company truly goes by the “you are easily replaceable” mantra.

We learned sales metrics, but I would shudder at their employee retainment numbers.
Pros
Ability to make my paycheck what I wanted. Benefits (but what legit career job doesn’t offer?)
Cons
Management outside the branch is out of touch with employees, or they just don’t care.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much pressure
Residential horticulture specialist (Current Employee) –  Fairfield, OHJanuary 10, 2019
Specialists get pushed to work too hard because of the pressure from corporate on each branch. Service managers are pressured to overload specialists with work each day to ensure applications get done. However, this makes it nearly impossible to maintain a 100% service rating lowering each specialists chances of receiving their monthly retention bonus. Specialists are also expected to make at least 3 new truck sales per week. Corporate suggests that each specialist should knock on the doors off at least 2 non customers at each application site in order to pitch a sale. The days simply are not long enough to accomplish everything that is expected.
Pros
Insurance benefits; work independently
Cons
Overloaded work days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay to start, but don't stay
Customer Retention Specialist (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaOctober 30, 2018
Its good to get some call center experience but the work/ life balance is all out of whack. They expect you to never get sick or have sudden life events come up. If you have to be out by a certain time to pick your kids up from daycare or have a carpool set up they can't guarantee your schedule times. Yearly raises are a joke. I was promoted and didn't see my raise for at least 6 months and never received back pay. I would of left a long time ago if it wasn't for my coworkers. I've never seen such a high turnover rate.
Pros
Nice coworkers, easy to get hired, weekly pay
Cons
Wages, schedule flexibility, favoritism, yearly layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very go hard sales job
Field sales supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winter Park, FLDecember 7, 2018
Employers expect 10000% out of people which is good if you're a workaholic but the days are long and you'll never do anything but work. You get lots of Saturdays even if you're performing and your team isn't. You can make a hundred deals a week and still not be ahead on your quota because your team just sucks.
Pros
Good pay, hour lunch, paid vacation days and holidays etc, salary plus commission with bonuses
Cons
Bonuses end after first 2 months. Management isn't very good, little guidance and no residuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Branch Employment Coordinator/Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Franklin, MAFebruary 4, 2019
I worked as an inside and outside sales rep as well as the BEC . It was a great company and job. The income is great and there is always potential to make more. Great help and friendliness from both coworkers and upper management. Positive environment and potential to grow within the company is always available.
Pros
Company, staff, compensation.
Cons
Hours in the field, depending on the weather living in New England.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Lawn Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Upper Saddle River, NJAugust 3, 2018
A lot of these reviews for this location are fake. You get 35-40 jobs a day. If you don't get it all done, you'll hear it from management. Your told it's mandatory to work more than 40 hours. In weekly meetings, they curse and yell at you if the branch didn't meet the goal. they say if you don't like it, there's the door. The mechanic curses and yells at everyone and the mgrs don't care. Favoritism is big there. Besides 35 daily stops you have to knock on doors to make sales and if you don't, you get punished in different ways. The machines and trucks always breakdown. New vehicles go to favorite s. Benefits and overtime is good in the summer but the with the stress, you'll need it. It's good if you need to make money fast but don't plan a career. It's like McD. Every body worked there once. sidenote it wasn't always this way
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Read the post
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job vs the atmosphere is contradicting
canceling specialist appointments (Former Employee) –  Oldsmar, FLOctober 18, 2018
The job duties are not hard at all. I was able to go from a customer service representative, data entry representative then a team lead from March 2013 to Feb 2016. However, the atmosphere was petty and childish. No one is held accountable for their actions and a lot of unnecessary complaints that were manageable with proper management. The raises they offer were only $.25 cent or less once a year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, somewhat dangerous, mind-numbing
Lawn Technician and Sales (Current Employee) –  Fairfield, OHDecember 22, 2018
Work is over scheduled. Managers expect you stay late and help other workers that may be behind, even members of management leave early multiple times per week. Unrealistic workloads in the summer heat. Averaged walking more than 1 million square feet per week.
Pros
weekly pay, overtime, benefits
Cons
minimal home life, management is subpar, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Lawn Technician (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALDecember 26, 2018
Work you to death. Never got a raise. They give you a bad evaluation so they don't have to give you a raise. They only care about the customer's need. They don't care about the employees needs. Make you drive unsafe vehicles. Chemical barely work. They over charge customers. Square footage never correct. Corey needs to be replaced. Pat needs to be replace. Reed is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free lunch during meetings.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Lorton, VAAugust 27, 2018
Lorton VA office is terrible. Don't go there. Poor management due to low education. It is a door to door job no matter the weather. The company has no respect for the health of the employees. They tell you that it is a fulltime job but it is seasonal as you are laid off in winter. Nobody wants to stay as the company has poor pay and benefits.The A/C and Heating system are dysfunctional. Very dirty office, no floor tiles or carpets. The furniture in the office is the worst that I have ever seen. The bathrooms are very unsanitary. The computers and phones are very outdated. That office should be closed down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone just starting out in sales
Residential Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Rochester Hills, MIFebruary 2, 2019
If you want to get in to sales without experience or a degree, this is the place to go. New hire training teaches the fundamentals and access to an online library helps to fill in the gaps. When asking for advice, coaching is provided without judgement. Team members work together to provide a motivating and supportive environment.
Pros
Skills development, positive environment, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get work experience
Lawn Technician, Estimator & Trainer (Current Employee) –  Paducah, KYNovember 5, 2018
Good place to work for someone who is young or looking to get physical labor experience. Days can be long and hard, quick paced work environment. Management has their days but overall good. Hardest part of the job would be dealing with the weather.
Pros
can make as much as your willing to work for
Cons
hard, long work days, limited benefits, job becomes monotonous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict call center
Telecenter Inside Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  GADecember 14, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers make the most of living life outside. I have high hopes for the new leadership in 2019. I recommended friends to come aboard.
Pros
cool coworkers
Cons
Cut raises, reduced overtime, cut commissions, micromanagement, Sal
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Manager Workforce Management (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 22, 2019
Okay place to work. Company has been trying to make improvements in technology to better serve customer needs, but there has been a lack of leadership in this area. As far as WFM, there has been little focus and there is a big issue with spending any money to upgrade technology in this area to increase efficiency.
Pros
Good pay, benefits
Cons
Lack of paid time of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Relations Specialist - Full-time (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IA 50023November 27, 2018
I had THE BEST manager in the Ankeny, IA office. Team work was encouraged which made coming to work every day fun and fulfilling. The only thing I did not enjoy was calling the same customers over and over again to upsell.
Pros
pay, benefits, management
Cons
sendentary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here!!!
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Johnstown, PAOctober 3, 2018
Management is a joke here. You only advance in this company if you are on your knees or if you kiss azz 24/7. Also do not expect any type of raise worth anything. John Collins is also the worst manager ever. He doesn’t care about anything except getting his bonus which he has no problem letting everyone know about.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice before applying here...
Lawn care specialist (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCJune 7, 2018
I worked here and they make all these promises of advancement in pay and position...i spoke with another coworker who was here for a few years and he told me he received a .30 cent raise in 3 years...and the way they keep from giving raises is by pushing their specialists to make sales ...and you do not always make sales ...you might get lucky and make a few but that is it! then they tell you if it is thundering and lightening out we are not suppose to treat lawns...well more lies ! I had to work in downpours with lightning only a few miles away! and the equipment? well that is a joke! the management are so stuck on pleasing corporate they wont spend a dime on new equipment! do not apply here unless you love being treated like garbage!
Pros
not a lot
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and goal based with poor hours and moderate compensation
SALES / CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  York, PAJuly 17, 2018
When I worked for TruGreen the economy was in poor condition which affected the workweek hours of 12-9PM Monday through Friday and 9AM to 3PM on Saturdays for the purpose of achieving weekly sales goals. Believing that I had potential, the company started me at their highest weekly rate of base pay for incoming sales representatives. I began on the "Neighbors" program where telephone calls were made to people who owned homes without TruGreen service near homes that received services to prospect for new accounts. I was eventually given leads through customer inquiries and went door knocking to prospect for new customers. I left the company for the teaching position at South Eastern on good terms and would be able to work at TruGreen again.
Pros
Commission plus salary, training for sales techniques
Cons
Poor hours and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TruGreen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,526 reviews
5555
4717
3630
2299
1325

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight