U.S. Department of Commerce Employee Reviews

Found 792 reviews matching the search See all 830 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good temp job
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 16, 2018
This was a temporary full time position for the 2010 census that was a great, secured work enviornment with no nepotism and some internal room for advancement. There was role playing and classroom training for my particular position as a recruiter and this came at a great time in history as the area needed jobs badly.
Pros
Freedom to work unsupervised
Cons
Test was too standardized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an intern, it was enjoyable
Marketing & Assistant Trade Specialist Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 12, 2018
At my internship at the US Department of Commerce, I learned a good deal from my mentors, I was given hands-on experiences and was involved in many events, meetings and activities.
Pros
metro reimbursement, long lunch
Cons
had to sit at computer a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
census
Multiple title-clerical to field supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 8, 2018
Great part time position but no benefits. Got great work reviews and put on the census SWAT team to get responses from the difficult cases. Was so good at my job that I was kept on after the census ended for follow-up operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good chance of meeting new People
Field Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2018
It’s a Government Job, and so it depends on how much your time is given, part time is your only option before full time is offered. No benefits for part time
Pros
You can work from home
Cons
No Benefits for part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Financial Analyst/ FP&A/ Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLSeptember 26, 2018
DOC is a pretty good organization/ company to work for, good work-life balance, they have old system though. I would recommend to a friend for the most part.
Pros
work-life balance
Cons
old systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic job with lots of firings
crew leader (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2018
This job was one of the most hectic jobs I ever had. It was a revolving door as far as hiring and firing. They fired people left and right. The workers there were not ready for the responsibilities of the job and thus were fired.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Revolving door of firiing and hiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patent Office
Patent Examiner (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 25, 2018
The US Patent office was a good environment. Very professional. Where the office is very pretty and great walking view. I personally don't like the VA/MD location because of the traffic.
Pros
Very professional place
Cons
Traffice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A difference perspective of federal work environment
Partnership Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 24, 2018
The job I was working at was generated from the 2010 Census marketing campaign. It was a wonderful experience getting in touch with local minority groups organizations and work to educate the importance of the authenticity of the Census!
Pros
High level of cross cultural interaction
Cons
The job lasted only one year because it was a campaign for the 2010 Census
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First boss was great during stage 1
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 24, 2018
2nd boss - state 2 was nasty, cold, cut-throat and just plain unpleasant.

We had Daily meetings but we were pretty much on our own, as we all had different areas of several towns to enumerate.
Pros
reumbursed for gas mileage
Cons
some of the supervisors were on power trips!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Patent Examiner (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 22, 2018
The amount of unpaid overtime required to meet production is the worst part of the job. Hours are not worth the pay. Lately the workload has more than doubled, yet the production hours have remained the same.
Pros
Flexible schedule and telework
Cons
Almost everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Suitland, MDSeptember 19, 2018
I loved this job, but got a better opportunity in Silver Spring. Fun work environment, definitely a great place to work. Location is good too. No where good to eat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Network Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 14, 2018
The Department of Commerce is a great work environment. You learn new things everyday and everyone doesn't mind teaching you along the way. I have been here for years and really don't want to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am only working as a temp, not eligible for benefits
Field Representative with the Census Bureau (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 8, 2018
Have enjoyed my job and the management and coworkers I wotk with. Training could be better. I sometimes find the work either feast or famine. Enjoy working with the general public.
Pros
Never a dual moment
Cons
Work outside in all conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed environment
ETHICS PROGRAM SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20230August 30, 2018
very relaxed environment. promotions not expected. nice retirement place. a lot of negative energy floating through the air. some supervisors look down on veterans.
Pros
relaxed environment
Cons
promotions are poorly recommended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was easy work and our crew leader was very helpful
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 29, 2018
we were given good training and were well prepared for our assignments. The crew staff was professional and quite helpful. The hours were flexible and goals easy to achieve.
Pros
good pay, ..flexible hours
Cons
temporay work, ..do a good job and you will work your way out of one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Suitland, MDAugust 28, 2018
Stressful work environment. Office of the ACIO. Task Managers are ill prepared and lack organization. Toxic and ineffective environment, 200% turnover due to lack of upper management comm skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for developing high level skills across the professional spectrum
Trade Analyst, International Trade Administration (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 18, 2018
The Department conducts highly complex analysis of trade matters. We are collaborative and the analyst gains a tremendous amount of administrative, legal, policy, data, and research experience
Pros
Travel, good experience, smart dedicated colleagues
Cons
Work can be stressful and, at times, very complex. Deadlines are often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job to work
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Conneaut, OHAugust 13, 2018
It was a unique employment opportunity for the ten year census which allowed me to meet many new people. I contacted them via telephone or personally by going to their home to have them answer questions pertaining to the census of 2010.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with government
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 13, 2018
Work was interesting. Co-workers were easy to get along with. great benefits. the drive to get there was the worst part. Everyone got along. could move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning opportunities
International Trade Intern (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 7, 2018
The internship allowed me to learn about the export process and the services provided by the Department of Commerce, but it also gave insight into what it is like to work with the US Government.
I also very much enjoyed my management team, as they seemed to want me to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Department of Commerce. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 831 reviews
5408
4241
3134
225
123

See reviews about

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight