US Department of the Interior Employee Reviews

Found 836 reviews matching the search See all 850 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting organization to work.
Geologist/Haz Mat Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Marina, CA 93933January 19, 2019
Culture of experience for subject matter experts. Current focus on biological sciences provides some significant limitations as related to resource management.
Pros
Opportnity for work throughout western US.
Cons
Focus on biological sciences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it but had to go.
Contracting Officer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 16, 2019
Nothing but praise for the organization and my team. Loved the mission, the colleagues, and the public. I have to write at least 150 characters to post.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Lax oversight and enforcement of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission-driven agency
Program Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 16, 2019
The Department covers a lot of critical issues for the U.S., and people there care a lot about their jobs. Leadership and authority varies by office, and most are pretty silo-ed, so communication between them is not always easy or effective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Associate
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVJanuary 16, 2019
Team Leader in evaluating lentic sites for functionality, document location and size with Trimble GeoXT GPS unit, plot locations on maps, and summarize data for each spring, seep and stream assessed. Assisted fisheries/wildlife/hydrology biologists with stream survey and monitoring, and the monitoring Wildlife Exclosures for breaches. Assisted in editing Fire related EA's. Consulted with various specialists to clearly and effectively communicate information by efficiently designing and creating a multitude of visually appealing maps of a range of scales and dimensions. Used sound cartographic techniques to produce several series of maps, illustrating wildlife range maps, fire impacts on sage grouse habitat, and the condition of riparian areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Project Manager Consultant (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, COJanuary 16, 2019
Great place to work. No politics. Very knolwedgable and cooperative team. Flexible work schedule. Working with multiple government agency is a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Interior-NPS
Park Ranger (Current Employee) –  UtahJanuary 15, 2019
Working for the National Park Service has many perks, you usually work in a beautiful place, have access to hiking, outdoor life, and are able to spend more time walking and being outside in nature in general or at least have close proximity to nature. However, most jobs are seasonal in nature and it is very difficult to get a permanent position. Once you get a permanent position, you may have hard time moving up, as it is extremely competitive. Getting married and having a relationship is difficult, becuase you usually end up moving around quite a bit, and if you are dual careers in the Park Service, it is nearly impossible to find a job where you are both able to work in positions you both want to be in. Having children is also difficult. Most NPS employees are on the younger or older side, so there is often not enough support for employees with families. They are the odd ones out, especially if both parents work for NPS. So in conclusion, NPS is a great place to start a career and a great place to end a career. Once you hit 30 and want to settle down and have a few kids, maybe not the best place for that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to work for!
BIOLOGICAL SCIENCE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Coleharbor, NDJanuary 12, 2019
I was able to get experience in a wide variety of tasks, which greatly improved my skillset as a biological technician. Also, the benefits and my coworkers were great to work with!
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back place to work
Lead Financial Specialist (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VA 20171January 11, 2019
Excellent work-life balance
worked with me being a mom
pretty good work culture
a good place to work if you have a family
works with you and your personal life
Pros
very accommodating
Cons
not a lot of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recommend it
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 11, 2019
I served as an intern. I learned a lot about tribes and monies owed to them. It was a really cool leaning experience. I would definitely work there given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 11, 2019
It is a great place to work. They give you opportunities to attend training classes or events in the community. I enjoy the people i work with, if I have questions i know they will be there to help me out.
Pros
Flexible work hours if needed
Cons
Shutdown
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Data Analyst/Help Desk Support (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 9, 2019
NPS was a great place to work as a Systems Analyst. Employees were dedicated to helping to make the parks more functional and enjoyable for all who visited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and thriving place to work
RANGELAND MANAGEMENT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 9, 2019
A rewarding environment to work in natural resources and assist those in need. Endless opportunities to help others while doing good work to improve the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Financial Technician, M-F (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, COJanuary 8, 2019
Good people to work with. Able to work from home for a couple days out of the week. Able to work out during lunch or regular breaks. Flexible on vacation days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
DOI National Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brunswick, GAJanuary 8, 2019
Amazing career opportunities with DOI to work with other professionals as stewart's of our nation's public lands. DOI has several Bureaus with specific missions to focus on your area of interest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice placeto work
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newburyport, MAJanuary 7, 2019
Nice place to work, friendly coworkers and helpful management. Volunteers are great and work well with staff. Pot luck lunches are fun and everyone is kind.
Pros
happy place
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet understaffed workplace
Hydrologist (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 7, 2019
The employees work collaboratively and wear many hats in order to sustain the productivity of the agency.

My typical day consists of 3D modeling/ geochemical modeling, some gis/remotesensing as well as conference calls and technical assistance in the fields of Geology, Hydrogeology and Hydrology. Health and Safety is also one of my responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Biological Science Technician (Current Employee) –  Winona, MNJanuary 5, 2019
Bottom Text

Bottom text


bottom Text apple sauce peanut butter celery tomatoes potatoes sweet potatoes beets onions red onions vidalia onions asparagus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working in a popularity contest
Fuels Technician/Engine Crew (Former Employee) –  Kimberly, IDJanuary 4, 2019
I was told the first day that working for the BLM was a lot like high school. This was correct. Supervisors often played favorites and berated those they dislikes. Additionally the operation was run in a military fashion but managed to not get much done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Glen Jean, WV 25846January 3, 2019
Loved my job would work for them any time worked outdoors learned so much people where great that I worked with best group ever it was like one big family
Pros
Got to enjoy the outdoors
Cons
Job just wasnt long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying work that serves my co-workers who serve the public
Admin (Current Employee) –  NPSJanuary 3, 2019
The National Park Service protects national treasures and provides public enjoyment for this and future generations. This position supports the employees that serve the public and maintain these treasures.
Pros
Federal benefits, retirement earned at multiple locations nationwide, working in national parks
Cons
No annual increases or increases below inflation, chance of furlough every year while the politicians debate the budget
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at US Department of the Interior. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 850 reviews
5426
4255
3104
233
132

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at US Department of the Interior.

Powered by Comparably