Uber Employee Reviews

Found 512 reviews matching the search See all 716 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good part time job
Uber Driver (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 13, 2018
I really enjoy having the opportunity to have the Uber app to use whenever I am available to work as a college student and part time server at my other job.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
using own car = a lot of milage usage = a lot of maintenance = -$
Ride-Sharing Driver (Former Employee) –  BahiaNovember 13, 2018
Pick up passenger/s using your personal car through UBER app.
Some rude, some nice, some loud and some quiet.
Communication with management was only through email, which was inconvenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kill your car for pennies on the dollar.
Uber Partner Driver (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CANovember 13, 2018
Greedy company taking as much money as they can from their drivers who are only driving to make ends meet. I would in no way shape or form suggest people to drive for the company.
Pros
Making money when you need it.
Cons
Literally everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for part time
Rideshare driver (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 13, 2018
If you can handle traffic ridesharing is an awesome job that allows you freedom to Perdue your true life goals.you can make a good amount of money but you have to put a lot of hours in
Pros
Freedom to work when you want
Cons
You will destroy your car
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Independent Contractor/Driver (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 12, 2018
This is a position as an Independent contractor. There is no workplace environment. The freedom of working around your schedule is the biggest plus to this job in my opinion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get a different job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 12, 2018
They are constantly making changes that they believe are better, but end up worse for both the drivers and passengers. The pay rate has dropped significantly over the last 2 years. I used to make 75% of the total fare per trip, now I am making roughly 40% - 60%.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job Depends on you
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 12, 2018
Not a bad company to work for. However to be successful Plan on researching the area with the best pay for you. Know your market, know your custormers
Pros
Your a free agent
Cons
damage to the car
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Job
UBER DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 12, 2018
I really loved my job. Most of the people that I met were friendly and
polite.

I worked for 3 1/2 years driving and really liked it.

The hardest part of my job was driving the drunks and people with foul mouths.

The most enjoyable was meeting all the different people from all over the world and learning about their countries.
Pros
meeting people and getting paid everyweek
Cons
driving drunks and foul mouth people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total wate of time,you are practically on your own with no guarantee income and a lot of expenses
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  MiamiNovember 12, 2018
They sugarcoat a deal that’s a loosing proposition for drivers.Driver is expected to assume all expenses and liabilities for the vehicle for less than minimum salary after expenses,there’s no benefits
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can work when you want to.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 12, 2018
You are your own boss and can work when you want to. You meet people all over the world and enjoy finding out about them & their work. It is very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Side Gig
Driver (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 11, 2018
You can work when you want. It takes some discipline. I enjoy meeting new people. I make about $15 an hour when everything shakes out. It doesn't sustain me but it is a great side gig.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant Contractor
Partner Drive (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 11, 2018
Uber would not approve my insurance based on it being on another policy under my fiancee's name BUT the VIN number of the vehicle is listed. So I no longer work for Uber. I enjoyed it but they won't approve my vehicle unless I have my insurance in my name but it's cheaper for me to be added to another policy in the name of my fiancee.
Pros
independent Contractor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work when you want
Driver (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaNovember 10, 2018
I work early morning hours as the customers tend to fresh, clean and quiet.
I generally transport customers to business meeting, airline flights, or home from a business trip. No one tells me when to work. Only my work ethic and desire to earn a respectable income.
Pros
Work when I want.
Cons
Business expenses, i.e. fuel, tires, & oil changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn about rideshare from Uber.
Driver - Partner (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 10, 2018
I enjoy transporting people to and from their places of business and leisure. I especially enjoy meeting people from all aspects of life. Working hours around your schedule is a major plus.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Work not always when you want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a taxi driving service
Driver (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 9, 2018
Working for uber is like being your own boss of your own taxi company. Every ride you get is money in your pocket for fuel expenses, food expenses, vehicle maintenance, etc. It is a great way to meet people.
Pros
get to be your own boss
Cons
one bad review from a disgruntled drunk throws your clientele way off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 9, 2018
As a driver you can work at your own pace however, as a driver work can be unstable at times. You need to know the areas you are driving in and have GREAT customer service.
Pros
You can work at your own pace
Cons
It can be unstable at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A perplexing business model.
Uber Driver (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 9, 2018
Initially I was able to make pretty good money Ubering, but constant policy and payment changes have made it not as lucrative as before. The navigation system needs some minor improvements but over the tech is solid.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Rude and obnoxious people every once in a while.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay for High mileage
Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 9, 2018
The pay rate has decreased. It will probably keep decreasing with the influx of immigrants. Luckily my car is still relatively new. The wear and tare on car is real.
Pros
No boss
Cons
Loosing game
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tried to contact
Uber Eats Driver (Former Employee) –  Irving,NYNovember 9, 2018
Several times I tried to reach out to support, and they absolutely refused to respond. I am a disabled veteran, and they treated me as though I am not a person at all and that I did not deserve anyone to return my messages instead they essentially fired me, gee thanks Uber!
Pros
None
Cons
inhumane, and do not care about people at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good not good enough
Contratista Independiente/Conductor (Current Employee) –  Puerto RicoNovember 7, 2018
Is a good job only if you got another one. Cause nobody but yourself got to take care of your car (maintenance, gas, cleanness, etc.)
Also if you got an accident on working hours they just care about the rider and the company to not get sued.
Pros
you’re able to make your own schedule
Cons
as insurance company they underpay the car damages you may have in a ride
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Uber. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 717 reviews
5253
4186
3161
255
162

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Uber.

Powered by Comparably