U.S. Census Bureau Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 3,418 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.9K
4940
3456
276
156
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 3,398 reviews matching the search See all 3,417 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoSeptember 20, 2018
Working at this company is very Well they are very flexible they give you free lunch And they are very understanding I have a very good pleasure working it fits my schedule of the day they give you two days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable atmosphere
Quality Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Newark DelawareSeptember 20, 2018
Big space with tables, computers and boxes of forms. Calls to people to do their census over the phone and I did the after calls to confirm information.
Pros
Great group of people too work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY experience
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Round Hill, VASeptember 19, 2018
I was just a Census Enumerator. I had certain addresses to go to and get information that was not turned in. I would love to work for US Census Bureau full time. I love working with people.
Pros
people and enviromnet
Cons
some addresses weren't accepting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job
intake worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2018
Was hoping to get a permanent position with them but didn't happen. I would have like to be hire full time. I am hoping for the 2020 Cencus to go back and work the year for them.
Pros
work when you want
Cons
hard to find some people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, if temporary job.
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Goodyear, AZSeptember 18, 2018
The best job I have ever had. Doing paperwork and driving around to confirm that places we thought were houses were in fact businesses. Training new waves of inumerators.
Pros
Get to fill in your own timesheet, almost no oversight
Cons
Temporary position, some danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being in the community
QAC Rep (Former Employee) –  Breaux abridge, LaSeptember 17, 2018
I set up a table in a private room at my local library. I was available to help with any questions people may have had concerning their census. It was really enjoyable.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stat clerk
Stat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, INSeptember 17, 2018
This is one of those fun filled jobs that is eventually being taken over by software we were double checking. This was a data entry job because of people couldn't write clear enough for the computer to read it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Staff
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Newark, OHSeptember 16, 2018
The Census Bureau was a great place to work in most departments however, the upper management was unfortunate. The Regional Office actually had corrupt personnel removed during our operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General
Statistical Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INSeptember 16, 2018
Gather various statistics for the Government through telephone communication around the United States. The stressful part of the job was not everyone has the same opinion of the Government or the data you are trying to collect.
Pros
Bonuses Flexibility
Cons
No job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
general office (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 16, 2018
Very busy, always moving, only a 3 year job, good learning experience , very friendly employees, great supervision, learned different jobs while working
Pros
Great people
Cons
no full time advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surveyor
survey (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 15, 2018
This was a part time position which you were able to make your work hours. this job was for extra income and was easy and flexible position for workikng parents
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fun.
Enumerator/Crew Leader Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZSeptember 15, 2018
Was a good seasonal job, high pay for several weeks of working. Typical day of work was working 6/7 days a week sometimes in the morning, mostly in the afternoon and weekends throughout the day. Workplace culture was good, training and management were good. Hardest part of the job was being out in the sun, best part was interacting with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Providence, RISeptember 15, 2018
Learned about payroll and the Census. The Census collects information from the United States and other countries. Educated us on what they do with the information.
Pros
Relaxed atmoshere
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Crew Leader Assistant/Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJSeptember 15, 2018
Mostly Relaxed position, there are quotas but as long as you adhere to a decent working week you will be fine. It is important that you fill out the forms correctly though which i had trouble with at first.
Pros
Good Pay, Mobile Job
Cons
Refusals sometimes are tricky
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Enumerator (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RISeptember 14, 2018
It was a great experience working around a diverse community. It showed me that, I can exceed in talking o different cultures. We got to pick our own hours and our days off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 13, 2018
Working for the US Census Bureau was extremely stressful due to the position I held. I worked in SE, and NE DC. The environments were unsafe and I had no way to be secured going in and out of homes.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard work with no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting
Field Representative (Current Employee) –  Van Nuys, CASeptember 12, 2018
Leave home, go to complete my assignments (interviews), locate the addresses interviews adults of the family, review my case load call my supervisor, prepare my inform and send my job by email to Head Quarters. Report my mileage and hours to H.Q. Report problems if any.
Pros
Know new people every day, nice supervisor.
Cons
Short time to complete cases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning everything was a great experience
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2018
Great place to work, become knowledgeable and learn how to be productive. The experienced managers and supervisors were very helpful in helping to settle into new positions. A typical work day consisted of data entry. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The most enjoyable part of the job was working along side positive people.
Pros
Pay and experience
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at ease
ENUMERATOR (Former Employee) –  Racine, WISeptember 12, 2018
Great training, I loved all my co-workers and vice versa. Did not matter if I had transportation or not. your objectives are pretty simple unlike my other jobs
Pros
make your own schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Senior Program Manager, AMDEX Corporation (Current Employee) –  Suitland, MDSeptember 12, 2018
I was fortunate enough to work with some great people, and participate in implementation of extensive processes which were at first lacking. The atmosphere was outstanding and very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Census Bureau. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight