UMB Financial Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 197 reviews matching the search See all 199 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Multiple Positions (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 16, 2018
Great place to work. Company has a great set of core values and really cares about the employees. Plenty of opportunity to grow withing the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OPERATIONS MANAGER II (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 16, 2018
I have enjoyed my time here. For the most part I feel they listen to us, the everyday employee. I have been able to advance quickly but yet at my own pace. They give lots of training to ensure success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Umb bank
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 12, 2018
My job as a teller was fun and a great learning experience. I just didn't know the rate of pay compared to the cost of living in Denver at the time. I wasn't making enough money to living on my own while I worked there.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking wasn't a fit for me
Recruiting Officer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 4, 2018
If you enjoy the stiff corporate environment where only acronyms are spoken, then this place is for you. It would be great if they were a little more relaxed and laid back.
Pros
Gives back to the community
Cons
Abundance of holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value Oriented
Credit Card Ops Clerk I (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 29, 2018
UMB is a very value oriented company. They are a family run business that likes to take care of their employees. I had great managers while working at UMB.
Pros
Professional environment, wonderful managers
Cons
Didn't pay enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Card Services Call Center Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 17, 2018
The training onsite is extensive and you come out of it with a very well rounded elaborate view on banking and credit. The supervisors are very helpful and the positions are flexible and predominately promoted from within.
Pros
flexibility and paid time off
Cons
customers are sometimes experiencing a bad time financially and it can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get good at corporate politics
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 24, 2018
I enjoyed my overall experience at UMB. I have many professional friends who still work there and thrive with the new leadership in place. I still see lots of change happening at the company but all for the better!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Comunity bank feel" but very corporate in reality
CRM (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 15, 2018
My experience at UMB left me puzzled with lack of leadership and guidance. If you were not favored by upper management or higher ups you had no chance. They do not care if you want to advance within the company unless you were favored. Very sad ! The products lack and are not competitive to work with, they think their TUCE model will compensate for that and that they have the best customer service in the banking world not. To me this bank is a joke with lack of leadership and lack of technology and what makes it worse is that they are mid size bank (almost as bad as Wells Fargo) that are using technology that Wells use 20 years ago. Beware
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a wonderful place to work!
Transaction Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 10, 2018
I learned a lot working at the bank however, I left the company for advancement and hire pay. Its a place where I would love to work again one day! I met a lot of great people!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A working day at UMB
Cashier checks, paying off loans, and more (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 3, 2018
I would come in get my register ready for the day, i would assist customer with any cashing needs or financial needs.
I worked the lobby and the drive up constantly at all times.
Pros
A lot of Hispanic customers
Cons
Management and co-workers judge and did not help much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to expand you customer service background
Peronal Banker (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 1, 2018
umb is not for the weak, it is for the determined and self starters. you have to be willing to be stretched and pushed. i belive it is a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employee support
Media Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 22, 2018
I felt I worked WITH management not FOR management. I was frequently greeted by name by senior management. They respected what each employee brought to the company.
Pros
Strong support
Cons
Slow to change and poor training opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Funds Controller (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
They care about their employees. Good work life balance and benefits. many opportunities for growth. Volunteer days are fun. Good people, management tries to help employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
I enjoyed my years at UMB. Great coworkers and management staff. I enjoyed working in the Accounts Payable department and interacting with the local branches and the out of state locations also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company if you like Stability
Commercial Card Client Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
UMB is a good company if you like stability, Advancement opportunities are low and the compensation is also low. It's a good bank but not a great company for advancing your career.
Pros
Good Benefits and Vacation
Cons
Not good advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Teller (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 5, 2018
Good work environment and a company that cares for the employees that hire. Great customer service to all customers walks in to the door. I had a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team environment
Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTMarch 5, 2018
Work with great peers. Don't approve of there bonus and advancement policies. You don't have cubicles which is a plus. They have fun snacks in the break room.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
IT Policies, Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but lack of career advancement
Fund Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTFebruary 21, 2018
Relaxed work environment and great culture with great co-workers. Not much potential to advance within the organization to a level one would need to feel accomplished in career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMB Bank sustains a community culture and genuinely cares for their employees.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2018
Working for UMB Bank has been a good experience for even the most experienced banker. They created and have sustained a community minded culture for their clients and employees.
Pros
Great focus on training throughout.
Cons
Software systems need to be updated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work.
Utility Teller (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 9, 2018
I learned how to do good customer service: with a smile, quickly and how to solve customer problems and deal with an angry customer. I also learned the best way to handle cash and keep it secure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UMB Financial Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 199 reviews
567
456
355
215
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.7InHerSight Score

4.1Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight