UPS Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 9,548 reviews matching the search See all 26,526 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Dead End Place to Work
Local Sort Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 20, 2018
The company talks about safety but does not practice and follow their own procedures.
As an employee in management it is hard to transition from part time to full time. You see part time supervisors who work for the company for more than 10 years before getting the opportunity to advance to full time if at all. They tell you that you should have a degree but most of the people they promote don't have a degree. If you want to advance you are given excuses . When you do finally get promoted you are stressed out with long hours, fear of being fired and continuous scolding for your mistakes.

They offer tuition reimbursement which is a helpful tool to either help you advance or take it and leave for a better opportunity elsewhere.

The health insurance for people in Management is a joke. The hourly employees have better and cheaper benefits.

As an employee within management you are just and glorified hourly employee with better pay.
Pros
Tuition Assistance
Cons
Short or no breaks, lack of respect from upper mgmt, poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work pays off in the end
Dispatch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 20, 2018
Everyone starts at the bottom moving packages in hub. This job totally sucks. Its hard manual labor in a none heated or cooled facility. You will go home dirty and tired. But UPS only promotes from within. Which means everyone above you started wear you are. You can either stay in the Union and wait until you have enough seniority to bid your way into a better job with better compensation. This may take some time but you will get there. It is only a matter of time. Or you can join Management and try to work your way up through merit based promotions. Beware to get a full time management position you will need a 4 year degree. Either way you should eventually be able to support a family it just depends on the kind of work you want to do and if you want to play corporate politics to get a promotion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups
Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 20, 2018
UPS is great place to work for people that like to work with others and like to be on the go. The company pays well and hires quick they also give lots of hours to everyone.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motivating
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 20, 2018
If losing weight will getting paid is something for you then this is a great job. come in do your job and go home and you wilol never have a problem. they do have a union.
Pros
over time after 5 hours daily
Cons
3am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits traded for stress and lack of advancement
Safety/Operation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Elm Grove, WIAugust 20, 2018
Stressful and fast paced work. High turnover and many frustrated employees. The pay and benefits are great. However, there is a lack of advancement opportunities. Great for a part time stepping stone now, whereas it used to be good for a long term career even for part time.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
low morale, stress, lack of advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok in the beginning
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Louisville KYAugust 19, 2018
I enjoyed working at UPS but I wasn't getting enough hrs and I was driving there and sometime there wasn't any work so it's ok for whomever likes to work short term hrs
Pros
Long lunch break
Cons
Not enough breaks in between
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for advancement
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Statesville, NCAugust 19, 2018
I started working for UPS the week after I graduated HS. I started out as a package handler and moved up to a management role in a matter of months. A great work ethic is required here. You can't be lazy or you won't last. I've gained a lot of experience through the time have been there that I am very grateful for. With this knowledge gained it not only gives me the opportunity to advance in the company, but others if I chose to leave.
Pros
work environment, great people, benefits
Cons
stress stress stress...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups
Handler (Former Employee) –  Snellville, GAAugust 19, 2018
I really didn’t like the job location it was too far from my destination.It was 35 min away and lots of times it’s traffic cause me to be late for.Also causing lackin of rest walkin up I. The morning
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Short break, hard workin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money
Sortor (Current Employee) –  Commerce City, COAugust 19, 2018
Supervisor have gotten really bad over the last couple years most are good but there’s a few that have no respect for the employee to demeaning I the way they speak to people
Pros
Great money and benefits
Cons
Very hard on the body
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Loader and Unloader (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSAugust 19, 2018
Not enough hours job was fast pace. Management was easy to work for which was alright. Team members were good to work with. No benefits at all. Location was hard and complicated to get to. learned how to work in fast paced environment.
Cons
not enough hours and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 19, 2018
Not a bad place to work during college because of the tuition reimbursement program. Easy job and decent hours. Structured environment with a lot of young people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups
UPS Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJAugust 18, 2018
I began putting boxes on a flat loading belt work my way up as I monitored the belt in kept putting more package on there had to make sure the machines never jammed
Pros
The had structure
Cons
Lunch breaks, pay late, mess u up hours, dont always give your overtime pay on the right date
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups
Package Handler (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 18, 2018
I love the fast working Pace with UPS it's a good company to work for when you start off but when you first start off you only get 17 to 20 hours a week and you can't live off that that's a good part time job if you have a full-time job I would love to have a career with UPS but it takes being there a year before you have any opportunities but sometimes you just don't got time for that but besides that UPS is a great place I would recommend it to anybody who's hard-working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hempstead, NYAugust 18, 2018
I love the job bevause it was fast and they was always moving around the mangers are very respectful and when ask for help they help you i would full up trucks
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Breaks when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place you’ll meet all kinds of good people
Employee (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILAugust 18, 2018
UPS is a quick paced job & Requires physical strength at times. The supervisors are very kind & likable. Working at ups for over 15 years you could come in 2 Days a Week & Still Make you Regular salary
Pros
Great air in break area
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Harrington, DEAugust 17, 2018
I loved my season as a Driver Helper. By far, the best work experience ever. The drivers were great. It was a hard day. When winter really hit, it was terrible. Still fun and awesome pay. UPS has great benefits. Definitely think of getting a good pair of safety sneakers. Something light. Boots were too heavy and my knees hurt so bad near the end of the day. Gloves that fit right to your hands with grip. Long hours and a lot of lifting. Make sure to learn the DIAD. You can get into a career there through being a Driver Helper. I hope any of this helps. It really is a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Riviera Beach, FLAugust 17, 2018
I love this job I wish I can get a another job I love riding on the truck and just different areasi love delivery the pages and use you tool to take it out or in the system just great place to work
Pros
Free lunches, tip, fun
Cons
Health, vision, dental, vaction, sick days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough workplace with usually great coworkers
UPS (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYAugust 17, 2018
Good temporary job, Fun coworkers, most supervisors are kind, supportive, and understanding. Often offer free lunches for working long hours. Good OT.
Pros
Occasional free lunches, team work, mandatory overtime.
Cons
overtime, often temporary positions, long days, often working with heavy packages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace very active
Mail Sorter/Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Forest Park, GAAugust 16, 2018
For what i know ups is a very active job you definitely have to move and definitely have to be self motivated but once you are use to working for ups it can be very fun you can build amazing friendships have a genuine job that pays weekly also the hours they can give you are amazing you also can get great benefits and promotions on this job you can work your way to lead which gives you more hours and more pay
Pros
Good look on resume
Cons
May have short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2018
Fast paste work area! Some good people to work around if you get along well with others! The Pay SUCKS when you first start working there! Keep a clear & good mindset going into work everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 26,534 reviews
59.7K
48.2K
35.6K
21.7K
11.3K

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight