Union League Club of Chicago Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace with good benefits
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  65 Jackson Blvd Chicago ILNovember 29, 2017
Cleaned numerous rooms a day, and provided guest with clean environments during their stay at the hotel. The hardest part of the job was the physical aspect.
Pros
great work atmosphere with good pay and tips
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 8, 2017
This is a private club with elite clientele you have to be swift and accurate at all times. The front Desk role also requires you to be well put together and stern
Pros
Free lunch, location
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2017
The club has some really nice members, and the company culture is nice depending on what department you are working in. Some employees have been with the company for over 35 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
F & B Manager, 3 Outlets (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 2, 2017
Challenging, but instructive
Good management staff
Great employees
Fantastic membership
Gorgeous environment
Unbelievable benefits
Easily accessible from public transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sous Chef
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 9, 2017
ULCC presented a very challenging environment where employees were encourage to express creativity and improve their personal best. As a sous chef I prepared and sometimes assisted in planning the daily menu. All items were made from scratch in-house.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was very diverse
Bellman (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 15, 2016
Helping members with there coats and hats,I learned the history of private clubs in Chicago.The management was very patient my co workers were helpful.I enjoyed meeting so many city officials The hard part was remembering the names.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
No tipping
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Bellman - Part Time Nights (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 17, 2014
This was the place to be if you like seeing very Important people like Bill Clinton, Jim Belushi, Big Dignitaries, President Obama. This was where they would come and relax, swim, play ball, etc. over in the night. Good Tips Too.
Pros
Part time nights
Cons
Sometimes NO lunch taken
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unappreciated
Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 21, 2014
You are unappreciated, over worked and under paid. They think your live revolves around them. Not family friendly no time for family. Good benefits.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no set schedules sometimes you works over 7 days straight
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Money Safe Haven
Server (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 6, 2013
Walking into this job I thought I was good at serving from my ten years of experience. This job by far made me a better server. The servers working here know more about wine than I thought possible. They know more about food than the average chef. My skills were tested and I'm much better because of working here. However the members were not my favorite. They were rude and self entitled. I work in Hospitality to connect with people. I understand they are mostly judges and stock brokers and that it is just not the scene for me. I needed something that would let me flex my personality a little more. I gave the job a solid year because even though it wasn't my favorite vibe the money was good and I was learning a lot.
Pros
Benefits, Good Pay, Beautiful Artwork
Cons
Stuffy Atmosphere, Same Members everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 7, 2012
you start out by getting your assigned number of rooms. Go and gather some chemicals and linen and head to your floor. You seldom work with co-workers unless you are in need of something that you've run out of. The hardest part of the job was when the laundry didn't have the linen you need and you would have to back track to finish the rooms.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
sometimes the rooms were in such a mess you would take longer than usuall
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Union League Club of Chicago. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
53
43
33
21
11

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.1Culture

Union League Club of Chicago Reviews by Location