United Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 2,149 reviews matching the search See all 2,322 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Sr. Manager HR & Employee Relations (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 18, 2018
United is a very diverse company, we offer opportunities that are unmatched by many companies! United offers fabulous travel benefits to employees and their immediate families, if you want to work hard and see the world come join the team at United Airlines!
Pros
travel
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at united
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2018
I was in charge of the kitchen. I had to handle inventory by ordering supplies. Interact with customers and keeping up the professional image of United Airlines. I would also help out with vocational bids and corporate meetings.
Pros
salary and benefits
Cons
working over night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can never go home
Captain and 767/757 First Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 17, 2018
The job changed with the merger with Continental. There isn't a commonality of goals here just everyone out for themselves. As much as we are standardized, the individual bias makes it a very unrewarding place to work.
Pros
days off, travel benefits
Cons
Difficult hours, fatigue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment, exposure to new tools
PMO Project Coordinator/Jr. Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2018
very good experience, gained knowledge on new tools and airline domain experience, handled 3 projects overall and successfully delivered them on budget and timeline.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Airline Job
Lead person (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 16, 2018
It was a good experience with really good benefits. They were also really open to time frames you could work. I would recommend this job to anyone who can get in!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great flying benefits, 401k match, discount stock purchase
Coordinator, cargo office (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 16, 2018
the company is a great place to work for, the best is the flying benefits, it enable me to fly all over the world, experience different culture,food..
Pros
flying benefits, real good daytrade policy, liberal vacation policy
Cons
cold if working outdoors on the ramp during winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work at.
Administrator-Miscellaneous Billing (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 16, 2018
I enjoyed working there during the time that I was there. I learned a lot from on the job training . The company had to down size so there was no other location to transfer to. Knowing that layoff were going on to was hard to focus on a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIOctober 15, 2018
The pay was low and I drove over an hour away. Just didn't make sense. Great people. Very high seniority there. That says a lot. Most of the workers lived very close by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
evaluator (check pilot) (Former Employee) –  denver coOctober 14, 2018
nice place to work. great pay and benefits. i've worked for UAL for 29 years through good times and bad, including poor CEO's Looks like ual is on a good track now with good management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60606October 11, 2018
You get to see the World, and visit the places that you have dream of. The most of flight crew are very caring and understanding. The flexible working hours and location independence are the other benefits come with the job.
Pros
Flexible hours and location independent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 11, 2018
Usually assigned to approximate 5 to 6 flights at a gate on a normal day. Board flights in plenty of time to depart gate at least 5 minutes early if possible.

Often assisting other gates or the Customer Service Center if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work!
Facility Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  SFOOctober 11, 2018
Working for United Airlines was a great working experience overall. The company offer great benefits & pay. The only down side was poor management.Management seemed to always bee in conflict with the Union. The pay was ok once you had a good number of years in. Everything is based upon seniority which has its pros and cons.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive experience
UI Developer/Designer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2018
I Have learned new ackonowledge technologies running in United as of now i working as front end developer with that i got good experience on google analytics and ensighten there are reporting tools based on integration part so that is good work experience in united and i feel very proud to be explore things
Pros
No
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMOctober 10, 2018
Management seemed to always bee in conflict with the Union. The pay was ok once you had a good number of years in. Everything is based upon seniority which has its pros and cons.
Pros
trade hours and shifts
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous Work Environment
Senior Payroll Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 6, 2018
Productive and a fun workplace, I have grown with the company I have good support staff to work with. The management staff is supportive we given some type of recognition that is given on a monthly basis. The hardest part of my job is that it is a fast pace environment and some times you don't have enough time in a day to complete all of your daily task. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get to work with fabulous people that become like family after a period of time. I plan on retiring from United in the near future.
Pros
Great work enviroment
Cons
We do not have the opportunity to work any over time when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people
Representative-Employee Service Center (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2018
Enjoy the atmosphere and fun people to work with. The only con is the job security. In the last 2 years, I've seen people come and go. The job advancement is also limited to the people you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Infrastructure Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 4, 2018
Great place to work. Nice people, goal oriented. Nice office and logical and level headed office. Opportunity for gaining experience is great. Recommend.
Pros
Great benefits for employees.
Cons
Less opportunities for contractors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Air Traffic Systems Ramp Controller (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 3, 2018
United is a great place to work. Wonderful co-workers, great benefits, great pay, The most difficult part of working for a company that operates 24/7/365 is the work/life balance. Be prepared to work weekends/holidays/overnights.
Pros
Great pay/benefits
Cons
Difficult work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest airline in the world with over 200 destination worldwide.
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Newark NJ, Chicago, San FranciscoOctober 3, 2018
Excellent working environment, with great benefits and fun place to work. If you like working with people then this is the place for you.
Great opportunity for advancement especially recent college students.
Also opportunity for advancement.
Pros
free travelling privilege world wide
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ramp agent job
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 1, 2018
Overall The work place was good , the supervisors were really cool , management sucks . Manager always came to work smelling like alcohol Always stressing everyone out , the pay just sucks .
Cons
Pay is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,322 reviews
5951
4714
3448
2111
198

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight