US Department of the Treasury Employee Reviews

Found 378 reviews matching the search See all 385 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Intern, Office of Project Management (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDFebruary 19, 2019
Great job with awesome co workers and plenty of opportunity to grow and advance. I love the time I spent a scan intern itbeasca delightful and productive exoeruence.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun place to work
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 10, 2019
A typical day at work for me was: ensuring my employees arrived to work and signed onto the system timely, schedule leave, write evaluative reviews, monitor incoming calls for accuracy and courteous interactions, discussions with employees on improving in their job, employee counseling, handling elevated calls, handled suicide threat calls, created work schedules/leave schedules/break/lunch schedules attend Managerial meetings, conduct team meetings, work with Union Officials to resolve issues and instruct new hire classes.
Pros
Benefits, vacations
Cons
fast-paced, non-stop work situations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management hinders costumer sevice
Small Business Tax Examiner (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 6, 2019
Providing excellent customer service was what drove our department. The taxpayer's rights and needs were always our focus. We were ultimately understaffed which made the job much more stressful than it needed to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Treasury Department
Senior Advisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 5, 2019
Working at the Treasury Department was a terrific learning experience. The staff was brilliant and the issues that we addressed were exciting and meaningful.
Pros
Working alongside the brightest and best.
Cons
my direct boss was not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great balance of work/personal life
ASAC (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 24, 2019
Federal law enforcement with a great work/life balance. While there are moments of high stress and excitement, this is generally a low-key environment allowing for proactivity and creativity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Agent
Special Agent/Criminal Investigator (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 22, 2019
I dealt with people from all walks of life, from the corporate boardroom to convicted criminals. Complex accounting and banking matters were routine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be much better
Internal Revenue Agent (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOJanuary 18, 2019
The federal government had always been an excellent employer, until recent years when Congress repeated failed to timely fund its operations. This has resulted in a number of lengthy, stressful shutdowns and employees being prohibited from working until Congress did its job.
Pros
Flexible scheduling and good leave policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn, but limited upside
Deputy Director (Current Employee) –  DC - District of Columbia, DCJanuary 11, 2019
Good place to learn, but limited upside.

I had a great experience for the first several years but as one moves up the ladder, growth experiences become fewer and fewer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 8, 2019
The Treasury Department provided a solid internship experience for me. The work was generally meaningful and important to the office I worked in. Working here allows you to make connections with important people throughout the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Collection Representative-SB/SE (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 2, 2019
my opinion about a typical day at work, what I've learned, management, workplace culture, the hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable part of the job is just that, MY OPINION.
Pros
benefits
Cons
short notice on everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities
Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 1, 2019
The opportunities are there if you take them. You have to be willing to do and go where you are asked. Although plenty of
Employees are content to say in their same job for their entire career.
Pros
Pension, good benefits. Leave
Cons
Budget cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great health coverage
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chamblee, GADecember 8, 2018
Good company for benefits of health insurance, dental, vision, and 401k.
Management was repressive discouraging any free thinking. Everyone had to be in lock step.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Repressive management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure place to work
Revenue Officer (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 4, 2018
Good people, but it just was not for me. Internal policies and procedures were everchanging and very frustrating to navigate at times. If you don't care about anything more than your paycheck then you will like it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 31, 2018
The company pays you fairly. There is room for advancement. The company provides all necessary resources to perform your duties. Benefits are good. Time off is good.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for those who wish to advance
Contact Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 12, 2018
Overall Management failure. No employee value shown. A lot of families and friends work there. There are too many clicks nepotism. A lot of money wasted but no real training. Most of all poor work ethics.
Pros
Benefits and Pay
Cons
Poor Training and management fail
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as an Administrative assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 2, 2018
Awesome to work for the US Department of Treasury,
It was my first big job ever and loved to work for them. It was a lot to do as administrative here. A little bit of multi task, but more independently.
Pros
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome
Cons
Just the breaks were too short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Guaynabo, PROctober 1, 2018
IRS was a fantastic place to work. I do think that employee's day to day experience depending heavily on their direct report and attitude. Overtime is not allowed so the schedule was very routine. Customer Service all the time.
Pros
Amazing culture, great benefits, great pay, good opportunity to learn and awesome people and management.
Cons
No parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasury
Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 30, 2018
Mission oriented yet still finding its feet in the larger arena. Would love to have that worklife balance back but too many road blocks under the previous management structure to get anything done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced professionals
Resident Budget Advisor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 4, 2018
OTA hires experienced professionals in the budget and financial field particularly from state and local governments. The positions are contract -oriented for full-time (resident) or part-time (intermittent) assignments. The majority of the positions are located in foreign countries. This will require a significant commitment to relocate family and household to the designated country. Housing and security are provided at no expense for the employee if selected for a resident assignment.
Pros
Great salary and benefits
Cons
Relocation to a foreign country and may need to learn a foreign language
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Environment to Work
Management Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chamblee, GAAugust 31, 2018
Work days were pleasant, due to the fact that I was able to work independently throughout my shift. Overtime and comp time offered. Three to six weeks of vacation time.
Pros
Flexible Hours and Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at US Department of the Treasury. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 385 reviews
5171
4106
373
221
114

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at US Department of the Treasury.

Powered by Comparably