U.S. Army Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous job
Strategic Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 16, 2018
The Military is a dangerous job. Do not join the military if you are not willing to give a 100%. There is no place for those that will not pull their weight.
Pros
Travel
Cons
You have no Personal Time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the military
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Campbell, KYJuly 16, 2018
I enjoyed being in the military. They offer a lot of great benefits. They are family friendly and great leadership. They are always willing to promote those who work hard. They recognize great soldiers.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
The pay sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect
Logistics Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Huachuca, AZJuly 16, 2018
Learned accountability procedures for Quality control Property
learned to receive/ship equipment, supplies with proper requisition forms
enjoyed the companies i was assigned too, as well as the individuals worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honorable but tough career choice
Human Intelligence Collector (Former Employee) –  Fort Hood, TXJuly 16, 2018
I served honorably and met some great people. Life can be difficult because of the hours and deployments. Lots of learning opportunities and career advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanic
Power Generation Equipment Repairer (Former Employee) –  Fort Hood, TXJuly 16, 2018
Light Wheel Vehicle/Generation Mechanic-Maintain maintenance and repair vehicles and generators as well as recovery operations. Performing work on brake systems, steering, hydraulic, suspension, and electrical systems.
Pros
Traveling the word.Gaining work skills.
Cons
Long hours, being away from family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Ammunition Supply Specialist (Former Employee) –  Texas,July 16, 2018
Best experience ever. Travel the world, learned different cultures. Engaged with different people and learned to complete a mission. Learn when to take the lead and when to play subordinate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, exhausting
Military police dog handler (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 16, 2018
Working in the army is very demanding, a lot of hours, and hard work. It is also very rewarding. You meet amazing people, learn a lot, and challenge yourself every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FInancial Technician
Financial Technician (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 16, 2018
Great opportunity for those who are motivated. There is a direct correlation between how hard you work and promotion. They have amazing programs for student loan repayment and attending college for free while on active duty.

Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend to those coming straight out of High School
Soldier/Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Riley, KSJuly 16, 2018
Unfortunately experienced a lot of terrible leadership which lead to a negative outlook on my time served, hard to review considerin g so many different variables, MOS, Duty Station, Rank etc
Pros
Health Care, Connections, Life long friends
Cons
Seperation from family, hours, stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Artillery Captain
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Benning, GAJuly 16, 2018
Loved the Army, just didn't hold up physically. I do think more focus could be placed on combat arms transition into civilian life. Not much is marketable
Pros
everything
Cons
time away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJuly 16, 2018
Career enhancing, great people (military and civilian) that are committed to the profession and the future of our country. Long hours but worth the effort.
Pros
Career and personal enhancement
Cons
Deployments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training is very important
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Bluefield, WVJuly 16, 2018
I love the army so far my college is paid for and the benefits are amazing. Being in the military really helped my drive for the civilian side of law enforcement. I have a security clearance that I was hoping helped me out as well
Pros
All the benefits the military gives you
Cons
Deployments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the army what more can i say
Light Wheeled Mechanic (Current Employee) –  EverywhereJuly 16, 2018
Its the army what more can i say you are on call 24/7 u get travel and every three years you might have the chance to live somewhere new... but in this job the risks are high and the rewards can be good if u work for it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the military
USA - Private First Class (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJuly 16, 2018
It is the military, some are cut out for it some aren't. If you can handle being told what to do the majority of the day, and being limited to what you are allowed to do in your own free time, it is a great way to get a head start in life. Education benefits, and healthcare, along with decent pay and a great base for future jobs, it is all there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Chaplain Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Carson, COJuly 16, 2018
Nothing more to say everyone's experience will be their own experience. I would only talk to those sisters and brothers that ever served. It's a personal view mine alone.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working as a veteran
Electrical Repairman (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TX, Hanau GermanyJuly 16, 2018
Trouble shooting of electrical equipment.
How to work with others
great management
always moving us around
on guard duty
doing something that they said couldn't be done
Pros
see the world
Cons
not owning a home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oh to be young again
Infantryman / Intel Specialist (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 16, 2018
I would definitely recommend every person coming out of high school to enlist for one term in the military. It teaches you how to be an adult and sets you up for your future in the work force.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Combat Medic (Former Employee) –  Ft. Hood, TXJuly 16, 2018
All the place I went to and the things I learned as a young man was outstanding I would give up that Esperance for the world. I could have made a career out of it.
Pros
The Travel
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experiance
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Washington StateJuly 16, 2018
Learned a lot there and it was great had fun and wouldn't change anything about it. Had great leadership, great job advancment, and great medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Infantryman (Former Employee) –  Ft. Drum, NYJuly 16, 2018
The army is a great place to work. it is highly stressful and a lot of time is spent away from loved ones, but the payoff is well worth it. Not only do you get paid well with great benefits, you also have a great deal of pride being a member of the service.
Pros
health care
Cons
time away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 58,442 reviews
533.5K
416.6K
36.4K
21.1K
1810

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.9Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight