Tufts University Employee Reviews

Found 207 reviews matching the search See all 209 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly standing directing trafic
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  North Grafton, MAJanuary 12, 2019
Most of the day i would be standing directing traffic to parking lots, preventing people from entering construction sites. Everyday that i would work, my manager would bring me food to eat and something to drink.
Pros
free food everyday
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 10, 2019
Learned A Lot and met great connections in the dental field. I experienced a lot of great things. I saw a lot of interesting procedures and got to experience a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's typical work
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Tufts University, MAJanuary 4, 2019
Well I only work a few hours a week so I only go in for 2 days during the week since I work as an undergraduate. It's a nice environment and the lab that I work in is very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student researcher as a part of a lab
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Medford, MADecember 30, 2018
Worked as a student researcher (unpaid position). It was a great environment to learn the basics of cell culture, tissue engineering, and other lab techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Helper
Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Medford, MA 02155November 13, 2018
I was a contractor taking care of the biological elements of a students project. It was hard labor and when I visited I was mistreated and the project overseer was very insensitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Cultured department
Postdoctoral Scholar (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 12, 2018
the Department of Molecular Biology & Microbiology is an excellent dept to work for. There is good camaraderie between labs and sufficient resources to support postdocs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work/ Heavily depends on your department
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 30, 2018
I worked at Tufts University for years and overall it was an amazing experience. My department happened to have some brilliant people in it with a true understanding and practice of work/life balance.

There are some interesting hurdles to overcome in qualifying for a promotion even if your direct supervisor puts you up for one.

Depending on your department, you have the opportunity to work with some amazing policy makers and thinkers.
Pros
wonderful work/life balance, great people, great benefits
Cons
bureaucracy, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate assisstant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Medford, MAOctober 27, 2018
I was a graduate assistant at Tufts University and got paid well. I loved working here and it did not interfere with my graduate program. I had to leave as I graduated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Program Administrator (Current Employee) –  Medford, MAOctober 22, 2018
Enjoyable company to work for. Good benefits to include free use of the gym and classes at a cost but with reimbursement through medical coverage. On site training and wellness information. Low parking fees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism and low pay
Staff Asst. (Former Employee) –  Medford, MAOctober 21, 2018
This university seems to only promote you unless you are are an alumni. Qualified people are passed over for promotions and poorly paid in general. No work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Assistant for Inclusion (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 19, 2018
I am a full time student of Diversity and Inclusion leadership Program at Tufts University. I work here as a Graduate Student Assistant for Inclusion. Good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen empleo para estudinates
Spanish Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somerville, MAOctober 17, 2018
En un día normal enseñaba dos o tres recitations de español con unos 10 estudiantes en cada clase. Una vez a la semana me reunía con el director del departamento y los otros asistentes del profesor para organizar las clases de la semana. Era un buen ambiente laboral y un gran trabajo para estudiantes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and relaxed place to work
HR Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Medford, MAOctober 11, 2018
A typical work day is relaxed and comfortable at Tufts. It is fast paced for those who look to work at a quicker pace. It is a place where you can learn and develop your skills if you so choose to.
Pros
Holidays and retirement account
Cons
Slower workforce
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and paid time off
Senior Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Medford, MAOctober 8, 2018
Overall a great working atmosphere and good people and culture. I only wish Tufts pays better and not so restrictive on spending money on the comfort of the workplace such as a microwave and fixing paper towel dispenser in the ladies room
Pros
free coffee and tea and a generous sick day benefits
Cons
merit raises below inflation, pay is lower than other companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disapointing
Dining Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  Medford, MASeptember 13, 2018
Very disappointing work experience,bad mgt culture unsupportive cutthroat. Don't expect support or mgt to have your back.


crew and benefits are the only positives

CYA
Pros
Great benefits-time off ect
Cons
Mgt, Culture, Treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never worked at a place where I felt managers are out to get you before in my life before tufts
Facilities Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 12, 2018
Currently looking for a new job. No room for advancement. Management would rather look outside than internally and give current employees a shot at moving up.
Pros
Health benefits.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-campus employment
Time management and Study Strategies Consultant (Current Employee) –  Medford, MASeptember 7, 2018
The pay is usually near minimum wage, but my on-campus employment stints have always been enjoyable. I have had flexible work hours and my bosses were understanding of my status as a grad student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assistant
Research Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 5, 2018
This internship provides hands on and direct experience with the medical career. Collaborating with both doctors and medical students provides opportunity for future students and creation of future colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For me, it was a good opportunity to teach at the undergraduate level
Instructor in Psychology (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 3, 2018
Lively, attentive, engaged students. They were curious and interested in learning. It was a pleasure to teach them. The administration was welcoming and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, no advancment
Surgical Veterinary Technologist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 26, 2018
Great Place to work, not much advancement, great security, benefits and vacation.

Great group of poeople and very interesting work. Constant changing environment
Pros
good hours, constantly chaning
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tufts University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 209 reviews
596
470
327
23
113

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight