United Fire Group Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 29 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
47
35
26
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 29 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, bad work load
Claims Representative (Current Employee) –  IAAugust 17, 2018
Love the old school culture this insurance company still provides. The atmosphere is great and Home Office employees are treated very well. If you are taking a field job, however, I'd think long and hard. Field adjusters get lots of claims (and they aren't easy claims either) and then they pile on claims from HO to balance the claims count--really an asinine work plan. Midwest region is a hot mess with current leadership, so I'd steer clear of there. HO jobs are the way to go at this company.
Pros
Great culture and benefits
Cons
difficult work, repetitive tasks, resistant to change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company for entry level
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJune 20, 2018
I was young when I started at United. Good opportunity for entry level positions with benefits. Great hours, no weekends, and paid time off for good attendance.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Indoor work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work (Webster Office)
Associate Underwriter Trainee (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXJune 7, 2018
The coworkers are very helpful and the team environment is great the managers are very helpful as well. The dashboard system was a little slow and annoying at times.
Pros
Leaving work happy
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like favoritism
Underwriting Associate (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COApril 20, 2018
I really liked working here until all the favoritism came to the surface. They push work on people and don't give them enough training. Some supervisors don't know enough of employees duties to provide any real help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place. Great People
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXFebruary 26, 2018
Company that cares about its employees. The people and community make a stressful job less stressful. A growing company so you get the benefits of a big and small work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly
Commercial Lines Underwriting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 5, 2018
Friendly company. Very customer focused and technologically advanced. Small teams within departments and good collaboration. Excellent underwriting management program
Pros
nice
Cons
cedar Rapids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Requirements
Inside Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 4, 2018
The job was very stressful with a heavy claims volume along with a claims operating system that was constantly breaking down or needed tweaking. This made claims handling very difficult. I felt overwhelmed with all of the claims coming in from 9 different states.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Heavy work load and lack of raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company
Multi-Line Commercial Field Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJanuary 22, 2018
You can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig. The benefits package is great because everything else is terrible. No training offered then they fire you because you don't know your job?? Terrible management. Only care about the almighty dollar than their employees. High turnover. Low pay. Work you 50+ hours a week with no credit. Worse company I have ever worked for.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management, miniscule raises, no training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many tasks/documentation to be completed per project.
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IADecember 21, 2017
To get a project accomplished, there are too many documents/tasks that need to be done.

The collaborative space is great for some groups, but for what I do, it is disruptive and the overall design of the desks make if difficult to concentrate on the more intricate tasks that need attention.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when I'm able to work from home.
Pros
Flexablilty to work from home.
Cons
Too many tasks/documentation to be completed. Too much noise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with even greater employees
Underwriting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 31, 2017
UFG is a great place to work with a lot of wonderful employees. It is a comfortable work environment and is warm and inviting to everyone. I really enjoyed working for UFG.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for established IT workers, hard on fresh out of college IT workers
Cobol Programmer (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJuly 21, 2017
Amazing benefits and extremely understanding, however unclear on how to get promoted and seems some have been there for 20+ years without a promotion.
Pros
Downtown, lots of benefits, great co-workers
Cons
Unclear about promotion requirements
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic management and group cooperation
Senior Loss Control Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 5, 2017
Cedar Rapids, IA based insurance carrier providing Property, General Liability, and Automobile Liability coverages to customers throughout Southern California, Nevada, and Arizona.

This is a company with great management support and group culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start working
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAMarch 7, 2017
I started working here at a very young age. It was a great entry level starting place for me to gain experience and responsibilities about being in the work place.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunately
Systems Programmer (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 20, 2017
The local people I worked with and the supervisors we dealt with in IOWA were excellent. But when they fire your immediate supervisor and then have your supervisor located in IOWA, miscommunications will happen.

If you live in Cedar Rapid Iowa they are an excellent company to work for but do not work in a satelite office and expect to be a valued asset.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place I ever worked
RATER ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Pennington, NJAugust 30, 2016
Computer system horrible. Management very micro managing.
Pay scale not very competitive. Typical day, very stressful!

Good benefits and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school insurance company
Claims Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 20, 2015
This company is a great insurance company that still stays true to its roots and customer service. It is growing rapidly. It will never have the highest compensation but it has a great culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good relationships with management, but work atmosphere could use some work.
Underwriting Intern (Current Employee) –  Rocklin, CAApril 30, 2015
The internship consisted of learning the software, but besides that there was very little learning about insurance and he company itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Postal Clerk (Current Employee) –  Coprorate OfficeMarch 18, 2015
UFG is a great place to work. One of the very few companies that still have a pension. They treat their employees wonderfully with more paid time off than I've ever had at any other company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. Great team environment.
Commercial Lines Associates Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Pennington, NJMarch 18, 2015
Very high pace. Great people to work with. Constant training. Wonderful hours for parents with children. Flexible work environment.
Pros
Location
Cons
Limited retirement Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for. Great benefits.
Customer Service Associate-Accounting (Former Employee) –  Lock Haven, PAJuly 31, 2014
I processed payments that were submitted by the agent. I also applied payments that were submitted by EFT and by mail.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Fire Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight