Ukrops Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 37 reviews
Ratings breakdown
518
48
310
21
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 37 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At times fun place to work
Assistant Deli Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 23, 2018
Enjoyed the associates and management, most of the time a fun and laid back environment, helpful associates and some managers if you're having problems with your jobs and associates
Pros
The yearly picnic
Cons
Didn't like to promote associates alot at one time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun loving company
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VANovember 25, 2017
This family owned business was enjoyable to work for. Low key environment although busy. Business was clean and healthy. Management was knowledgeable and helpful. Customer satisfaction was high.
Pros
Long lunch.
Cons
They went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Chicken Server (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VANovember 20, 2017
Nice place to work at. Co workers and customers was pretty good.had space to get your work done. Co workers helping each other.learning to make different chef case foods.etc.
Pros
Good food
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, VANovember 7, 2017
Love going to work, it was fun, the management was great, there is nothing I can say bad about this company. In the mornings, you put out the display, baked bread, put out birthday cakes, stock the bakery shelves. If closing, clean up the bakery area.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christian based company,
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 6, 2017
Ukrops was pro customer service and family oriented. The stores closed on Sundays so associates could worship at their chosen church. They also were closed on holidays allowing associates to spend time with their family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, VAAugust 16, 2017
Ukrop's was a good company to work for they value their employees managers care about their employees and customers were pleasant to serve in time in need managers were there to help out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work.
Packer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 15, 2017
Not hard work at all. The most important thing to remember is be on time and don't miss work. Managers do not like call ins because they slow down production time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endless learning experience
QA (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 9, 2017
Ukrops Dress Express is a wonderful place to work. Your learning experience is endless as long as you have a pretty thick layer of skin. Although there are several pers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid day for birthdays plus a birthday card sent to your home with $500 in it signed by the Ukrops
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Many different locationsMay 13, 2017
What an absolute wonderful family to work for, they cared and trusted each and every associate. We were all treated fairly and with the utmost respect. Loved my job
Pros
Wonderful family to work for
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED working here
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VADecember 14, 2016
Working here was awesome!

- Staff was friendly
- Tons of training offered
- Pay was awesome with frequent raises
- fun atmosphere
- NO work on Sundays or after 10pm
Pros
Pay, Atmosphere, Staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice breakroom
REFRIDERATION MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Chester, VANovember 30, 2015
hard long cold days unpacking and packing food short break times and no real benifits i learned that hard work does pay off my co workers were cool they helped me with some of the task i was assigned
Pros
long hours so more pay
Cons
cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAJuly 28, 2015
ukrops was a very good company to work for but, i enjoyed it very much while i was there in high school i would recommend them to any students or person looking for that type of employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours ,great people to work with.
Courtesy Clerk/Bakery (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 6, 2015
Great play to work just after high school ,however not a good career path. The working conditions were good .People were great to work with, Not a lot of career advancement opportunities.
Pros
Meet alot of great people, work our good.
Cons
not much in the way of career path
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with courtesy and a busy workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 1, 2015
The best satisfaction was taking care of customers in need of your motivation to help with chemical or non-chemical items. Also, getting to the know customer as I'm walking with them to their cars to help with groceries was a great accomplishment for the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Stores Different Experiences
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond VAJanuary 6, 2015
I worked 2 years at one location and enjoyed my time there and was promoted

i was then transferred when a new store opened and had a horrible experience with supervisors and associates

I was a cashier, customer service associate etc..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Meat Department Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 16, 2014
Ukrops was a great job and also a great learning experience for me at the time. I learned alot about customer satisfaction and serving customers in a well mannered way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe environment, easy work.
Martins Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VAJune 30, 2014
A typical day usually included carrying groceries to customers car's and providing customer service. Also included cleaning of the bathrooms and other areas of the store when needed. Co workers were generally friendly and helpful. Mangers were helpful and easy to work with. The hardest part was dealing with rude customers.
Pros
Decent managers
Cons
short breaks, not many raises in pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family owned grocery store.
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, VADecember 30, 2013
Ukrops was more like a home to me really. I started the job young, and I have come to love the people I worked with like family. The customers were great, the atmosphere was great, I loved it! I continue to shop there today! I left because they sold the company and we no longer had Sundays off, and it became to much.
Pros
Everything!! Customers, Coworkers, everything really!
Cons
Limited hours, but everyday. Usually 2-3 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place until sold 3 yrs ago
meat associate (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VANovember 30, 2013
very hands off management style with no support given from corporate or in store management
Pros
steady schedule
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviornment
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Richmond VaNovember 19, 2013
Management was very organized and I loved working with the customers and helping people any way I can
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport