United Airlines Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never the same
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 18, 2018
Your duties may be the same but the day to day operation is always different. Variety and constantly keeping up to date on flights, weather and passenger loads are important here. Teamwork is essential and having a positive and upbeat attitude helps. Bring along an extra helping of patience on those times when things are delayed or cancelled. Overall a great place to build a career.
Pros
Travel benefits, Good people to work with
Cons
Better communication from Coorporate Management would help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a once in a life time career and I thank God for given me this chance to live it. I never went to work for I enjoyed my career.
Captain (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 17, 2018
I would choose this path again if I had a chance to repeat my life no regrets!!!! I have highly recommended this life style to numerous people and informed them the benefits not just for themselves but most importantly they family.
Pros
rates a 10 plus on learning about one self and life.
Cons
In the beginning of your career you will be away from family for half of the month..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 16, 2018
There is an opportunity for growth but you must take the initiative to go after what you desire and continue to reach out to management. This is a great company to work for and there are more great things developing that will take place in the near future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company benefits
International Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 15, 2018
United Airlines provide good benefits right away when you start, medical, denta, vision, 401K, 12 days vacation days plus holiday pay.

For the employee and spouse as well.
Pros
free flights
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont train you properly, to make the meals for the plane.
Food Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 15, 2018
very understaffed, and you rearly leave on time. most of the managers cant help you, because they dont even know how to make whats on the menu for the planes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flight Attendant
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 15, 2018
I was a flight attendant, so I do not know about the rest of the company. In my opinion, based only on my interactions, I do not believe employees are very happy. Crew scheduling always seemed unhappy, many flight attendants were in bad moods, and the air port staff seemed grumpy. I did not feel the company valued their employees. Some of my coworkers loved working for them though!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and see the world
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 14, 2018
Great benefits, good company to work for, flexible lifestyle and lots of travel. You should not expect much money but what the job lacks in salary, it makes up in benefits and travel benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Station Services Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 14, 2018
I enjoyed this job. I did not want to leave this job. I enjoyed the benefits it gave me. I was able to travel for fun. I worked mostly by myself so there was no conflict with other workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in IT for an Airline can be challenging
Senior Manager Application Development (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO, Houston, TXJune 14, 2018
While the company is making progress in improving their IT infrastructure, their big focus is flights and crews.
There are a lot of fantastic people to work with in Houston and Chicago.
Pros
Flight benefits, workplace camaraderie
Cons
Frequent management and priority changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Sr. Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 14, 2018
I prefer not to say anything negative about this company and I have nothing positive to say. I'm willing to share this information confidentially, but not publicly.
Pros
minimally free airline tickets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 13, 2018
pretty good company to work for and there maybe room for advancement. There is parking and a shuttle service to terminal. Thorough training. People must pass a security clearance. Some people was disappointed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is one of the most interesting jobs to have.
Ramp Lead (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 11, 2018
Definitely one if the most interesting jobs to have . You learn the ins and outs about airplanes which make it more comfortable to fly. Once you know how to work the job you’re at. It’s repetitive But never boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun reliable company
Ramp Serviceman (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 10, 2018
the hardest part about the job is just to make sure you make it and on time. Anything outside of that, easiest job. Fun, great benefits all around. Awesome job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Prep associate (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 9, 2018
The work place was like any others except for the fun we have while working. Management was very supportive while teaching us about safety, food temperatures and all.. treated everyone with respect. The most enjoyable part of the job is when we achieve our goal which was to never have a late flight.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting adventure
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 8, 2018
working at United Airlines, I did payroll and scheduling for the Mechanics as well as special duty. Also completed expense reports and vacation bids and scheduling as well.
Pros
free travel
Cons
furloughed due to 9/11
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
preferable with Continental Airlines before merger
Cargo /Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee) –  GuamJune 8, 2018
preferable work environment and culture prior to continential / united merger/take over
company culture on guam very close and altogether good,

retired after 27 years due personal issues,
yet no recognition when i retired
witnessed numerous recognitions after retirement, disappointed in this fact

I was instrumental in Continental Micronesia DHL Joint Operations
yet no recognition of that either

I still consider the former Coworkers as Family , just slightly disappointed
Pros
great place to work becaust of the employeesr
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
united airlines
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 7, 2018
working in reservations was fun, having the ability to assist people with their travel plans. listening to people plan their family trips. seeing where people are traveling international places
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Continental Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2018
United provided an amazing opportunity to grow professionally. The skills I learned while working there have benefited me in my professional and personal life.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Work hours were not traditional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Ramp Agent/Baggage Handler (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 7, 2018
Decent job to work for a person with no college degree.
Can be very dangerous environment.
Good benefits.
Flexible hours
Management can stress you to get the job done under unsafe circumstances.
Pros
Flight Benefits, flexible hours, overtime hours available
Cons
under staff, sometimes rush to work in an unsafe enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the best career I could have ever been privileged to be a part of. I loved my job, the Company I worked for. It was the dream of a lifetime.
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 7, 2018
It was the best career I could have had as a mother and wife. Very flexible, good pay and incredible travel benefits that I was able to share with my immediate and extended family. I loved flying with all my heart and am really sorry I retired. There were also great chances for advancement.
Pros
ztrsbrl
Cons
It takes some adjustment on one’s body clock bcuz of early departures, late arrivals and long flights. It takes getting used to lack of sleep and poor eating habits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,091 reviews
5869
4641
3399
299
183

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.9

2.6Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight