UPS Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 10,111 reviews matching the search See all 27,976 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security and benefits
Sorter (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LA 71103November 18, 2018
the work is hard and fast pace but the benefits are great.they have a union that protects employees, the work is stable and opportunity for advancement.
Pros
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Ltl driver (Current Employee) –  Salina, KSNovember 18, 2018
Good fast pace can be stressful. Always seems to be one or to stos more the the route can handle..never time to stop for luch thirty minute break without missing a pick up for an early closing costomer
Pros
Wages
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
UPS Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Burtonsville, MDNovember 17, 2018
Working here is extremely stressful and can be very frustrating. This job requires you to be strong and to be able to work lifting for 5 continuos hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Shipping and receiving team leader (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 17, 2018
Good company to work for very competitive goog benefy vacation pay and holyday. No six day but you can use vacation or personal day very safe place to work
Pros
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job and co workers. Fast paced
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXNovember 16, 2018
I was fired 2 days before a full release -because I had a small stroke. I worked at a UPS store. I loved my job but the owner was very demanding and paid very little attention to our store
Pros
Daytime
Cons
Bad benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun working enviornment
Unloader (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 16, 2018
its a good job it just dont give people enough hours to pay their bills and im looking for a fulltime job that i can stay on to pay my bills and my car note
Pros
Nice people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job
Salesman (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMNovember 16, 2018
Basic Job. Worked there for about two months, had to relocate for life goals. Pay was fine, even got a raise. Managers were fine. Just your basic college job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer an elite job
Road Driver (Current Employee) –  Richfield, OhioNovember 16, 2018
Firstly, I work UPS freight as a union employee. There are other UPS freight employees non union on other accounts such as advanced auto parts and UPS freight contractors which run terminal to terminal taking our freight for about $1.10 a mile. The company senior guys on the road board have it well (like myself), making .73 cpm and about $29 hourly on non driving and typically an easy home daily bid route. However, if you’ve just started and it takes 4 years to get to top rate and our new contract calls for a two tier pay scale so you will never make as much as a current employee. Plan on spending a lot of time babysitting the phone as you’ll probably be on call your first few years.

Management can be impossible to deal with as is getting a day off whether you’ve earned it or not. Morale is generally low and terminals are outdated, understaffed and unclean. Communication between Central dispatch to management and drivers is lacking to put it politely. UPS decided to hire temp workers to run the entire road board and oversee every decision at central dispatch. Needless to say it’s been a disaster.

I would not recommend this company as they have zero plans to expand their market share, go to Old Dominion or FedEx freight.
Pros
Pension, benefits, pay at full rate
Cons
Equipment, morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 16, 2018
Pay was not good enough for the labor. Nasty work area can be very unsafe at times. the manger was really cool. the best part of the job was the benefits
Pros
benefits
Cons
unhealthy work ar
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great possibilites
Driver/PT Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCNovember 16, 2018
I love my co-workers and dispatch. If someone comes along and isn't a good fit for our hub, they get weeded out fairly quickly. You have to be very versatile. Our daily schedule often changes three times before we leave the yard.

There's a lot of bureaucratic drama. When I first started with them, I loved working there. But they changed supervisors and we're getting micromanaged, too many conflicts of interest, favoritism, bullying by management that is oppressive and killing moral. We have expressed our concerns, but we're not seeing any resolution.

We love our benefits. There are a lot of great monetary benefits to working for UPS. They also provide us with uniforms. However, the pants never fit, so we purchase our shorts and pants elsewhere.
Pros
Good benefits and compensation
Cons
Forced long lunch; low moral due to unnecessary internal operations and control
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and physically demanding work environment
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Hodgkins, ILNovember 16, 2018
This job is strictly for those who can handle the physical demand and willing to work for less than other companies. The employees are great, friendly, hardworking and understanding individuals however the management really needs some work.
Pros
Union, great employees, vacation, healthcare
Cons
Short breaks, bad management, little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After working at UPS it was not how i thought that it would be. It’s not an easy job as it may seem
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Lyndhurst, NJNovember 16, 2018
Working here at UPS is not an east job to do. When i applied i did not think that it would be how it is. We have to load 2-3 trucks a day sometimes more. You have to catch every package that comes down on the belt and you have to make sure that you put them in the right trucks. Our break is also only 10 mins
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Dallas TXNovember 16, 2018
UPS... Under Paid Slaves is what that stands for! Ridiculous work for that small pay! Run far away! The salary is no where near worth the physical pain you'll endure throwing the frieght. 10.50, and this is Dallas! Sad.
Pros
Easy hire on
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service Counter Representative (Former Employee) –  Lihue, HINovember 16, 2018
They won't pay overtime. They are desperate and will hired anyone off the street. Workers don't get along with each other. Bosses will adjust your time, example if you worked 6 hrs and they feel you did not do anything they will pay you for 5 hrs
Pros
none
Cons
no discounts on shipping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid to Workout
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXNovember 15, 2018
UPS was a great job that boosted many aspects of my work ethic. I enjoyed the professional, fast paced, and safe working environment that provided plenty of benefits and advancement opportunities.
Pros
benefits, advancement opportunities.
Cons
idk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UPS was a fast pace warehouse environment.
Package Handling Associate (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CANovember 15, 2018
The average amount of packages that was processed by UPS backs when I was there in 2014 was 24,000 in 4 to 6 hours. The load was 50 pounds more than half the time so it consisted of heavy lifting.
Pros
Increasing pay every 6 months
Cons
Short break times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
System Support Representative (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 15, 2018
typical day consisted of many calls from franchise stores requesting help with hardware to software issues. Learned how helping people via the phone is not as easy as it looks, since they have to be your eyes and ears
Pros
Great benefits, great work environment
Cons
Angry customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, but nothing guaranteed
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Willow Grove, PANovember 15, 2018
Good company if you have the drive for it.
I was there for 6 years (3 times the amount of time I told them I'd be there for) and they didn't want to give me a full-time loader position because I wasn't the head of my household. I had no interest in management and didn't pass the driving test after 2 attempts, which I know is on me, but those were the 3 options as far as advancement goes. Benefits were great, as part-time I had my own insurance, my regular co-pay was about $10 at most places. The pay was good, I started at $8.50 and worked my way up to $14, but I believe they're starting higher now. We were "guaranteed" 3.5 hours a day, Mon-Fri. (So not even part time.) However if there wasn't enough work to justify keeping a full team they'd send people home without pay for the day. Management was hit-or-miss. I had managers that were great and got to know each of their employees personally, and some that looked for any reason to get rid of their employees.
Pros
Fast paced, good pay, great benefits
Cons
Hours aren't guaranteed, management is a hit or miss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 15, 2018
Its a great experience ive have fun at the same time i was working hard work with others we its come down to it im good at being a good team player work hard. Unload trucks as a team until everything is well organized
Pros
N/a
Cons
10 min break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One size doesn't fit all at UPS
AIR FREIGHT COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HINovember 15, 2018
The corporate culture at UPS is great, however, each workplace is treated like it's own company. Management and work environment from one place to another can be extremely different. Do your homework on the office that you work for.
Pros
Solid company with excellent benefits
Cons
High stress environment with lots of office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UPS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27,980 reviews
510.2K
48.6K
35.9K
21.8K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight