U.S. Department of Commerce Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
GIS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Pago Pago, ASMay 22, 2018
Worked for the Department of Commerce for more than 13 years really helped me my career life. Learned a lot of new skills in using different software and programs to help grow the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is too long ago honestly
International Economist and Trade Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 22, 2018
Commerce was a job I took while waiting to the CIA to get me on board. But it was rife with politics to the extreme and morale was bad. That said I took what I could from it and learned from it. It is still hard to talk much detail about a job from 1994.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship
Hydrographic Survey Technician (Former Employee) –  Solomons, MDMay 21, 2018
I interned with NOAA and I really enjoyed it. It’s a great way to get your foot in the door and I believe that my time spent there provided me with a strong background that allowed me to advance in my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 17, 2018
Great place to work.... I wish this job had more permanent job openings. The work environment is very helpful and supportive. The pay matched the type of work you had to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligent work environment
Patent Examiner (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMay 16, 2018
The US Department of Commerce has an intelligent work force and a great learning environment. I learned a great deal working here. However, production timelines can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The department is indeed a productive and fun place to work. However, the challenge and what was most important for me was healthcare
Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  United States, Washington DC, Philadelphia, PAMay 16, 2018
The United States Department is a productive place to work and provides job stability. However, opportunity to grow and benefits were the challenges most employees faced.
Pros
Job stability
Cons
Healthcare challenges and issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 15, 2018
Highly recommend for an internship. You will learn a lot and understand how our government works. I got the best manager and loved the chance to collaborate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly working enviroment
Partnership Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 15, 2018
The work of the Census Bureau is important to each community of the United States: each State, County and city that depends on the federal funding for every 10 years. Accurate information gathered determines the amount of funds and the number of elected officials representing their constituents especially in the hard to count populations.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Termination of jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Emergency Response Program Coordinator (O4 Billet) (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MD 20910May 14, 2018
I held two jobs within the Department of Commerce. Generally it was an excellent place to work. There were a few managers that shouldn't have been put into their positions. Yet, overall the organization focuses on excellence and creating a good working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different for everyone
Field Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 13, 2018
Like anything experiences vary based on ones individual experiences. Where you work, with whom you work, your working group all have an impact on your experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Field Representative (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 11, 2018
excellent job for the us commerce. I learned to be team player to communicate with others and to be a self starter. the workplace is very independent because you work at your own space.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Automation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDMay 3, 2018
A very good place to work. A lot of science and technology experience. Great campus with a quality work environment. Conducive to productivity and creativity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good to work there
Crew Leader (NRFU and VDC (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INMay 3, 2018
Through the 2010 Census it was actually fun to work with the people there. They were helpful, courteous and kind. I didn't meet anyone there who complained.
Pros
working
Cons
under a deadline made things challenging but fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMay 2, 2018
Busy but rewarding. Great job, great people and great management.
I only left because, after 35 years of Federal Government Service, I retired. If part time employment were available I would still be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Office Setting
International Trade Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 2, 2018
I was a non-paid intern at this job. It was a great opportunity for me to get experience in my area of study (International Relations/Business). The San Francisco Office was easily accessible through public transportation.
Pros
Good Experience
Cons
Only an Internship
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work as a field rep if you want extra money.
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Van Nuys, CAMay 2, 2018
i worked remote. so i made my own schedule. but you had to make sure that you completed in the specified time frame. I learned the pathways and inner workings of the hospitals and doctors office. The hardest part was getting the doctors to participate.
Pros
setting on schedule
Cons
not enough billable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Patent Applications, a lot to learn
Patent Examiner, Electrical Engineering (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 30, 2018
The good: flexible hours and work schedule (subject to your supervisor's approval), paid government holidays, paid snow days, and interesting applications to examine.

The not-so-good:The standard of work approval is so subjective - hardly any checks and balances to ensure examiners within similar technology areas are reviewed fairly. You either luck out with someone who is willing to train you and help you, or you're stuck with a reviewer that doesn't know how to train you and you're left wasting your time trying to meet their ridiculous standards.
Pros
flexible hours and work schedule
Cons
your success is determined on the quality of your trainer/reviewer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position for Census
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 19, 2018
Temporary position for Census. There was lots of footwork. Went door-to-door to conducting a physical count. Job ended after counting was completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environment
U,S,Census Bureau (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNApril 15, 2018
This was a great job because I worked from home.This was a temporary job.Communication from manager was not always timely and clear.Staff was eager to work with.
Pros
working at home
Cons
ineffective leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and competetive workplace
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 11, 2018
I really enjoyed working at the U.S. Dept of Commerce however the pay and the Lack of advancement was really something that was really hard to accomplish due to the fact that we were funded by grants of the federal government .
Pros
Pay and benefits are great
Cons
Funded by grants example the federal government
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Department of Commerce. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 757 reviews
5370
4222
3121
223
121

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.0Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight