UPS Employee Reviews in Chicago, IL

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they fun activities
UPS Package Handler Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 22, 2018
a day at UPS is not a easy job being a supervisor its a lot of work and frustration. running my own area is too much making sure your employees work hard and safe is not easy some employees don't listen and don't care about the work place.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
UPS Driver Helper (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2018
If your physically fit the job is fine and able to lift every second you are on the clock than you are capable of working for ups but in my opinion and from my experience working there its just not worth it the amount of work you put in there and what your pay check comes out to be just doesn't add up and that 15 minutes break feels like 5 minutes
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a reason you do not hear good things about UPS
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2018
The company is highly hypocritical, does not really believe in any of what they say. Strictly about day to day operations and profitability. Compensation is good but is continually eroding.
Pros
Compensation, benefits
Cons
Work life balance, size
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packages
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 12, 2018
Fast learning. No excuses on not having a paycheck every week. Overall everyone gets along.what ever goes on in the outside world, they always find a way to support you rather it's for you and or family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't enjoy myself at UPS
UPS Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 1, 2018
The management there felt poor, no one knew how to answer my questions i had. Try to force workers to work pass the amount of time they are given. Also being mean towards workers.
Pros
Get pay for schooling
Cons
The work is really hard, management is poor and mean to workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Package handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 22, 2018
UPS in Chicago is very unorganized , though I did learn some very valuable things about loading and unloading merchandise. Their management was very unprofessional. The hardest part of the job was trying to stay professional even though everyone else on the job wasn't.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school job
Material Handler-Loader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2018
From what I can remember of this job from awhile ago I enjoyed working at UPS. it was a part time job and I was given a lot of different responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The sum of working at UPS
PACKAGE HANDLER (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 13, 2018
Basically we have to work at a fast pace in order to meet a deadline of the delivery, thou being an unloader gives me a good work out it's wages are not enough to make a life for my self so work a job like this is only meant to be a side job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom to work with micro management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 12, 2018
Supervised driver and in-house staff it was like family gathering Monday thru Friday. I learned to deal a lot of personalities came in handy with all positions I held. The staff who made work for made it great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 7, 2018
I lucked out and worked under a competent and fun manager.

We had amazing regulars for our customer base.

Genuine customer service goes a long way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about UPS?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups a stressful place to work
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 30, 2018
At UPS it's fun you meet great people but at the same time it's stressful people think its a easy job but it's actually hard it's not easy loading 1500 boxes in a 20 foot long trailers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work experience .
Preloader/Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 25, 2018
Normal workday, get the job done and go home. Working at UPS taught me to be assertive, outspoken, remain cool under-pressure,professional, urgency, to take initiative and teamwork.
Pros
Benfits
Cons
Poor time managment, not enough help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manual Labor
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 25, 2018
I learned that packaging and handling is very tiring work. I learned how to package and unpack boxes. The hardest part of the job for me was the toll it was taking on my body.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense work place
PT SUPERVISOR PRIMARY OPERATIONS (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 24, 2018
Upper management unprofessional make sure if your employed do what you job is to prevent any attention from your job only worry about what it is you need to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
UPS (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 10, 2018
Good working environment. Service employees, prevent loss and secure the working area is the goal for UPS. officers are friendly with each other and promote excellence in everything.
Pros
Good
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work us and not paid enough
Preloader/Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 4, 2018
Worked us really hard and they didn’t pay us enough for the hard work we were and didn’t give us longer breaks and very unorganized never had an position it changed everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS is a very good part time job to have.
Operations Air/Ground Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 26, 2018
The best part of working for UPS is the benefits. There is opportunity for advancement. UPS has a very good education plan. take advantage and go to school. After 6months you can apply for other departments.
Pros
benefits
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a cool job
HELPER/PACKAGER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 20, 2018
I liked working ther it was a lot of work but I got use to it u have to be ready to hump them boxes and u got know how to sort them out the right way all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work life is simple and can help you advance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2018
A typical day at work is laid back but you always have something to do. I would recommend to someone working at a UPS store but make sure to do your research on the management first. Unfortunately, the head owners and management thrived off of drama at my last work place. But with the right people, its a great work environment.
Pros
Promotion and raise
Cons
No health or retirement benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work
UPS Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 3, 2018
it was a great place to work at great team members and great sportsmanshipflexible hard dedicated worker and I'm a great team member and a team player and i work hard i love to work and a group and i bring great sportsmanship to the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 25,520 reviews
59.4K
47.9K
35.4K
21.6K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.3Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight