United Nations Employee Reviews

Found 275 reviews matching the search See all 492 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging diversified environment
Law Enforcement Officer/SECURITY (Former Employee) –  Darful-SudanJuly 4, 2018
Working in Darful was wonderful because various nationality were working together to achieve a common goal of lasting peace solutions. I learned skills of professionalism and unity. The structures were well set which facilitated easy professional management. The job specifications and roles allowed professionalism as well as transparency and accountability. The work place culture allowed tolerance of diversity and dynamism of various national interests. The hardest part was when other stakeholders never showed commitment towards the resolutions. The most enjoyable part was when I completed the mission.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Slowness
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best development organisation in the world.
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York StateJune 30, 2018
A great learning opportunity to work with international leaders and to study the policy-making procedures in an international organization. Exposure and value of the internship programme is excellent for any graduate student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mock UN conference for High schoolers
Volunteer and Leadership (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 30, 2018
Opportunity to study a countries policies and trials/ challenges. Good way to make new acquaintances and work in a group to come to agreement on solutions to world problems.
Pros
challenging and intellectually stimulating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work
Regional Communications and Marketing Advisor (Former Employee) –  Provincia de PanamáJune 26, 2018
Mission driven, interesting and meaningful work, partnering with finest organizations, learning international diplomacy, exposure to international policy making and negotiations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
MANAGER OF DISTRIBUTION (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 20, 2018
Great place to work high pace. - Develop and implement new logistics processes while monitoring progress of major shipments to ensure receipt.
Review and approve purchase orders ensuring inventory and stock maintains optimal levels.
Collaborate with marketing executives to ensure that new products reach the right markets at the ideal time.
Determine what goods sell best to commercial businesses and consumers.Foster strong relationships through communication of clients’ needs and production demands and distributions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity, travel... bleak management
17 years at the UN (Former Employee) –  Geneva, New York, Valencis (ES)June 15, 2018
People are either one of the rising stars or among the resigned. It seems that unless you catch the eye of a decision-maker, you languish; further, that sometimes (not always), the rising stars don't deserve the recognition. Still, I've made friends with many different people in several parts of the world and lived medium-term in a few of them. No regrets!
Pros
New people, new places
Cons
Bureaucracy is real
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fantastic
Multimedia Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2018
Worked and collaborated extensively on intricate projects and wrote and produced stories that served the humanitarian and peacekeeping efforts at the UN.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where Dreams Go to Die
Staff Assistant, United Nations (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2018
People walk into the UN all bright eyed and bushy tailed but leave demoralized and confused. This place is slow, old, and is like trying to sharpen a knife with a sponge. Words cannot do justice to the frustration and lack of motivation you'll have working here.

You don't make a difference here because you cannot change anything. All the policies and rules are written but out of touch managers from over 30-40 years ago, and to change them you need to wait once a year for the General Assembly to possibly OK it, but that never happens without the GA putting their mark on it even though they have no knowledge or expertise on the subject.

You've never encountered more inept and inefficient people in your life.

Don't work here. Trust me. If it wasn't for the pay and the benefits only 10 people would probably be working for the UN.
Pros
Salary, Benefits, Time Off
Cons
Bureaucratic Nightmare, Inefficient Staff, Cast System
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place!
Counsellor (Former Employee) –  New YorkJune 6, 2018
The organization is designed so that the growth of the personnel is continuous and the possibilities of development are contemplated. I love working at UN, because my contract allows me to have full availability for professional development in other jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional internship
Non-Profit Management Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 24, 2018
The United Nations opens its doors to graduate student interns from across the globe. It is an excellent introduction to the various jobs available in the international development field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My internship Experience at the United Nations
Information Systems Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 24, 2018
My experience working with the UN was amazing as there were various aspects like professionalism, global exposure, relevance to my academics, complex challenges, etc. which contributed to improving my personality both technically and individually. It was a delightful experience which justified, why the organization is called UNITED nations, as people from different countries embrace each other’s nationalities & differences, and work together with a prime goal to maintain peace worldwide.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, challenging and stressful.
Receiving and Inspection Assistant (Former Employee) –  SudanMay 22, 2018
Working with multinationals in multi-cultural environment. Alert 24/7 to face any unforeseen situation. Should stay fit to work in all kind of weather include dessert and dry land. Should able to manage with stressful situation and ready to carry multiple task. However working in United Nations will prepare to accept and compete for any type of physical and mental work.
Pros
7 days R&R paid off.
Cons
Hazards place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 15, 2018
a very fast paced work flow but it was a great experience
i learned almost everything in the UN
great management work place
the most enjoyable part was learning more about politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Senior administrative officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2018
Good work experience and employer, challenging work environment, interesting. Good management, overall high appreciation for the work done. I highly recommend it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Program management intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 2, 2018
lots to learn about. different events constantly going on. A good place to be as there are many career options for one to branch off in. Just have to know the branches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique opportunity
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 21, 2018
I enjoyed my time at the UN. It was truly a unique experience, where I got to learn new things and meet new people. I had the opportunity to work on fun projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insightful internship tenure
Public Information Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 17, 2018
United Nations is a great place for an insight into policy and international relations. As a workplace, it might be relatively slow because of bureaucratic red tapping. But, in my opinion an organization this big might face those difficulties anyways. I had the opportunity to work with a highly motivated team and it was an extremely insightful internship for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to work with people from many cultures
Technical Writer / Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 15, 2018
The United Nations provided the opportunity to work with people from a wide variety of cultures which made for easy learning opportunities. I met people from India, China, Mexico, Russia, the Philippines, Romania, Croatia, etc.
Pros
Lots of nice people
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
DEMO. REP. CONGO (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2018
-Working in United Nations Systems, requires a dynamism, a flexibility and kindness. It en environmental were peoples are so connected and more for it
Pros
Free Breakfast
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
custermers was okay, employers was not good
Elevator Operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2018
very hostital environment. I wasn't treated well. Not enough break time. Everyone wants to be your boss. lack of communication. Schedules are not set up right . I you are on call , you have to be there in one hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Nations. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 492 reviews
5303
4127
346
29
17

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

75%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss