U.S. Cellular Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 1,453 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5471
4488
3313
2106
175
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,449 reviews matching the search See all 1,453 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Wireless Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Norway, MEMay 18, 2018
I was a retail wireless associate and that involved selling to customers. I thought the job would be about helping the customers pick out the right phone or tablet but its really about getting them to spend the most money.
Pros
Hour lunches
Cons
Very competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been a sustaning place of employment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 16, 2018
It's an okay place to work. I'm sure there are worse places.
You take calls
The most enjoyable part is the friends I have met there that is now a significant part of my life
Pros
You get paid consistantly
Cons
No place if perfect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and friendly work place.
RETAIL WIRELESS CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Coffeyville, KSMay 15, 2018
U.S. cellular is an energetic work environment. However it can be stressful if you do not have the patience.

Management is great, and encourages and recognizes the work you put in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNMay 14, 2018
Learned a lot and a really great culture to work in. The CEO was like everyone grandpa and the company really cared about the well being of its employees.
Pros
Culture
Cons
footprint
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great account mangement job
Business Account Executive - Major Accounts (Former Employee) –  Northern CaliforniaMay 13, 2018
Overall, good company. The atmosphere was great, the benefits were good and the pay was based on performance. Everyone that I worked with had a great can do attitude.
Pros
Flexible schedule, major accounts experience
Cons
Limited promotion opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Style Monolith With Many Layers of Hierarchy
Senior Research Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 10, 2018
Lack of communication among departments. Could call around for days and not find the person who works on a specific project. Antiquated systems. Friendly people.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
People work in silos. Slow moving company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good.
Real Estate Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 10, 2018
I learned a lot at USC, many opportunities and challenges. The team was made up of talent at all levels. We learned to depend on each other. One team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Cashier- Sales (Former Employee) –  NA, IAMay 7, 2018
Everyone worked as a team. Hard sales when store traffic was slow. Built your sales on making calls, and keeping up with previous customers giving you as a referral to friends or family.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
not enough hours for part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sr.BI Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 7, 2018
good team to work
great workplace
management is helpful
people are good to work
good team work
great potential to learn new stuff
definitely recommend for others
Pros
aaa
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Service Lead (Former Employee) –  East Saint Louis, ILMay 3, 2018
It was a very fun and energetic place to work. I learned a lot in my day to day interactions with customers and co workers. I would not trade these two years of my life for anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start
Accounting & Finance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2018
There are people that are not good to work with, and people that are. There are perhaps more good-to-worth-with people here . Salary is market although benefits tend to be lean (i.e., no 401k matching).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but you will get tired of it
Retail Wireless Consultant (Current Employee) –  Roanoke Rapids, NCMay 2, 2018
Awesome pay and great environment, However many things happen in the cell phone world that make you wonder if you will have a job in the near future..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set up to fail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEMay 2, 2018
I was too of sales at my previous job. I had high hopes working at us cellular but they set an unrealistic quota for the area. You are pressured to lie to customers in order to hit your quota and required to make cold calls to customers. The goals are not adjusted for the lack of customers so you are set up to fail.
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
Unreliable management and unrealistic quota
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Grants Pass, ORMay 1, 2018
Flexible schedules, accountability, great pay structure, full benefits, senior leaders actively involved with front-line associates. Competitive industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Telesales Wireless Consultant (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 1, 2018
As my first corporate level job, it was a good experience. The atmosphere is well balanced and fun, but some of the leaders aren't the greatest in their strategies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Cellular is incurring a seismic change
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  IllinoisApril 29, 2018
US Cellular is incurring a seismic change in network operations to prepare for future networks. Some folks are prepared and are embracing it, others are not.

US Cellular is a good company to work for. It is not perfect, nor is it great all-around, although parts are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
End User Services System Technician II (Current Employee) –  Yakima, WAApril 27, 2018
Although there were times where the workload was stressful due to short deadlines on a project we were working on within the technical support aspect of the company, the people/teammates were the best part of the job. I am blessed to be working with a team of people that are energetic and excited about a new software, application, and/or process we're implementing to better support our internal customers/co-workers to in turn better support our external customers. Plus, I learned so many life skills for personal and professional growth that it will carry with me in any job and personal life going forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with great workers
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIApril 26, 2018
A typical day involved helping customers no matter the problem whether with their phones or with their service to make sure they left satified. What I learned with through working at U.S. Cellular is how to grow as a salesman and to find out how to best help the customer. The work enviornment was great with wonderful co-workers, and a great manager. The hardest part of my job was telling the costumer there was nothing that we could do becuase we were a locally owned store and they would have to go to the corprate store to help them with problems. The most enjoyable part of the job was having a costumer leave the store happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places I've ever worked
Interim Sales Manager RWC (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaApril 24, 2018
I truly enjoyed working for us cellular. They take pride in delivering the best customer service and developing leaders. They pay lots of money to invest in their employees and learning what creates a great work environment.
Pros
Best Place I've ever worked-leadership
Cons
retail hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer support
Sales (Former Employee) –  Enid, OKApril 24, 2018
The customers were great lack of Management support or understanding towards the job was the only down side to the job. Higher management did what they thought was fair, but over looked so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Cellular. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.3Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

33%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss