U.S. Army Employee Reviews for Soldier

Found 1,255 reviews matching the search See all 71,268 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
SOLDIER/GUARDSMAN (Former Employee) –  Toccoa, GAOctober 18, 2019
Serving in the Army was a challenging and enjoyable experience that only so many are able to take part in. The army has longstanding traditions and beliefs and to be able to be apart of it would make anyone proud.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for everyone
Soldier (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 17, 2019
had some of the best times and worst times of my life working here. the people that work here are always and interesting bunch, cant complain too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
US Army Soldier (Former Employee) –  MarylandOctober 17, 2019
Had fun would recommend my job to anyone interested in this field. I retired in 2016 and started to attend morehead state University last year in the pursuit of exercise science degree
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your body hurts, but your mind soars
Soldier (Current Employee) –  AnywhereOctober 15, 2019
You get a whole lot of different experiences, with different people, cultures, backgrounds, and beliefs. I met one guy from Utah that had never met a black person in person until he shipped off to Basic Training. I met the most wild left-wing woman I've ever seen while receiving Arabic Culture training on the opposite side of the USA from where I used to live. The Army is great for seeing new things.
Pros
Required to be decently fit.
Cons
Your bones hurt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
US Army Soldier (Former Employee) –  Fort Knox, KYOctober 15, 2019
Waste of your years, the benefits are good but hard to actually get. You get looked down on when getting medical help for being weak. The VA takes months and months to process your benefits once you finish your contract.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soldier
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Fort Campbell, KYOctober 13, 2019
Was a great experience. Got to see lots of different places. Upper management absolutely difficult but hey what can ya say it's the United states Military
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job can't wait to go back to work with them.
Soilder (Former Employee) –  Fort Leonard Wood, MOOctober 7, 2019
Great job can't wait to go back to work with them. Best for benefits pay and living. You have the chance to travel the world and get paid to do so. So why not join!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goverment classified
Enlisted Soldier (Former Employee) –  MissouriOctober 6, 2019
I am not aloud to provide any information for this job because of the confidentiality. Anything needed to know can be found on GoArmy.com or at your local recruitment center.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unmatchable
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Fort Drum, NYOctober 4, 2019
The army is an experience that you cannot receive anywhere else. Sometimes all you have is yourself and the ones around you. the work and relationships you develop while doing it are the best memories you’ll have
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience opens a lot of doors in the civilian world
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Muskegon, MIOctober 3, 2019
i love being in the army i highly recommend it to anyone thinking of joining. i think it helps build character and discipline and i think everyone could stand to learn these traits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving your country is always a blessing
Soldier/Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Camp Ripley, MNOctober 1, 2019
If you serve your country, do it for the right reasons. You put on a uniform and train to be a leader. Stand out from the crowd and have honor in what you are doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXSeptember 30, 2019
Your sacrificing alot in the army but it does have alot of benefits. It does stress out people to a high degree. Eventually you have to decide whether its for you or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
US Army Soldier (Former Employee) –  Fort Drum, NYSeptember 28, 2019
I really have no comment for joining or being in the military. It is more racial now and weak then what it was in the past. I do not recommend joining the army.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Soldier in Training (Current Employee) –  Fort Jackson, SCSeptember 27, 2019
productive PT formations breakfast formation detail lunch formation continue detail right place right uniform right time clean barracks conduct personal hygiene
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work but Worth It
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Killeen, TXSeptember 25, 2019
There are few opportunities like being able to serve your country and getting paid. Buck rear van opportunities are available that can be hard to come by depending on your current military operational specialty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a commitment.
Enlisted Soldier (Former Employee) –  Mustang, OKSeptember 23, 2019
It's the Army. It's not easy and sometimes it isn't fun. Mind your leaders and do as you are told and you will be fine. Depends on the MOS when it comes to duties and your higher ups.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Fort Jackson, SCSeptember 23, 2019
I can see how someone would do good in the military. I just had a bad experience. If you deal with anxiety or depression at all in life, you do not need to go to the military. It will not help, it will only make it worse.
Pros
Money
Cons
Ptsd, Anxiety, Depression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Soldier (Former Employee) –  EverywhereSeptember 22, 2019
The Army has been an incredible experience. It has provided opportunities for both personal and professional development. My time serving in the military will always be unforgettable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love the u.s army
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Fort Benning, GASeptember 19, 2019
its hard the first weeks but then you enjoy it cause your body gets used to the training but with the people you meet and the friends you make in training is never a dull moment
Pros
respect and pay and travel
Cons
being away from family a small price to pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
US Army Soldier (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 19, 2019
The Army in general gives you opportunities to develop yourself, such as certs. You only need to put the work inBenefits are great! Health care, education, fitness, living and travel expenses and the camaraderie !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 71,268 reviews
540K
420.2K
38.4K
21.5K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight