U.S. Census Bureau Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 3,325 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.8K
4917
3448
274
153
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 3,308 reviews matching the search See all 3,325 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job with the United States Census
Census Worker (Former Employee) –  California UtahJuly 20, 2018
This job only opens every 10 years and I have applied when posted.

My job was to sometimes go out in the field and personally interview people in their homes and gather information. It was then entered at the field office. Sometimes this was my job to provide reports for management.

Other times, my job was to provide data and paper work to field workers.

This is valuable and interesting work and I enjoyed it!
Pros
Meeting so many interesting people
Cons
Time restraints getting to field officers in varied locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team was everything
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Dodge City, KSJuly 20, 2018
All the team members were willing to work together and help each other out. Was a fast paced relaxed work out of doors and meeting new people. If I had a problem I knew I could look to other to help me find a solution.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Automation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Suitland, MDJuly 18, 2018
Create, maintain, and enter information into databases (e-QIP and OPM Central Verification System).
Answer telephones and give information to callers, take messages, or transfer calls to appropriate individuals.
Use computers for various applications, such as database management or word processing.
From management learned how to conduct business when dealing with employees and outsiders.
Pros
Great environment with many benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Field Operations Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2018
Fast paced but not stressful. They kept us updated on changes and made sure we did not get to stressed out. They would buy the clerks lunch sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to be an important part of your coimmunity
Census enumarator (Former Employee) –  Upton, KYJuly 18, 2018
I enjoyed working for the Bureau because I was able to make my own hours and I was also able to talk to a lot of different people in my area. I was on my own a lot but there were times when I was able to work in groups also. It was a great paying job with mileage compensation; the bureau also took into consideration the face that my husband is a disabled veteran and I was given job preferance because of this.
Pros
set own hours
Cons
some people were not cooperative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Census taker (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 17, 2018
This was a part time job of a few years ago during last census. I would recommend this type of jobs to others because it is good part time word, The work is stressful but the pay makes up for the stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay if you don't need full-time and lack of benefits
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Humboldt County, CAJuly 17, 2018
The Census Bureau is great if you just need part-time work that is on a semi-temporary basis but if you need full-time benefitted employment, a field representative position is not for you. You definitely learn customer service skills and how to handle angry people.
Pros
Flexible work schedule and vehicle reimbursement
Cons
weekend and evening work with no guarantee of employment from month-to-month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellant people
Enumerator; Duties (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 17, 2018
I enjoyed working for them. Met a lot of nice people both working for the company and working in the field. Was able to basically work my own hours without any questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Numerator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 16, 2018
Enjoyed working for the census... Met a lot of different people that worked for the census. Able to learn the neighborhood because you mostly went around your house.
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience met great people
Assistant crew leader/ worker (Former Employee) –  Kalispell, MTJuly 16, 2018
Qualifing for the position required passing an aptitude test. Field work entailed going door to door meeting with residents of the specific neighborhoods you were assigned. Data or information was collected then rendered to the crew leader for processing. Overall good experience with the exception of the occasional bristling against the intrusion by the government which I sensed was related to the current administration at that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Supervisor
CLERK / CREW LEADER / ENUMERATOR (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJuly 16, 2018
With the Census Bureau, it really depends on who you have as a Supervisor. If you have a good Supervisor, the job is great.

Pros: Paid thorough training, good manuals, decent pay. The Bureau has been around for centuries and is highly organized as a result.

Cons: If an Enumerator, lots of walking and pressure to compete and get the most interviews. Even as a Crew Leader you have to drive constantly to different training sites. High risk of bad management.
Pros
Good training, decent pay, in-depth manuals, organized.
Cons
Management, stress, travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tone of exciting work projects
SAS Technical Advisor (TA) (Current Employee) –  Suitland, MDJuly 15, 2018
Enjoyable working environment and potentially very rewarding projects.
Supportive of self improvement and advancement, free educational resources and credits.
Pros
Mission and
Cons
Divided divisions and isolated internal kingdoms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Apopka, FLJuly 13, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working for the U.S. Census Bureau. I learned so much. I was afforded the opportunity to work with a diverse group of people many of whom I am still contact with today. i had a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting experience
Crew Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 11, 2018
Able to set my own hours in order to find people at home for interviews. once trained, it was up to me to solve problems. I enjoyed meeting people, traveling, sense of accomplishment.
Pros
freedom to set own hours
Cons
pay, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
traveled to areas that were new
door to door census (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, OHJuly 11, 2018
Only preformed on a 7 year rotation. Door to door for government census obtained information for government and local funding.It helps with local and federal accuracy.
Pros
work at own pace
Cons
no full time available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Census taker
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJuly 11, 2018
Learning to be a census taker was no problem, and kind of fun. Then dealing with the public at the end of the census. The hardest part of the job was trying to get people to fill out their census.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
census life
surveyor (Former Employee) –  Adel, GAJuly 11, 2018
This was a great job. the schedule was flexible and the people I got a chance to meet and interact with were wonderful. although it was only a temporary position the people will forever remain in my heart
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was temp
CREW LEADER (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 11, 2018
I enjoyed it immensely. It was a great learning experience. This job allowed me to take on a leadership position. I will surely work for them again if given a chance.
Pros
Great pay, flexiable schedule
Cons
Tem job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive fun place to work meet new peoplefrom all over.
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 10, 2018
The US Census Bureau comes every ten years. They count how many are there in the United States. I was working as an Office Clerk and Customer Service Representative. What we did was put all their information into the system so they can be counted for.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would look over sheets that were brough in to make sure they were complete
Clerk (Former Employee) –  was close to home I could walk to workJuly 10, 2018
This was a temporary job only lasting until the census was completed. It was interesting to see how the census is done and the results at the end. Very interesting.
Pros
Nice people to work for
Cons
Being temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Census Bureau. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight