Uncle Julio's Employee Reviews

Showing all 181 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lucrative
Cashier and Runner (Former Employee) –  Spring, TXDecember 6, 2018
Great training and fast paced restaurant. Made a lot of money quickly with the division of tips. Soft opening was a lot of fun. Keep up the good work Uncle Julios.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food, great area, too many servers
Server (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 5, 2018
At this restaurant there is great potential to make money with it being a tourist area and how amazing the food is, and the pricing being higher than your average night out to a Friday's or Red Lobster. Great menu options as well, that you wouldn't normally find anywhere else. However, they do schedule too many servers on the floor, in my opinion, which leaves everyone with a low amount of tables per shift and it's hard to make money if you're not closing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i work as a dishwasher for uncle julios its good so far pay good just want a 2nd job
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Brentwood, TNNovember 20, 2018
ive had a great time workimg for uncle julios and i am still willing to work for them . i do take my breaks ech time everyday 30 mintues . i work as a dishwasher sometimes i will work as cooking i clean and etc .
Pros
pay my lunches
Cons
half hour brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs work
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 11, 2018
They are a very unorganized company that needs more work on how to treat their employees. There has been so many people quit and about to quit just due to how they run their restaurant on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the fast pace
Manager/Server, also Bartender & Trainer (Former Employee) –  plymouth meetingNovember 1, 2018
I loved the people and the work was great, hours were good for me, the tips were better wish they didn't close down. Would work there again if they opened another store in Philadelphia
Pros
lunch
Cons
closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncle Julio and his family.
Front of House Server (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 24, 2018
Working for Uncle Julio's is a great time, regardless of prior work experience. The staff from back of house to management are very friendly. It caters to a higher class group of people, but also provides an atmosphere for casual people who rarely eat out.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
Intensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is growing faster that it can't keep up
Kitchen/Floor Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 21, 2018
This used to be one of the best Tex-Mex concepts, but since it been bought out by investment groups,the decline has been evident from the food quality, clientele, and service staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and competition
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAOctober 19, 2018
there was always something to do, no down time. The work wasn't worth the amount you got paid which was insane. They'd make you come in when you were snowed in even
Pros
free food during double shifts
Cons
pretty much everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HEAD WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDOctober 15, 2018
Busy every day. Typically made between 150-250 a day. Opportunity to advance based on work ethics. Long work days. The GM at this location is tough but extremely fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and caring workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 13, 2018
I love my job there. It has taught me lots and ive grown as a person there. They are great aboit pushing me to be more. Blah blah blah blah blahblah blah
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDOctober 12, 2018
There was a lot of teamwork and there are pretty good times, fun times with the coworkers and it’s a peaceful place to work! There was no gratuity included on the check, server tip out hosts, bussers and bartenders
Pros
Half price meal
Cons
Short break, healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you’re not a manager they don’t care
Server (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILSeptember 30, 2018
If you need a day off good luck, no one will pick up shifts. Some of the managers are genuinely good people but the rest are complete trash. Most of the employees are drunks and pot heads and will smoke in the back room of the restaurant. The hours were horrible and they never cut when they say they will. Overall horrible place to work. The tip out is also crazy ridiculous. You won’t make money unless you’re a head wait. Coworkers were also super shady, fake right in front of your face.
Pros
Discounted meals and good music
Cons
Management sucks, fake employees, can’t request time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers make it hard to leave
Server (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, VASeptember 27, 2018
I worked at UJ's for 3 years -- starting from the day it opened. Management went downhill when our original GM left for another store. The current GM does not know how to handle his anger issues and projects it onto his employees. He speaks to you in the most condescending manner and then argues with you like a child. There is no communication between managers and then the consequences just fall on you. If you stand up for yourself (in a respectful manner) the GM will hold it against you and have it out for you. The relationships I built with my coworkers made it hard to leave and the money was so good for the amount of shifts I specifically worked. If you need a day off, you will need to get on your knees and beg (throw money) at people to take your shifts. Very unfortunate people aren't willing to just help you out when needed. Specific managers don't care if you are dying, you better have someone covering your shift.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Hard to get shifts covered, management is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILSeptember 26, 2018
This location is terrible. Managers yell at you and demand things and always threaten to fire you. If they dont like you, they will definitely make sure you know and always give you bad sections and barely any tables. Also, you are not allowed to request any days off. You have to get any shift covered or bring a doctors note or they wont accept you back.(unless you're in the circle of coarse.) i thought high school was bad. This place is a lot worse. You will hate your life going to work.
Pros
Discount on food, Good music
Cons
Pretty much everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
hostess (Current Employee) –  Fort WorthSeptember 20, 2018
Uncle Julio’s is a great place to start at if it’s your first job. We all work as a team. It’s a place where you can feel comfortable and get around everything really quick. Management is very caring and helpful. It’s a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun place to work, very fast paced
Catering Server (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDSeptember 5, 2018
Fun to work there, everybody knows each other. You definitely have to be quick on your feet. Managers are nice and funny. Definitely need to buy kitchen shoes so you don't slip when walking too fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Presented as a great opportunity
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 30, 2018
There are many opportunities presented and they are definitely focused on rapid expansion. A major concern is that they don't completely follow their mission statement. The training is decent in some locations however it is not consistent across the board. They definitely show favor to those members who have a longer tenure despite claiming tha teverything is based on productivity and seniority/tenure is not officially acknowledged. There is initially an aggressive training program which even sends you out of state however, once that is complete the training and development is pretty stagnant.
Pros
Great tex-mex
Cons
Inconsistent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok till new manger came
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Ashburn, VAAugust 15, 2018
New manger didnt know how to talk to people. Always had things to say to people. I feel like if the old manger was still their i would still be working their
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 14, 2018
Not much to say. Great food, great team members for the most part. Most management hired from within understands culture. Work life balance needs work. I would have liked to see a more trusting environment.
Pros
Team members know their roles for the most part
Cons
Work life balance needs significant improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Host/Busser (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAAugust 13, 2018
Very busy especially in holidays, the management keeps workers busy but also enjoy friendly competition which motivates the workers to reach a goal everyday.
Pros
discount lunch
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Uncle Julio's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 181 reviews
545
446
342
220
128

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.4Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

1.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight