UMB Financial Corporation Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 191 reviews
Ratings breakdown
564
453
353
215
16
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 188 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Comunity bank feel" but very corporate in reality
CRM (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 15, 2018
My experience at UMB left me puzzled with lack of leadership and guidance. If you were not favored by upper management or higher ups you had no chance. They do not care if you want to advance within the company unless you were favored. Very sad ! The products lack and are not competitive to work with, they think their TUCE model will compensate for that and that they have the best customer service in the banking world not. To me this bank is a joke with lack of leadership and lack of technology and what makes it worse is that they are mid size bank (almost as bad as Wells Fargo) that are using technology that Wells use 20 years ago. Beware
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A working day at UMB
Cashier checks, paying off loans, and more (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 3, 2018
I would come in get my register ready for the day, i would assist customer with any cashing needs or financial needs.
I worked the lobby and the drive up constantly at all times.
Pros
A lot of Hispanic customers
Cons
Management and co-workers judge and did not help much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to expand you customer service background
Peronal Banker (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 1, 2018
umb is not for the weak, it is for the determined and self starters. you have to be willing to be stretched and pushed. i belive it is a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employee support
Media Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 22, 2018
I felt I worked WITH management not FOR management. I was frequently greeted by name by senior management. They respected what each employee brought to the company.
Pros
Strong support
Cons
Slow to change and poor training opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Funds Controller (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
They care about their employees. Good work life balance and benefits. many opportunities for growth. Volunteer days are fun. Good people, management tries to help employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
I enjoyed my years at UMB. Great coworkers and management staff. I enjoyed working in the Accounts Payable department and interacting with the local branches and the out of state locations also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company if you like Stability
Commercial Card Client Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 6, 2018
UMB is a good company if you like stability, Advancement opportunities are low and the compensation is also low. It's a good bank but not a great company for advancing your career.
Pros
Good Benefits and Vacation
Cons
Not good advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Teller (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 5, 2018
Good work environment and a company that cares for the employees that hire. Great customer service to all customers walks in to the door. I had a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team environment
Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTMarch 5, 2018
Work with great peers. Don't approve of there bonus and advancement policies. You don't have cubicles which is a plus. They have fun snacks in the break room.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
IT Policies, Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but lack of career advancement
Fund Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTFebruary 21, 2018
Relaxed work environment and great culture with great co-workers. Not much potential to advance within the organization to a level one would need to feel accomplished in career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about UMB Financial Corporation?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMB Bank sustains a community culture and genuinely cares for their employees.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2018
Working for UMB Bank has been a good experience for even the most experienced banker. They created and have sustained a community minded culture for their clients and employees.
Pros
Great focus on training throughout.
Cons
Software systems need to be updated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work.
Utility Teller (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 9, 2018
I learned how to do good customer service: with a smile, quickly and how to solve customer problems and deal with an angry customer. I also learned the best way to handle cash and keep it secure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 6, 2018
I really enjoyed the workplace but had to relocate. I would highly recommend. The management cared about its employees. Ive learned to be competitve and have a great attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed both positions I worked in, especially detail and Customer Service
Teller/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 6, 2018
UMB BANK, NA November, 2011- May, 2016

*Teller/Customer Service
*Balance drawer daily and vault
*Processed ATM deposits and other additional duties
*Provided excellent customer service
*Bankcard Call Center
*Processing payments, Activating Credit/Debit Cards
*Credit Card Applications
*Assisting Customers Balancing Bank Accounts
Pros
Legal Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture would be better with better pay.
Consumer Care Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 5, 2018
Culture would be better with better pay. Upper management was a family owned business but due to banking being a highly government regulated industry upper management used this as cover so as not to promote and suppress wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Lead Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  KansasJanuary 25, 2018
It has been a number of years since I was at UMB. I do not feel I could honestly answer questions on this survey to an adequate response at this time. This job was relatively like my other 2 positions that followed except on a smaller scale.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
Kcmo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing experience at UMB
Investor Svcs Rep (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 24, 2018
Heard good things about UMB and the training they offered however, the training although it was effective it was slightly childish. You were rewarded with candy for passing tests. This is a financial planning and retirement plans oriented company. Being rewarded with candy for mastering complex IRA and 401k concepts seemed inappropriate and trivial.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to begin a career in accounting
Tax Accountant (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTJanuary 20, 2018
This is a great place to work to begin my tax accounting career. The culture at UMB is phenomenal. The work is a little dry but has it's good moments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
COMMERCIAL CLIENT SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 17, 2018
UMB offered an amazing work environment. I enjoyed coming to work everyday. If given the option I would love the opportunity to work there again. UMB had a stress free atmosphere and the management team was helpful, professional and always pleasant. The company offered amazing benefits and made the employees feel appreciated.
Pros
Excellent work environment and good management team.
Cons
Compensation could be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Managment
Personal Banker I (Current Employee) –  Monett, MOJanuary 14, 2018
The Branch manager the was in charge of our branch as well as another Branch was very professional and handle stressful situations very well. I worked will a great group of people that I became friends with.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
not very much career advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UMB Financial Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.7InHerSight Score

4.1Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight