Union Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working experience
Senior Investigator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 16, 2018
I worked with people who had similar work experiences as me and I felt comfortable discussing problems and ideas with them. The workplace culture was fast paced which I enjoyed because I was thoroughly aware of the subject matter.
The most enjoyable part of the job was applying my skills and work experience to the job requirements.
Pros
Interest in the work.
Cons
Challenging deadlines but I was able to overcome tight timeframes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Sr. relationship Banker Supervisor (Former Employee) –  SUPERVISORJuly 14, 2018
Upper management does not know what to do changes a lot on how they want things done
Pros
Benefits, 401K
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Professional Employer with Clearly Stated Goals
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Monterey Park, CAJuly 13, 2018
This was a wonderful assignment. The department I worked for had amazing programmers who understood the goals of their projects and created processes that enabled achieving all identified goals.

The environment was quiet which allowed me to focus on my assignment.

I was treated with consideration and respect and the manager was always available if I had any questions.
Pros
Wonderful, cohesive & professional working environment
Cons
I can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work, kind of quiet but friendly people
Summer Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 12, 2018
It's a bit quiet in the office- many people work from home. Projects take time to take off but overall okay place to work. Culture is friendly and collaborative.
Pros
good pay
Cons
older employees, outdated technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
legal secretary
Senior Legal Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 12, 2018
Great place to work. Interesting work requiring candidate to wear several hats.

Managers very nice, work very interesting.

Downtown LA location. Duties included MCLE program, technology, Trusts and Estate work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant work environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  CAJuly 11, 2018
great culture
talent and development programs
diverse management
employee growth and development encouraged
good work/ life balance
several opportunities for promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of work life balance
BSA/AML INVESTIGATOR I (Former Employee) –  Brea, CAJuly 9, 2018
Our workload began to be based on volume rather than quality. It started to feel a little boiler room-ish in there and the stress felt did not match the pay received.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Officer, Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 8, 2018
Major migration of positions to offshore locations. Most back office positions are in process of getting relocated to Arizona. Decent to good pay with average benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the most unusual places I have worked.
Systems Analyst- Senior Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 5, 2018
What I loved were my customers, which were the workers and managers of the various banking departments, I knew my work, so I could usually turn the break into a fix in a reasonable amount of time to keep everyone happy. I worked as a Field Service IT Engineer so I would travel from location to location fixing teller systems and printers and computers and the branch server, which included working on the network, with the banks Network and the Network Operations Center plus communications provider to keep the bank up and operational during business hours.
Pros
I could leave early on the rare day the workload was light
Cons
Seat of the pants operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract employee with Marketing Operations
Senior Print Production Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 2, 2018
There is a sense of us versus them. There's a lack of cohesion and it seems like they are always trying to find someone to blame. It's not a team environment.

It's more of a reactive than proactive approach. By the time they can agree on how to move forward, it has to be delivered immediately and things are always rushed.

Not a healthy work environment and there's a lack of management overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
commute sucks
Wholesale Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 29, 2018
I like it but you only get less than a $1 raise year, even if you get a perfect review. Hours could be more flexible to help with the commute and family balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Monterey Park, CAJune 29, 2018
I enjoyed going to work each day. Union Bank was a great place to learn, grow and develop new job skills. Management has always been honest and clearly communicated long-term goals to strive to be a top ten bank. The hardest part of the job was accepting the decision to reorganize business units that directly resulted in the elimination of my job.
Pros
Compensation, advancement and training opportunities.
Cons
Reorganization of business units
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union
AML Investigator I (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 28, 2018
Union Bank is an amazing place to work. They care about their employees and understand work/life balance. They offer great benefits and training.

In addition, they offer many different positions and management cares for their employees
Pros
work life balance
Cons
SAR proceedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my favorite bank to work for
Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 28, 2018
With the further reduction of staffing in the branches, it was increasingly difficult to reach the goals and quotas that was required of a banker while still making sure that the branches were functioning properly. There was very little accommodation for this, which made things increasingly stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Group Think and Social Statement
Senior Portfolio Manager - Credit Strategies Group (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 26, 2018
Too many meetings, group think and reliance on consultants to blame. Hours tend to be flexible as long as your work gets done. Too many people looking to protect their turf instead of looking to move the company forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uboc
Systems Analyst III, AVP (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 25, 2018
Enjoy my job and coworkers, everyone is very outgoing. Team building and collaboration is very important with Union Bank. Enjoy working remote once a week to help with traffic to location.
Pros
Remote days
Cons
Traffic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place with Autonomy
Senior Oracle Apex Developer/Consultant (Current Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJune 22, 2018
great place to work and commute. managers give full responsibility to make independent decisions. Remote working options are available upon proving. amazing technology learning options.
Pros
Great commute, learning and stable environment
Cons
Open Office. Too many people Talk over phones. Many Conference rooms open for talks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun place to work
Special operation support (Former Employee) –  Monterey Park, CAJune 22, 2018
Excellent company to work for. Busy days, Great salary. Management was always fair. Excellent staff, The overall morale was great. We were always celebrating birthdays, promotions ect.. with a potluck.
Pros
Every day was different
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide support to SVP and Vice President of the Corporate Real Estate Division
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 19, 2018
- open mail, answer phones, process invoices, filing
- learned bank reconciliation for monthly building expenses
- worked well with management as well as the CRED team in SF
- the workplace culture was an enjoyable environment to work at
- any unexpected issues or concerns were always a challenge and I make an effort to find a reasonable solution
- all of the Corporate Real Estate Division was always very friendly and team player.
Pros
Great Medical Benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Servicing Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 18, 2018
Steady stable job, however management is very old school and they are basically allowed to do whatever they want. Often made to work mandatory overtime.
Pros
stability
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 887 reviews
5300
4276
3190
270
151

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

2.3Fairygodboss Score

14%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

29%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.