Turning Stone Resort Casino Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 100 reviews
Ratings breakdown
531
432
316
211
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 97 reviews matching the search See all 100 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Food Runner and Server (Current Employee) –  Verona, NYAugust 8, 2018
Typical day at work is usually the same. I learned that people are rude and fake. The management is very rude, and they are mostly unfair and act above everyone else and think they have to do less work because they get paid more. The hardest part of this job is the people. They stress you out. Or when it gets busy and everything is put on you, its very stressful. But i get it done.
Pros
Good food
Cons
short break and underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Turningstone as a Beverage Server
Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Vernon, NYJuly 28, 2018
Overall if you get your sleep, make friends with your immediate management and do not call in, you can make the most of this position. Co-workers are very competitive.
Pros
401k, Paid Vacation
Cons
Driving in Whiteouts (expecially when the season is slow), Favoritism by Managent (which effects your money), Favored girls get higher tipping areas, and very competitive for the higher spending areas. No Christmas bonus for nonmanagement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Diamond Card Representative (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJuly 22, 2018
They don't follow labor laws, they expect you to defend the company but put little to no interest in helping employees in need. I was constantly made to feel guilty if I needed to leave for a medical issue. I passed out from a panic attack, had to leave in an ambulance and was written up for leaving early.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work just depends on who you work with!
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJuly 20, 2018
In all honesty they pay well and give you great hours for the most part. They pretty much always hire and have a diverse culture of people. They don't discriminate!
Pros
Holiday lunches, Small raises, Big and Open Environment, Meeting New People
Cons
Can be very short handed at times, The bus system for employees can be slow, Attendance policy can be harsh at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endless room for advancement
Steward (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJuly 18, 2018
Endless room for career advancement and so many different departments to choose from. Some uniforms are laundered at the facility. Will even help with educational expenses if you choose to further your education for a career that would benefit the facility
Pros
Endless career advancement
Cons
Can be some language barriers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turning Stone
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJuly 11, 2018
I really don't like turning stone, it was a job I had to do to pay the bills. I think that they are not very good people. I also don't think they pay well at all!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy place to work for
Portor (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJuly 2, 2018
Good place to work for easy going most of the time good peple to work with easy job to pick up and learn the pay is good the food is ok the boss are good
Pros
Hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid place to work
Events Manager (Current Employee) –  Verona, NYMay 16, 2018
A typical day at work could be anywhere from moving and unpacking boxes to greeting celebrities.
Learned amazing guest service skills.
Management had my back.
Workplace culture was welcoming.
Hardest part of the job is when we are understaffed and didn't have enough employees to cover the workload while in the middle of hiring.
Favorite part of the job is seeing guests win.
Pros
Great employee training opportunities
Cons
work/home life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional competitive atmosphere
Executive Specialty Chef (Current Employee) –  Verona, NYApril 25, 2018
hired to build a commissary division to streamline productivity and insure consistency throughout the 20 plus outlets.involved in all restaurants internally and externally.
great place to work, very high standards and a a group of great chefs.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Lead Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Verona, NYApril 24, 2018
turning stone will work you till the jobs done. the jobs easy and you learn from the sous chefs. You go into work change into your uniform and go to your kitchen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oneida, NYMarch 28, 2018
it was a good place for advancements work was steady increases were given very busy enjoyed the people their it was a casino great culture native American casino
Pros
opportunity
Cons
still developing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  verona nyFebruary 28, 2018
interesting working with patrons providing a good gaming experience.following procedures of the house & protecting games & excellent customer service.
Pros
free lunch, nice clean atmosphere
Cons
all kinds of hours & shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I’m happy to work with them..
Card Dealer (Current Employee) –  Verona, NYFebruary 21, 2018
It’s very nice to work with my co workers and very nice to meet guests and I’ve learned something new everyday . It was my first job since I was 18 and I still working there until now. I been there about 5 years..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Verona, NYFebruary 12, 2018
Great company, good pay, great people, and a great environment to be working in, hours make it so you don’t have a life but all along money is worth it and recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of honesty during Interview
Surveillance (Former Employee) –  Gaming CommissionFebruary 11, 2018
Working there, was told when hired about the room for advancement and led to believe that job involved things that actually were not true. Workers are a revolving door there. Working in Surveillance you are not allowed to talk to anyone other than your few co workers. You must eat and take breaks in the Surveillance break room which is usually just you alone. Depending on shift, you may be stuck with supervisor who is not good. Co-workers throw each other under the bus just for the slightest opportunity to make themselves look better.
Pros
None
Cons
No socialization allowed, untrue about advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive very welcoming and beautiful.
cleaner/housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJanuary 31, 2018
Typical day of work was very busy and I cleaned gaming machines and hallways.I also cleaned bathrooms. answered questions for customers and I welcomed customers as well.I loved my job just had a family emergency back in my hometown.
Pros
discounts, lots of employment oppurtunities
Cons
idk
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job there but it is time for change
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Verona, NYJanuary 30, 2018
I love working at Wildflowers Restaurant in the casino but after almost four years at the same job I want to see what this area has to offer in different restaurant atmosphere's, wine shops, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Vernon, NYJanuary 18, 2018
This was a great place to work. Staff is friendly and helpful. Benefits are great with all things available to you. Employee cafeteria is awesome with many lunch options
Pros
Opportunity to advance
Cons
Long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good job
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Vernon, NYJanuary 9, 2018
Only complaints are that as workers we experienced many difficulties with our managers, also I left the position to go away to school with the intent to resume work there when I returned for breaks, this was kind of promised to me as well, but I haven't been able to continue working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYJanuary 8, 2018
Worked as a cashier for casino store.
Great hours.
Managers were great.
Work area was what would be expected of a busy casino operation.
would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turning Stone Resort Casino. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Turning Stone Resort Casino Reviews by Location