UPS Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got paid poorly for the hard work we did
Soter (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, CODecember 14, 2017
Always got crazy’s towards the end of the night boxes would just pile up and sometimes smash you land on your feet sometimes just always bending and lifting barley even got. Ten min break
Pros
I like gettting paid weekly
Cons
Not even pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile Seasonal Experience
Seasonal Driver Helper (Current Employee) –  Tamaqua, PADecember 14, 2017
I worked as a driver-helper during the holiday season.
I'd say it was a very insightful position into postal work that comes in handy for gleaning some quick experience in a reputable company. The pay is very fair for what is done, and it's quite simple so as long as you can tolerate being out in rough weather for hours. The most common activity is carrying packages to the addresses at which your driver arrives. You may also get offered to work at the facility for extra hours, but that is much more physically demanding work, believe me. Overall, I've grown to enjoy the experience. I'd recommend UPS particularly for someone without university experience; it seems like a great prospect for stable and well compensated employment that doesn't require a degree. Being a seasonal helper provides an avenue for upward mobility.
Pros
Exploring nearby towns, building rapport with drivers, insight into postal work
Cons
Unpaid breaks, working conditions in bad weather, very physically demanding for facility work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace job
UPS Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Secaucus, NJDecember 14, 2017
Ups is a very good job for beginners willing to work in a warehouse setting. They dont require you to have much experiance because the training is very good and infomative.
Pros
bonuses after hired full time
Cons
short breakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy first job
UPS Driver Helper (Current Employee) –  Sherman, TXDecember 14, 2017
The drivers are very kind and very relatable upbeat and fast paced job not very many benefits but then again Iam only a seasonal helper, so I'm sure once you move up in the company
Pros
Good way to stay in shape
Cons
Short to no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome career stability
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 14, 2017
excellent managers
peak season you can work 8 hours and it is considered overtime with overtime pay
paid every week
I was a clerk/auditor
caught packages with the wrong weight and billed customer
sorted packages into containers
load and unload packages on planes
Pros
benefits and pay
Cons
physical labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was diverse and stressful
Preloader (Former Employee) –  Maspeth, NYDecember 14, 2017
the job is basic but the only thing that was to worry about was attendance, otherwise its is and you can move up in the job. You get benefits and union for being part-time.
Pros
union
Cons
hoildays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students
Package dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 14, 2017
Great place to work as a student. Great benefits. Help you stay fit (lost about 50lb in a 6 months)
The job can be hard during summer time. Management was very stressful. They will be on you seriously.
Pros
Helps you stay fit, Tuition and books reimbursement, great health insurance
Cons
Will work your tail off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Load/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PADecember 13, 2017
U.P.S had a lot of benefits to offer and they also assisted you in your education. Whenever you needed any assistance there was always an employee willing to help you and ensure that the job got done safely. They also offered overtime diluting peak seasons.
Pros
The over conrodory was there with employees in your department
Cons
Work environment wasn't the best and they don't respect personal matters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you treat it like a brutal, dirty gym that pays you a little to go there, you will survive. lol
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJDecember 13, 2017
If you can handle a job that is very physically demanding, you might survive. Working as a loader or unloader in a hub is very fast-paced and stressful. I lost 50 pounds in the first 6 months I was there. Most employees don't last that long, to be honest. If you stick it out, you can advance within the company and make a great salary. It's union--unless you go the managerial route--and there are great benefits.
Pros
Great exercise; great benefits and tuition reimbursement even if only part-time.
Cons
short breaks, dirty, industrial work environment, lots of pressure to work very fast and still follow 'safety measures' which is next to impossible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the workplace atmosphere
sorter (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 13, 2017
i love the work environment because everyone knows its stressful, things could be better, but overall it is a warehouse job, i did learn the truth behind the delivery system though
Pros
benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a lot more than you think
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILDecember 13, 2017
You will pick up heavy boxes more than 70 Ibs, up to 150 Ibs max, not like the description, however, there is assistance rules for that so you dont pick it up yourself. 3 am to 9 am isnt always true either, basically depends on your position in the facility cause there maybe times where you start at 2 am or even midnight in the holidays for an 8 hr shift.
Pros
Some coworkers are nice and will train you themselves
Cons
Other coworkers can be mean and rush you, pay is good but not that good, arguements in the facility are abundant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced parcel company
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILDecember 13, 2017
A fast-paced work environment that offers great benefits and a secured life-long career with a 401k plan. This is a good job if you are starting off and wants something to add to your resume if you don't have much work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 13, 2017
Collaborative team effort toward progression. Good benefits and opportunities of advancement. Friendly environment with team members focused on success.
Pros
Easy to learn steps of work requirements.
Cons
Seasonal Weather conditions.(Winter)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, hard labor etc.
Preloader (Former Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CADecember 12, 2017
Very hard labor, minimum hours for minimum pay, no employee appreciation, punishment for minor mistakes, needs multiple years of employment for any job position advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loader (Current Employee) –  Maumee, OHDecember 12, 2017
Friendly work environment, organized shifts, many opportunities available. Helpful management. Plenty of room for advancement. Good place to learn teamwork skills.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Part time primarily
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job
UPS ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 12, 2017
The pay is excellent .health care is 100 % paid with 100 %coverage...with exception to eye and dental which is about 70%..coverage...pension is outstanding..full package with wages and benefits is worth 130,000 yearly..without a college education I am grateful for the standard of living UPS HAS AFFORDED ME AND MY FAMILY!...and with 27 years of service I now get 6 weeks vacation with 8 sick days..and 9 paid …
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good pay but unfortunately did not get hired. Had to call to get hours everyday.
Driver / Delivery (Former Employee) –  Irondequoit, NYDecember 12, 2017
It was a very good experience but the job did not last. I thought it would become full time after a while but did not get any hours after the busy season was over.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
not good amount of hours, very hard to become full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at UPS
Package car driver (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 12, 2017
My time at UPS was educational and fun. Aside from the lackluster way their management style changed over the years to be adverse towards the union worker I enjoyed my interaction with the people which made up for the harassment that we would have to endure from management on a daily basis. It built character to be able to go out and perform under extreme weather conditions and to brave Manhattan traffic on a daily basis.It was very challenging to avoid accidents among all the chaos of human and vehicular traffic.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
bad weather and a bad management culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 12, 2017
Drivers are paid good but the part time insiders are very underpaid and mistreated. Good job for a young college student because of the tuition reimbursement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workplace
Unloader (Former Employee) –  IllinoisDecember 12, 2017
More work than they pay they're works. Works are over worked. With too little of a break. It takes more to get to work. Especially when you only work three and a half hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20,944 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7