U.S. Navy Employee Reviews

Found 30,923 reviews matching the search See all 32,745 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee) –  United StatesMarch 24, 2019
I was a sailor for many years. I left the Navy early because I was offered a different jon that I didnt ask for. I would of made it a career but then I wouldnt of met my wife
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, competative work place
Electrician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2019
Work evnvirorment depends on your chain of command and the history is long set and always spoken about
sea duty is a hard life style. Working conditions are not always that great .
Pros
Free Health Care
Cons
Work Hours, No Over-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job with challenges
LT (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 24, 2019
Work like balance is tough. Additionally the constant relocation makes it hard. It is a rewarding job option a lot depends on you unit management though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Aviation Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 24, 2019
I thoroughly enjoined my time in the navy. Great way to get a fresh start on life. Plenty of training and hands on education. Great advancement for some rates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
program Management expertise
Program Manager/Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMarch 24, 2019
Learned to manage large projects. ERP trained , PM TRAINED. Good steady employment. Worked with Ozone Depleting Substance removal for all Navy AC&R equipment throughout the fleet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Master at Arms (Former Employee) –  Lexington Park, MDMarch 24, 2019
Its all what you make it. Depends on your outlook on your job and life. Most enjoyable part of the job is the friends and relationships you will make over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a rewarding experience.
Commissioned Naval Officer and Chaplain (Former Employee) –  World wideMarch 24, 2019
I enjoyed working in the Navy. I received many opportunities to interact with people from various backgrounds. I also got the chance to work in several military establishments. Overall it was a wonderful experience.
Pros
Benefits, people, rewarding work
Cons
Hours, time away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on each person
corrision tech (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 24, 2019
mechanical up keep of aircraft body. Cleaning and washing of aircraft, inspections for corrision and removal and painting.Depends on each person if they can adopt to military life or not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operation Specialist
Divisional Support, Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bremerton, WAMarch 24, 2019
The best career choice that I have ever made. Learned a lot of key leadership skills that have prepared me for a lot of the job positions that I have able to advance in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nope
Aviation Ordnanceman (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 24, 2019
long work hours not enough pay always away from family all the time higher ups don't care about you medical is a joke make some of the best friends ill ever have tho
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits.
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Oak Harbor, WAMarch 24, 2019
I enjoyed my time in the navy for the most part. I got to travel to many countries around the world. But if you're not in the good Ole boys club, good luck making rank.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of honorable leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing bond built with fellow soldiers
Enlisted Soldier (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA 95135March 24, 2019
Nothing can compare to the bonds you will make in the military. I still have friends for life to this day as well as an amazing support structure. You learn ins and outs of adult life if not previously knowledgeable of it.
Pros
Bonds made and lessons learned.
Cons
Always on call 24/7, Dangerous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have nothing else
Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2019
If you're looking for a working vacation than this is the life. You can't fail and you cannot succeed. You get paid enough to go home and get back to work if you have a familly, don't count on being with them for more than 3 months out of the year.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Pay/Work and home balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy
Corpsman (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCMarch 24, 2019
Choose a job that will actually pay when you get out. If you don't you will end up without any skills or qualifications and end up working for minimum wage for a company that says they are veteran friendly.
Pros
Military
Cons
Military
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy Medical Corspman/ Active Duty of US Navy
Hospital Medical Corpsman/ Active Duty (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 24, 2019
--Provided Medical care for Navy and Marine Corps personnel
--Paramedical and emergency care for active duty personnel
--Administrative duties in collaborating with other medical care providers
Pros
Life experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 23, 2019
High Stress yet fulfilling at time. Had the opportunity to travel the world and experience different cultures. Had the opportunity to work with a divers group of people from every walk of life.
Pros
see the world
Cons
separation from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 23, 2019
The Navy was an amazing experience. I worked with some of the most intelligent and interesting individuals. There were some challenging days, but the experience was amazing.
Pros
Travel, benefits, pay, advancement
Cons
Military deployments, duty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
AVIATION MACHINIST MATE (Former Employee) –  USAMarch 23, 2019
Learned to function under high-stress situations, met a variety of people to adapt to, experienced a new perspective and was able to travel. I appreciated the opportunity to use it as a stepping stone for my future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Branch Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 23, 2019
Doing Data Entry for Top Secret documents. Scheduling all travel for military pilots. hotels, rental cars and making sure that pass ports were always updated,
I learned various locations and countries that I never knew existed.
I enjoyed working with all officers and commanders in the office. Me being the only civilian.
The hardest part of this time was dealing with travel and making sure that all monies and documents were approved before Air Craft was ready to leave for deployment.and handling confidential documents that were transported to another Military Base.
Pros
Early Hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuclear Reactor Operator.
Reactor Operator Instructor (Former Employee) –  Groton, CTMarch 23, 2019
I spent 8 1/2 years in the Navy. I was in the Nuclear Power Program. I received Electronics training, Nuclear Theory training and Nuclear Porto type training. I qualified as a Reactor Operator on a Nuclear Submarine.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Leaving family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Navy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 32,745 reviews
517.9K
49.7K
33.9K
2751
1497

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight