UPS Employee Reviews in Hodgkins, IL

Found 470 reviews matching the search See all 28,428 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just low pay, short breaks
PACKAGE HANDLER (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILDecember 4, 2018
ups is a high pace job that consist of alot of lifting heavy packages and organizing. it can be a good job if they give you proper breaks and good pay for the work you do. as a man i like the challenge but its just dark in the trucks.
Pros
get paid weekly
Cons
breaks short and dark
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grueling hours low pay
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 28, 2018
Worked here fresh out of school. From 1 am to 5 am constant moving. One break per shift and if your peers working along side of you did not pay attention to your section it would get overrun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
PART-TIME SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 28, 2018
This job isnt for everyon. You have to have a strong mind set to want to stay there. The pay starts of bogus but the raises are awesome so in order to see a nice check youd have to be there for quite some time
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Short hours transportation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lonely work place
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 19, 2018
10 minute break then you are back deep inside the truck alone. 200$ bonus given to people but not those who has been working there so people come in and get the check that I get for free plus there hours per week.
Pros
Free water fountain and ice machine
Cons
10 minutes break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Package Handler/ Operations Management (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 18, 2018
I enjoyed my time at UPS. The coworkers and employees that worked with me and for me, helped to accomplish an amazing work area. The employees were great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and physically demanding work environment
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 16, 2018
This job is strictly for those who can handle the physical demand and willing to work for less than other companies. The employees are great, friendly, hardworking and understanding individuals however the management really needs some work.
Pros
Union, great employees, vacation, healthcare
Cons
Short breaks, bad management, little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, physically demanding
Loader/Sorter (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 14, 2018
Best part time job out there, honestly. Even better if you're looking to pay for school. The union doesn't do much besides job security and you must wait a year for health benefits... but the health benefits are better than most companies and is included with the small union due. You will be overworked in a small period of time, though. This creates a pretty negative culture. Plenty of opportunities to get paid more if you're one of the lucky employees to be selected. If not, you will be subjected to repetitive, physically demanding labor that doesn't even cover the cost of gas... unless you're lucky enough to be selected to get the bonuses offered to most new hires. Even with all that negativity, this job can eventually compensate better than jobs requiring years of experience and education.
Pros
Unreal amount of benefits
Cons
Short breaks, limited hours, highly physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
UPS Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 6, 2018
I was an unloader it was a good job too for a workout you have to be prepared for things like that and i am at all times i want to come back if its possible
Pros
Need free snacks
Cons
A little longer break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, good exercise
Package Processor (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 30, 2018
Low pay, good benefits, 2 weeks paid vacation after one year, supervisors are generally easy to get along with, good tuition reimbursement, Opportunities for advancement because they promote within.
Pros
good benifits and tuition reimbursement
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far so good
Frontline Supervisor Part Time (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 29, 2018
I have been at UPS for a little over 2 months and have opportunities for advancement which definitely heightens my desire to stay and see whats next. My initial manager was awesome and everyone I meet has had a positive impact on my employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and detailed.
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 27, 2018
Good place to work towards a career and management opportunities are available. Several shifts are offered to accommodate all walks of life and the company is involved and gives back to the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 26, 2018
UPS is a place where you want to make quick money but it’s not really worth it. I would consider this job for younger people who don’t go to college or even college students. But no
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 22, 2018
It was okay, you just are being paid to work out basically, just be prepared to handle HEAVY packages. If you work seasonal be prepared to move at a faster pace than normal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and the pay was not great.
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 21, 2018
Ups is not that bad of a place to work for someone young and in college, the hours are sometimes cut and the work is very fast paced and output driven. unloading 40-foot trucks packed to the gills with boxes weighing up to 6olbs and having to get it done in an hour will take its toll on you after a while. Managers were rude also, but I guess that's because there are so many managers that the buck had to get passed somehow. overall a job is a job.
Pros
good benifits.
Cons
rude managers, over worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company
MANAGER OF ROUTING INBOUND SHIPMENTS (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 11, 2018
Ups is great for if you are going to school. Ups is a fast pace learning environment. The company helps you grow. This company also, helps you realize people's potential's, and to see exactly what is that they are capable of.
Pros
A great way to finish school
Cons
Be choosy about your hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's cool for part time work
Part-time Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILOctober 7, 2018
They could do a lot of things better as far as their employees that have been there and never gave up. It's a lot of work to do and you are only as good as what you did yesterday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experence
Part Time Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILSeptember 28, 2018
I learned how to manage a work group of six to twenty employees, how to hold those employees accountable, and how to drive numbers in such a fast pace industry.
Pros
benifits and paid time off
Cons
pay and lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying decent job with fine work environment
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILSeptember 26, 2018
Decent Union company with good benefits. I learned teamwork and a hard days work along with lots of friendly coworkers. Working there is overall entertaining with good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favortism
Yard Control Associate (dispatcher) 2am (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILSeptember 21, 2018
Too much favoritism allowed. Too see relatives of managers hired and to be promoted to full time within 6 months of service after you have worked and proven your abilities for many years was very disappointing. Management was poor and sometimes without much knowledge. If you weren't apart of the click or wasn't related to someone it was becoming difficult to advance. After 21 years of service I realized I should have went after other career opportunities with other companies.
Pros
Work was available and my paycheck was in the bank every week.
Cons
Management was of poor quality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Revenue Auditor (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILSeptember 17, 2018
I really enjoyed my time working for Ups , Ups as a company tried to make the warehouse as comfortable as they could... Ups always have little competitions going on to make you go harder.
Pros
Discounts, awards, benefits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 28,428 reviews
510.3K
48.8K
36K
21.9K
11.5K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

2.5Fairygodboss Score

27%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

51%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss