Trustco Bank Employee Reviews

3.1
Overall rating
Based on 133 reviews
Ratings breakdown
517
434
342
219
121
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 133 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here unless you are desperate!
Branches (Former Employee) –  New YorkMay 22, 2018
Employee turnover is sky high. They are always short of people and have to scramble every day for coverage. It is the most screwed up place I have ever worked. It is a culture where you better just do your job...no time for cross training. Low pay, no benefits until after 90 days. Health plan is weak. It is a company where one family has majority ownership so they pay themselves big stock dividends. Executives also pay themselves well and treat themselves to expensive off site events. Everyone else below the executive level gets crumbs. Because all the money is spent on executives, they have no money to spend on the bank. Equipment is old (remember the old manual teller machines? Yup, they've got them). Computer systems, hardware and software are not current.
Pros
Occasional free lunch
Cons
Poor management, poor morale, low pay, weak benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Orange, FLMay 18, 2018
The part I like the most was the customers. But management and higher ups let you know you are disposable. Not a good environment to work in. The pay was a lot lower than the average for the job position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Winter Garden, FLMay 18, 2018
Very nice employer, fun environment, nice coworkers, nice and fast expenses reimbursement, very good goals payment system in place,
a nice networking environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Enviornment
Teller (Current Employee) –  NYMay 5, 2018
Customers are loyal and very friendly. Not your average bank. May need to find work to do to let the day go by. Has the best rates on institutions products.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay, Advances, Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Branch Manager/Mortgage Originator (Former Employee) –  FLApril 23, 2018
The pays are awful, and it is really slow. Good luck getting any help or even any responses from upper managements. The bank is so outdated in term of technology, and even customers don't like Trustco bank. Nobody know who is Trustco Bank since they don't market any of their products due to being cheap. They expect you meet monthly goals without breaking any sweat. Also, retail lending dept and operations consists of people who don't know what they're doing which make your job more frustrating.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Bank Teller I (Former Employee) –  Guilderland, NYApril 4, 2018
when i worked there the first time i was luckey to have two managers i like. enjoyed working with the coworkers i had, learned a lot about the banking world
Pros
good hours
Cons
pay was not so good
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 23, 2018
The management was so poor, especially for the Part-Time workers. When I applied for the job I applied to be a PM Teller because I have school in the morning. But instead, I was always scheduled in the morning.
Pros
Nice Staff
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very old school and talkative
Bank teller (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 9, 2018
I love what I do as a teller but there is way too much drama at Trustco Bank. There is always someone out to get you. It is a good place to work, but just make sure you don't say too much. The job is challenging, but we still use sharp machines. Trustco is very behind on technology unlike any other bank. They also do not pay enough for what you have to deal with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not even think about working here
Teller Supervisor (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsMarch 7, 2018
Basically worst company to work for ever. Higher up will tell you they care over and over to try to convince you of this fact because their actions speak loud and clear of the opposite! Am getting so fed up that as soon as another option is available I will be leaving!
Pros
Nothing!
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
HEAD TELLER (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 28, 2018
They pay very low wages and are not very willing to give raises when it comes time for you to get a raise. They also love to to keep the branches understaffed so a typical work day is busy and stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just dont
Mortgage Originator Asst. Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Red Hook, NYFebruary 5, 2018
Its not even worth it, just pass and go somewhere else. They do not care about the people who work for them , their bottom line is making more money for the higher ups and that's it
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Based on your own effort
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Glenville, NYFebruary 4, 2018
More of a sales role than I realized. You have to pay your dues as the beginning and the pay is pretty low, along with their retention rate. The people you work work are very nice although not too much diversity in the upper management part of the bank.
Pros
Honest Living
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management in administrative branch and outdated methods
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Ramsey, NJJanuary 29, 2018
Poor management in administrative branch and outdated banking methods and equipment. Lack of a good training program. Managers not properly compensated for their job duties.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
low pay, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seems too good to be true and it is
Teller 1 (Current Employee) –  Peekskill, NYJanuary 29, 2018
Extremely slow paced, lucky if you have more than 30 transactions per day. Management is very difficult to get a hold of upstate and when they do it is very difficult to get information from them.
Pros
slow
Cons
difficult management, no overtime allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter for banking experience
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJanuary 2, 2018
Trustco is good for starting if you want to get your foot in the door to move on to a new bank. The pay is extremely low and assistant managers travel more than they let on in the interviews and they will not pay for mileage.
Most of the employees that do get raises and promotions are sleeping with the higher ups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management of staffs
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYDecember 28, 2017
the company is seriously understaff because they do not pay competitively, staffs come, learn the trade and move on, and poor benefit also contribute to the high turnover.
Pros
good learning environment
Cons
poor training and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with a Great group of people
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Monroe, NY 10950November 9, 2017
Our branch is very busy, so the day goes very fast. We have a great staff, We have a mix of customers. It is an old fashioned bank, with good values,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Either a hit or miss
Branch Manager II (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2017
If you kiss authority’s butt, you get opportunities. I’m well favorited but the place is absolutely unorganized and is an overall joke. Great start for your foot in the door. People constantly come and go and it really decreases customer satisfaction. Level three managers get and do what they want. As long as your hitting your goals 3/3, you’ll never have to worry about a thing. Everyone else can lose it in a quick second. People are hired off the street. Could be such a great company if you were paid on how hard you work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced job with poor management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYOctober 24, 2017
Trustco Bank for me was a tough place to work due to the fact it was cut throat. At times it could be toxic with disagreements with upper management and the way they treated the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Job
Teller, Floating Teller (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYOctober 2, 2017
Working at Trustco you meet many different type of people. It can be stressful if you do not prove to the penny. I enjoyed helping with back counter work like travelers cheque, credit cards and etc. Being a floating teller it hard on my vehicle going where ever you are needed.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
miles on my vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport