UC San Diego Employee Reviews

Found 1,027 reviews matching the search See all 1,035 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing research opportunities
Student Lab Volunteer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 21, 2019
Very competitive over work space. Helped me learn about a bunch of different skills that will definitely benefit me in the future. I did work study as a student here, so it was really cool to see all of the work that goes into getting a paper published.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and changes
Room Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMarch 19, 2019
All of the floors have about 30 plus patients that you have to provide nutrition service and education. There isn't always enough time to educate the patient due to the amount of workload and process of the job flow. There were always changes that occurred but were difficult to apply because the patients did not like change.
Pros
co-workers are awesome
Cons
short staff, not a work life balance type of job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting work
Staff Research Associate IV (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2019
interesting work but low pay but benefits and atmosphere is good. not easy to move around but you do learn a lot from different fields. would recommend to others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nimitz Marine Facility - UCSD
Marine Technician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2019
I only going to cover Nimitz under UCSD:
A typical day at work:
Check all open issues under Jira
Review any new updated information on Confluence
Assure all sailing platforms are shipshape

What you learned:
Improved social skills
Troubleshoot and debug systems under stressful conditions at sea
Self-Discipline management

Management:
This is a small group of people
There is only one way to reach a solution, the supervisor's way
Works and benefits only for protected job titles
Turnovers are expected for unprotected job titles

Workplace culture:
Be aware of your job title and protections status upon hiring
If you accept an unprotected job title, plan for turnover
Resignations are not uncommon
If you assimilate into the culture, review your Principles of Community every day

The hardest part of the job:
Small groups have by design a cultural diversity. By natural design, there will always be challenges

The most enjoyable part of the job:
Being at sea with fellow science members
Pushing your skills to the extreme limit
Finding out you can do more under stress
Pros
Get to telecommute and work from home when a platform is at sea
Cons
No cafeteria, no soda machine, no snack machine, no break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working culture
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 14, 2019
Great working environment with lots of benefits but hard for career advancement. There are a lot of opportunities for work based on your experience and skills to choose from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 7, 2019
Great mentorship and many events to introduce students to research, technology and the industry.

I am learning a lot at the lab and it is a great place for research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and simple job
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 18, 2019
In a regular day at work we go over the prep-list and the menu for the day. After setting up your station for success you start to operate it like if you was a restaurant on your own. Any major issues that cannot be solve by yourself you can go to chef and report them personally or to any other supervision around the area. The management is great and friendly the workplace culture is fun and easy going it is really easy to get along with people because everyone keeps good and positive attitude. The hardest thing you might have to deal with work would be showing up on time and keeping up with the volume for the day because you cant really tell weather it will be busy or slow but help is always provided when need by student workers who are there for us.
Pros
free meals, help provided
Cons
its pretty straight forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and environment
Production Student lead supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 16, 2019
Great work environment, and a good place to learn new skills. I worked part-time so I do not know about any benefits but I assume they exist. The people are awesome and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced Work Culture
H&S Senior Hazardous Materials Technician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 11, 2019
Good management
Fair hours
Excellent benefits (Dental & Health)
Medium Salary but not enough to compensate local cost of living

Note: Worked for EH&S Department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits / Lacks organization
Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 9, 2019
Lacking in organization and leadership. Management has lots of room for improvement. Communication and coordination between departments is lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Intern/ Professional Medical Biller (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 8, 2019
I loved being able to help clients with all their needs and I Loved how they recognize good workers. Medical file is my passion and ucsd is an all-around amazing company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Flexibility
Bioinformatics Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 4, 2019
There is very little camaraderie or even sociability within the workplace. Instead, it was a very frustrating and anxious place to work, with poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and friendly environment
Economics Supplemental Instruction Leader (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 24, 2019
A typical day at work would include planning a lesson plan and being able to facilitate the students in developing learning and study skills. One of the greatest things I learned was how to manage a diverse group of students with different intellect skills and design strategies in incorporating every student into the learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ucsd
Community Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 22, 2019
Working for this organization was a blessing, my short staying there was a great experience. Working for UCSD taught me many steps to work by myself with the trust of the supervisor that was locate in San Diego when I work in Los Angeles, The team we had was great we communicate over the phone for any assistance we need, everyone was available at their locations and we received support from our supervisor to our working team.
Pros
Positive
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering was somewhat interesting.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 20, 2019
It was a good first clinical volunteer position. However, the volunteers aren't trusted with many activities, so you do not get as much experience was you thought you would.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Medical Assistant II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 16, 2019
Attending patient in the morning and resident patients in the afternoon, how to be patient with the sometimes unruly patients, management was fair and supportive, sometimes the pace was overwhelming,
Pros
Great physicians
Cons
Shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travel assignment
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 16, 2019
great place to work all staff was very nice and helpful. this was an oncology unit in which i worked on. all nurses were into doing teamwork we all covered for each other. the environment was very peaceful to work in. also very quiet environment due to the type of patients we cared for.
Pros
great environment and very big on educations.
Cons
travel assignment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Scheduling & Authorization Coordinator (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 2, 2019
I loved this temp assignment I was sad it ended. I learned a lot of new skills I was able to use in my other positions. Excellent company I would apply for a permanent position if I had the chance.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Temp assignment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Salary
Research Administrator 3 (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJanuary 2, 2019
Overall UCSD is a decent place to work for with a very good benefit packages. However, on the departments level-it's not very good-too many managers with conflicted personal agendas to make a different.

Low salary for all, too much politics and restriction for promotions.

1) Due to good benefits
2) People don't leave even when they hate their jobs
3) Low level customer services
Pros
good benefits
Cons
good benefits, salary restrictions, no promotions, hard to fired bad employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume of work and very time consuming to hire staff
Accountant III (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 2, 2019
Overall a great place to work. Many employees, so can feel that what you do does not really matter. Work was very repetive and payroll system was antiquated.
Pros
Excellent Benefits and a lot of job security
Cons
pay was less than working for a for profit company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UC San Diego. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,035 reviews
5530
4318
3135
232
120

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.4Fairygodboss Score

44%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

56%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss