U.S. Census Bureau Employee Reviews

Found 3,300 reviews matching the search See all 3,317 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Numerator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 16, 2018
Enjoyed working for the census... Met a lot of different people that worked for the census. Able to learn the neighborhood because you mostly went around your house.
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience met great people
Assistant crew leader/ worker (Former Employee) –  Kalispell, MTJuly 16, 2018
Qualifing for the position required passing an aptitude test. Field work entailed going door to door meeting with residents of the specific neighborhoods you were assigned. Data or information was collected then rendered to the crew leader for processing. Overall good experience with the exception of the occasional bristling against the intrusion by the government which I sensed was related to the current administration at that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Supervisor
CLERK / CREW LEADER / ENUMERATOR (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJuly 16, 2018
With the Census Bureau, it really depends on who you have as a Supervisor. If you have a good Supervisor, the job is great.

Pros: Paid thorough training, good manuals, decent pay. The Bureau has been around for centuries and is highly organized as a result.

Cons: If an Enumerator, lots of walking and pressure to compete and get the most interviews. Even as a Crew Leader you have to drive constantly to different training sites. High risk of bad management.
Pros
Good training, decent pay, in-depth manuals, organized.
Cons
Management, stress, travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tone of exciting work projects
SAS Technical Advisor (TA) (Current Employee) –  Suitland, MDJuly 15, 2018
Enjoyable working environment and potentially very rewarding projects.
Supportive of self improvement and advancement, free educational resources and credits.
Pros
Mission and
Cons
Divided divisions and isolated internal kingdoms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Apopka, FLJuly 13, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working for the U.S. Census Bureau. I learned so much. I was afforded the opportunity to work with a diverse group of people many of whom I am still contact with today. i had a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting experience
Crew Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 11, 2018
Able to set my own hours in order to find people at home for interviews. once trained, it was up to me to solve problems. I enjoyed meeting people, traveling, sense of accomplishment.
Pros
freedom to set own hours
Cons
pay, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
traveled to areas that were new
door to door census (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, OHJuly 11, 2018
Only preformed on a 7 year rotation. Door to door for government census obtained information for government and local funding.It helps with local and federal accuracy.
Pros
work at own pace
Cons
no full time available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Census taker
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJuly 11, 2018
Learning to be a census taker was no problem, and kind of fun. Then dealing with the public at the end of the census. The hardest part of the job was trying to get people to fill out their census.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
census life
surveyor (Former Employee) –  Adel, GAJuly 11, 2018
This was a great job. the schedule was flexible and the people I got a chance to meet and interact with were wonderful. although it was only a temporary position the people will forever remain in my heart
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was temp
CREW LEADER (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 11, 2018
I enjoyed it immensely. It was a great learning experience. This job allowed me to take on a leadership position. I will surely work for them again if given a chance.
Pros
Great pay, flexiable schedule
Cons
Tem job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about U.S. Census Bureau?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive fun place to work meet new peoplefrom all over.
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 10, 2018
The US Census Bureau comes every ten years. They count how many are there in the United States. I was working as an Office Clerk and Customer Service Representative. What we did was put all their information into the system so they can be counted for.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would look over sheets that were brough in to make sure they were complete
Clerk (Former Employee) –  was close to home I could walk to workJuly 10, 2018
This was a temporary job only lasting until the census was completed. It was interesting to see how the census is done and the results at the end. Very interesting.
Pros
Nice people to work for
Cons
Being temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely different from any other job.
Field Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  VermontJuly 9, 2018
This job was all about overcoming impossible logistics, ridiculous guidelines, and bad management to get the job done. Fortunately I worked with a quality field staff that made the job bearable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interested and Flexible Schedule
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COJuly 9, 2018
US Census was a seasonal job. It was very pleasant because they gave you allt he training and tools to go out and do your job. You called and scheduled your clients appointments. Which work well for me as I made my own schedule. They would have weekily meetings to see if everyone was on track or anyone needed help.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, Advanced , Training, Fun
Recruiting Assistant/ Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJuly 9, 2018
This was one of the best job I could have worked at. I really enjoyed the People who worked for this company and supervised. They made my job very productive eager to learn and advance into different areas. I wished I could of still been employed with the U.S. Census Bureau.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Survey Statistician (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 8, 2018
Work is great. Everyone is pleasant and willing to lend a helping hand. My division is special because we get to delve into a lot of things concerning the upcoming 2020 Decennial Census. We are committed to delivering trustworthy statistical data for the American people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mahomet, ILJuly 8, 2018
This job was a temporary job position. I like the hours and the location, the management was hands on everday, was very through going over what was expected of all of us.
Pros
location
Cons
was able to break up hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent temporary employment
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 7, 2018
going door to door in designated areas to address and calculate census for the government. How the government uses the census to better all Americans in the US. Management did not micro manage. Working with peers, a lot of walking and working with individuals who enjoy working with people.
Pros
meeting new and intresting people
Cons
walking alone in some questionable areas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for experince.
Numerator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 6, 2018
Very nice working environment, you get to interact with the community. Made a lot of good friends. Also gained federal work experience. On foot for most of the day so it was an active position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great temporary job
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 6, 2018
Loved the whole time there. Always new and different phases taking place so I felt a sense of accompleshiment in completing one activity and move on the next task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Census Bureau. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 3,317 reviews
51.8K
4916
3447
274
153

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight