UC San Diego Employee Reviews

Found 678 reviews matching the search See all 681 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment.
Chief Community Health Programs (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 20, 2018
UCSD was a good working environment. A typical day consisted of working with community health workers who were committed to doing the best work possible to serve the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional work-place
Supplemental Instructor for Mathematics (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 17, 2018
- Have flexible schedule for students
- Allow students to gain more knowledge in their field.
- Work in professional environment.
- Work with diversity of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Project Specialist (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CASeptember 16, 2018
The University of California, San Diego Health was an excellent employer with great benefits. Always a professional atmosphere in every department I interacted with.
Pros
Respect among staff
Cons
Employees have to pay for parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed bullying
Business Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 14, 2018
Management was allowed to bully employees and get away with it from HR. HR doesn't support the employees and their work environment to be positive and healthy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and collaborative
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 13, 2018
It was ok. I was a postdoc here so there is a lot of expectations and its also lots of time commitment. However its fun to be in academia and there is a potential for lots of learning and collaboration,.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 12, 2018
A lot of great academic seminars are available each month.
Many excellent scientists collaborate here.
Great workplace culture.
Nice experience in the happy hours with colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long fieldwork days, relaxing in office days
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CASeptember 11, 2018
The hardest part of the job was driving around all of California doing fieldwork. We had very low pay and had some fiscal issues regarding our travel card. The environment was nice because we were all recent graduates.
Pros
Most things were paid for during fieldwork
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have stayed there forever if I could've.
Full time RN in 13 bed MICU/CCU (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 8, 2018
UCSD was a phenomenal system to work for. From staff to management everyone helps you feel like you are a part of something bigger. We are all there for the same reasons, to provide excellent, competent, safe care to our clients as well as challenge ourselves to be better and do better.
Pros
Wonderful staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work enviroment
Director of Middle East Operation (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 7, 2018
We had bad experience at the university of California in San Diego Unlike the sister hospital in Los Angeles, UCLA, which was a great place to work.

The work day is the same as we I'm an independent contractor
Please review our company's review, International Medical Care, Inc.
Pros
working 24/7- Moderate compensation
Cons
Very nice city to work in (San Diego )
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work environment and lots of politics and turnover
Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 2, 2018
Very top heavy and abnormal amount of work given the low pay. Lots of politics everywhere you turn. Not much diversity in the workplace. Unhealthy culture for a university.
Pros
Not many
Cons
High union dues
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment, not terribly stable
Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 31, 2018
A typical day varied from quarter to quarter as the schedule changed. But normally a day would involve hunting for parking, and then a significant amount of "dead" time before classes began. Teaching for 1 - 4 classes per day along with some office hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, greater people
Dispatcher/Driver (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 30, 2018
Drivers, trainers, dispatchers, and management were all wonderful people. Paid training for a professional CMV license with endorsements is an asset for sure. Flexible hours, on-campus location, and highest non-academic pay made this the job I wish I had earlier.
Pros
Very flexible hours
Cons
Not great for summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay part time job
Store associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 24, 2018
convenient during school, very easy, not difficult. Friendly environment. What you expect from an on campus job. Dont expect too much pay, quite low actually
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work enviornment
Security Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 23, 2018
If one has a family and loved ones to take care of,especially if their on your healthcare plan then benefits are the reason why people decide to retire from UCSD.
Pros
I knew plenty of employees from different departments throughout the hospital
Cons
Frequently breaks would be interrupted due to an emergency call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UCSD Health
Room Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAAugust 22, 2018
Working at UCSD Health has been wonderful! It is my first experience working in a health care environment-- working here has been productive and fun!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Undergraduate Project Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 22, 2018
Working for Global TIES under the Jacobs School of Engineering was great. It was a tight-knit group of like-minded, ambitious individuals who were very genuine with the work they did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and under appreciated
Room Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAAugust 20, 2018
The managers micromanage all of their employees. They seem to nip pick on the one wrong things we tend to do than all of the great work we do, to make the patients feel comfortable in their stay at the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but great
Epic Analyst/Programmer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 19, 2018
I love UCSD. I have been there for two years and genuinely enjoy the work that I do, the members of my team, and my manager's approach to leadership. It is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its pretty chill
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAAugust 18, 2018
I liked my job as a research assistant a lot but I realized it wasn't the job for me. I did learn a lot about research and creating networks within the school itself but I realized research isn't my forte.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Academic Diversity and EEO Officer (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAAugust 14, 2018
UCSD is a great environment to work in for young upcoming professionals. I really like the campus environment. Depending on which school or department you work for on campus, it can really be a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UC San Diego. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 681 reviews
5347
4207
390
221
116

See reviews about

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

38%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss