UNITED GROCERY OUTLET Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little pay
Manager (Current Employee) –  Clinton, TNApril 15, 2019
As a manager there for nearly a year and I get paid 50 cents less than a male coworker who came in way after me. For my position as a manager I get paid less than what I could make working as a first time fast food worker. The work is usually easy going but it gets stressful fast with the trucks come in and bring double what you expect and it builds up in the backroom uncontrollably with little employees to help work it.
Pros
Wonderful coworkers
Cons
Too long breaks that bring your 8 hours to 7.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job very helpful and flexible schedule
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winchester, TNMarch 13, 2019
They are a very great company would recommend it great people great place would be a very good first job for anyone and their managers are very easy to work with
Pros
Helpful environment
Cons
Small pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Night shift manager/Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Athens, TNMarch 5, 2019
the pay could have been better, but it was a low stress job that was very accommodating with my school schedule. If it payed more I would have never left
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small company. pays peanuts
Produce Manager, United Grocery (Former Employee) –  Ringgold, GAFebruary 21, 2019
looking for full time quality employees with part time pay and hours. old dirty stores. everything is broken. unreal expectations. selling old out of date product. old moldy produce and old meat.
Pros
not really any
Cons
they are desperate for anyone they can hire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from UNITED GROCERY OUTLET
February 25, 2019

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working with us. As the largest closeout grocery store in the South East, we strive every day to abide by our mission to SERVE our customers, our employees, and our suppliers. While we may sometimes sell close dated grocery product, our produce and meat are always fresh. We wish you had brought these concerns to our attention while you were still employed with us, however we'd still be glad to hear your concerns. Feel free to reach out at our corporate location #. All information can be found at www.myugo.com

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor middle management
Reach Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Athens, TNJanuary 11, 2019
It's very sad the way this distribution center is run. This company has so much potential to be great. Unfortunately it will never be. The shift leads are a joke. They are clueless as to what transpires in the distribution center due to the fact they sit in the office and play on they're phones. Especially on 2nd shift. One of the leads is so unqualified for the position it's funny. The warehouse director has great intentions, but does not have a reliable team around him that he can depend on to accomplish even the smallest of tasks.
Pros
45 min lunch
Cons
Total lack of qualified shift leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A face-paced work environment with lots to memorize.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJanuary 6, 2019
Checking customers out and cleaning cash registers. I learned their registers, to stock some and to handle angry/rude customers. Management was alright, as people they are fine but as management they could do much better. The hardest part of the job is when the store fills up with customers and they're are not enough cash registers/cashiers to keep the store from filling up. The easiest is when there are no customers and they're is nothing much to do.
Pros
45 min lunch
Cons
No breaks, small store with to many customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Meat Manager (Former Employee) –  Alcoa, TNJanuary 6, 2019
UGO is a great place to be employed. The people you work with are a great group. The management want all their employees to succeed and grow with the company . I would say Id do it all over again
Pros
growth in the company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supermarket
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXNovember 26, 2018
United supermarket was a very relaxed job. The cashiers and sackers all got a long acceptionally well, and the service desk manager is always very knowledgeable and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management lacking
Produce Department Manager (Former Employee) –  McMinnville, TNOctober 23, 2018
The job was ok but the manager had little to no experience with employees and had no people skills which are required for the position. I think they should have prepared/trained their managers better to avoid the situations that ultimately arose from lack of training and being thrown into a position they were totally unprepared for. Perhaps with proper training they would not have lost half their staff to other companies as opposed to keeping a good team together to have the store run smoothly,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked job but pay not good
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Madisonville, TN 37354October 16, 2018
would not make me full time did not want to pay benefits so kept me just under amount of hours sometimes worked me over the hours but no benefits. the employees and supervisors were very nice and friendly. The pay did not equal the job was under minimum wage. . The training process was very limited learned most on my own. The turn over was very high. I really liked working there but was very unorganized and unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did most of store managers duties
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hazard, KYOctober 8, 2018
My typical day was performing accounting duties and leading a successful sales team, always helping customers with finding items or any issues they hane
Pros
great bnefits
Cons
unsafe work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with amazing people
3rd Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Crossville, TNSeptember 12, 2018
I would recommend this place to anyone needing a job. Working here was very easy and fun. The staff were friendly and you were allowed time off if you needed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lacks management
Produce Manager (Current Employee) –  McMinnville, TNAugust 23, 2018
poor place to work, lack of management, management walking around doing nothing, management being rude to customers and employees. no appreciation for going above and beyond your role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic
Stock Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Norton, VAAugust 22, 2018
No structure or organization at all. Low pay. Typical day was very chaotic as we quickly became understaffed when almost all our cashiers quit. Manager wouldn't hire any new people, and I was lucky to get more than 5 hours a week despite not having enough cashiers. The worst part is that I had been there since before the store opened, while the newer people would still get 20-30 hours a week. Got along really well with everyone except the main manager, who would often act like I didn't even exist. On the bright side, you get an hour for lunch and everyone else besides the manager was really nice. I also learned a lot about stocking and running a register as it was my first job.
Pros
Hour lunch, nice employees
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job. great employees
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJuly 14, 2018
when i first stared working there. we had no General manager but the management was good. the hardest part was being understaffed during a rush. a normal day felt easy going
Pros
nice staff
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  Athens, TNJuly 10, 2018
Good place with very good boss new Truck decent pay with good ttime off if needed. Easy to talk with if any problems ever arose. Friendly people and honest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Assistant Manager Retail (Former Employee) –  Murphy, NCJuly 2, 2018
The turn over rate is high and its hard to get the required job done. I performed opening and closing duties and I had an isle that I was in charge of ordering stocking and straightening.
Pros
Enjoyed the work i did
Cons
Turn over rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Murphy, NCJune 23, 2018
I had plenty of fun at UGO and I got treated like family. We had lunches in the break rooms and plenty of business to keep you busy. I would only work there again if I had no need for money the pay is minimal and the don’t like raises.
Pros
Family like associate
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Stock management (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNJune 20, 2018
Fast paced working environment which you can meet new people every day. A very busy place that will always keep you moving and having something to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
3rd Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Athens, TNJune 18, 2018
the Athens location is one of the better stores
lack of communication and organization is the biggest problem there and absolutly no pay raises
but the staff is freindly and helpful for the most part
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UNITED GROCERY OUTLET. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 61 reviews
516
415
311
210
19

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.0Culture