Union Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competetive place to work
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAMay 22, 2018
Great place to work! Room for growth and advancement. Great pay and great incentives. Management was very encouraging and helpful. I would recommend working here to anyone.
Pros
Great pay and regular raises
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and best management team
Senior Teller (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAMay 18, 2018
best team ever!!! I dont have a complaint its been one of the best companies I worked for, management is the best and they make the work flow perfect.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience working for the bank
Claims Operations- Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brea, CAMay 15, 2018
Learned a lot about reg-E and being in compliance with banking regulations.

Management didn't care for their workers.

Operated as a business that only cared about profit and production.

My department moved to Tempe, AZ. They asked me to join them, but with no incentive whatsoever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job, but hours were good
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 10, 2018
Working for Union Bank of California was a lot of fun and stressful all at the same time. Having to sell accounts and tying to make people open accounts was very stressful. I feel that if people wanted to get an account they would come in and ask to open the account.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More opportunity for growth
HR VP, OD and Learning Manager (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 9, 2018
Good company to work for if you have a passion for the banking industry. While the company is over 150 years old, there is still a lot of growing that needs to occur enterprise wide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2018
I wouldn't work here again. Leadership is not good. Culture is far from normal. No room for promotion due to expat rotation. Backward and reactionary thinking in the way business is done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work it out yourself
Operations Specialist, Customer Support (Current Employee) –  Monterey Park, CAMay 9, 2018
While other banks harp on the idea of collaboration, at UnionBank, a lot of the information is not shared until absolutely necessary. Many instances of "figure it out" and "ask so-and-so because they're they're the king/queen (of the product)."
Pros
cafeteria, new costco opening n may 2018
Cons
favortism, management and expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Processing Team Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZMay 8, 2018
I enjoyed my time and was sad to go. I felt they invested time in their employees. The company gave me growth opportunities. Management training. Wanted management involved in the changes that occurred.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Bank was once a great place to work. No longer.
VP Finance and Administration (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 7, 2018
As the Union Bank grew larger and integrated with the MUFG operations in New York, the job scope of most employees shrank as did the opportunities for people at Union Bank prior to the integration. Perhaps the most frustrating part of working at the bank is the failure of the management back east to understand and evaluate input coming out of the West Coast operation.
Pros
Money is acceptable
Cons
Unappreciated and unchallenged
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far the best
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT II (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAMay 3, 2018
I loved working for Union Bank because it was very satisfying and many opportunities. Very good company to work for and there are many department and lot to learn and so. Best benefits ever, employee appreciation is the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but overwhelming
Branch Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Yorba Linda, CAMay 1, 2018
UB is a great place to work great benefits and hours sometimes can get a little stressful meeting monthly and quarterly goals and very strict environment which is good and bad at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and comfortable work place
Processor (Former Employee) –  Monterey Park, CAApril 28, 2018
Working at MUFG was a good working experience. A typical day there was clocking in and getting into your "typing" zone. I learned how to use 10 key and at a fast pace. The management there was very kind and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place!!
AML AVP (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2018
Stay away from this bank. Poor management, poor work/life balance, no direction, no structure. They don't promote or support team building efforts....
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for in banking life
AML/BSA Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 25, 2018
You know what your tasks were on any typical day because of your specialty. The workplace culture was typical corporate environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was feeling a sense of accomplishment after a days work.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at Union Bank is an introductory job into banking
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAApril 25, 2018
Working at Union Bank is an introductory job into banking. It was just ok, I just flew under the radar until I found a path in banking I really wanted to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Branch Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Point Loma, CAApril 23, 2018
Union Bank is the best work environment especially for those who are growing in a work force. Union Bank is a great place to learn customer service tactics.
Pros
health care and paid time off
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than other banks
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAApril 23, 2018
Based on what it is like to work at other banks, Union Bank is a bit better. Like with most employers, it all depends on your manager. I have had both horrendous and absolutely amazing managers. Overall, it can be overly clique-ish and political and the benefits are not as good as they were. Also, there has been tremendous turn-over for the last four years do to so many departmental and budgetary changes.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Increasingly political and lots of turn-over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and competitve environment
MANAGER OPERATIONS (Former Employee) –  Khyber-PakhtunkhwaApril 23, 2018
One of the best banks of Pakistan. Unfortunately is no longer exists, it was acquired by Standard Chartered bank. It has best service ever. It set new standards of services in banking industry of Pakistan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. Relationship Banker
Sr. Relationship Banker (Former Employee) –  Santa Paula, CAApril 20, 2018
I believe the sales goals are set unfairly because they do not take the demographics into account when setting goals for bankers as the same all across the board no matter if you are in an affluent community or a low income community.
It truly makes no sense.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Stress and poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
AVP/BANKING CENTER MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 19, 2018
I just didn't see myself growing with them at the time. I wanted to go into the private bank but didn't have the opportunity to get licensed. when i wanted. I had my 6 & 63 but I needed my 7
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 849 reviews
5286
4269
3182
265
147

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

2.3Fairygodboss Score

14%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

29%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.