UMSL Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good opportunity for student to get involved with international enviroment
International Student Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 31, 2017
As an international orientation leader, I worked for the UMSL international student office for two weeks. We brought and showed students from all over the world the st.louis local cultures and customs. Also, we introduced the campus to students so that they would get quicker to get familiar with this environment in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilities of job were great, I worked with a wonderful team and engaged students
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 8, 2017
The project I worked on was an invaluable program for teachers and future teachers, but the rampant mismanagement at UMSL made the experience intolerable as I waited to be paid correctly for six months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Custodian (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 19, 2017
cleaning and preparing for shows i learned that ummsl is a good place to work,management is good,workplace is very diverse,keeping the place clean for the students,having the privilege to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun place to work
Small Business owner (Former Employee) –  Saint John, MOOctober 2, 2015
the best place I have ever worked. Free parking, close to home, nice boss, clean offices, lots of recourses, helpful people, understanding bosses, techs, cleaning crews. Cannot say enough about the exceptional treatment of everyone at UMSL.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good environment for a student
Lab assistant (Current Employee) –  st louis missouriJuly 2, 2015
On a typical day you clean glassware, arrange all the laboratory material in the correct order, provide material to teachers and students who need it. Ensure that everything runs smoothly and you should report of any missing equipment and what material that should be replaced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace and less stressful
Instructional Supports Consultant (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOMay 19, 2015
Helping customers to solve every problem when using IT service they have at my best.

Efficient and productive leaders and management.

Co-workers are all very kind, helpful and always available when working.
Pros
Great Working environment, and flexible working hours.
Cons
Part-time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun
UMSLTutor and Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 18, 2015
Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, which is probably why this was one of the best jobs I've ever had. I got to stock and sale really interesting costumes. We were encouraged to wear accessories to make them visible to the customers for purchase, which was fun.
My favorite part was helping kids pick out their costumes, or help them pair accessories, make up, wigs, etc.

The crew working with me were amazing, and the managers were the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 30, 2015
Management was Awesome! They made you feel welcomed to be there. As the Tutor Coordinator, it was a pleasure assisting students with tutors. This allowed them to focus on their classes and be successful.
Pros
free parking, great benefits
Cons
a different management took over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent communication
Development Systems Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 13, 2014
I worked for a great employer while I was a student at UMSL. I worked in an office setting. I did whatever work that was required to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Lead Custodian (Former Employee) –  st louisAugust 1, 2013
typical day at work was fun we got to meet lots of people everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 16, 2013
Fun environment, work at your own pace, good direction from other students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as long as your superiors aren't playing power games
Computer Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 24, 2012
like most universities, UMSL is a great place to work, but like most unversities there is a strong 'political' attitude among certain faculty members which makes working in a fair and impartial enviroment, impossible. Just wanted to manage my dept. not play power games which only hurt others' livelyhoods. Not my cup of tea.
Pros
great compensation, great students, sense of fullfillment
Cons
political atmosphere, backstabbing powerplays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but professional Academic Environment.
Stockroom Associate (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 3, 2012
The Learning Center was an ideal place for a student to work while studying. Here I learned more about communicating with people.
Pros
nice people.
Cons
no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more UMSL reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UMSL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 15 reviews
511
42
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.7Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.5Culture