United Protective Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Security Guard Officer (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 24, 2018
Bro this company will move you for the slightest mistakes. So if you aren't focused on the post at all times you are subject to get moved to a diffrent post or termination.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here you will be sorry
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fairview, TXOctober 13, 2018
I worked for United protection for 12 months from hiring people that don’t know their jobs to mgt that just warms a chair for hours and you don’t see them for 3 or 4 days
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 10, 2018
If your looking to get a job with a criminal background this is your place. They will hire anybody with a pulse. Poor management, they never call you back if you have a question about anything, don't care if you have a family problem and need to time off. Make you pay $30.00 per pay period and it never ends. If you need another item to wear because it will wear out, you can take it in and get a slight worm one instead, NOT NEW. that's what you're paying for. Paydays were late and always wrong, you would have a to fill out a form and wait until maybe 4 weeks before you got your pay. The Dallas Office is a joke and the management doesn't care about the employees but is only worried about getting new clients that will never be happy with the service.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security officer
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXAugust 15, 2018
I was full time security detail which involved wearing very hot uniforms and long hours. I did however enjoy the atmosphere and it was an amazing learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay should be more
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2018
If you work less than 40 hours you loose your insurance
No vacation
They charge 120 each month for uniforms because they rent them to employees
This is not fair
No advancement at all
No vacation
If you do not work to hours each week for a year you do not get a 40 hour pay bonus each year
I worked 44 hours each week
Now 36 hours each week
Pros
Post are very nice
Cons
Do not pay enpug6
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career advancement and low pay
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2018
Not a very good company to work for. They do not care about employees and will fire or write you up for the smallest discrepancy. Pay rate is terrible and there is no room to advance. They are corporate brown nosers who do not care about their employees and risk your job security to please their clients. Find opportunities elsewhere. They also take money out of your check for uniform rental. It is ridiculous.
Pros
None
Cons
Toxic work environment, no room to advance, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job
Security Officer/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 5, 2018
It was a great job to work at the boss and the site supervisors was great I was that I could have stay a little bite long to grow more with the compny
Pros
Ok
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Private Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXJuly 27, 2018
This job is great for a starting job. The pay is good and depending where you work it could be good. The only thing about this job is the pay rate never changes. you don't get raises every year but you do get a week pay at the end of the year that gets added to your check.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Security Guard (Unarmed) (Former Employee) –  Fort Morgan, COJuly 26, 2018
I learned all kinds of thing that at a normal job you wouldn't learn. The management could be improved by alot.the hardest part of the job is the irregularity the most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the truck drivers.
Pros
Experance
Cons
Horribel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst security company in the world!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 18, 2018
40.00 every check for a uniform!
Turnover rate is super high, had 3 different supervisors within 3 months!
Rude management and they dont support you they support the clients and they will believe a lie even when you have the evidence that provides the truth.
Your best bet is to work 3rd shift no one bothers you so you can work and go home with peace!
Pros
The money is good
Cons
Everything else about the company is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport

Want to know more about United Protective Services?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a relaxing job just a little far
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 11, 2018
The job started off as a great job and i was really comfortable with the pay rate but then after while management start treating you as if they dont care about them employees
Pros
Relaxing post
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional company
Security Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TX 77079April 27, 2018
Contracts a lot of high and mid rise buildings, leading the Houston industry. Very professional company, reliable personal and growing very fast with more new contracts.
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
no direct deposit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They always make payroll
Branch Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 23, 2018
Its a family owned business that has expanded into a relatively large small business and has many process challenges. Sales cycle is generally short. Employee turnover is high. Overall satisfaction of employees is low to average. Not much room for advancement or change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kids Job
Front Desk Concierge / Patrol Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2018
This job would be great for someone right out of High School or while going through college. You get enough to survive off of if you already have a place to live and don't have a lot of bills. Not so much for someone that is trying to support a family because of the cost of living. The pay is low and you don't get paid vacations because their idea of a paid vacation is to give your anniversary check and that is it. Also they don't give you paid time off when you ask for a day off. If you want a pay raise they could send you off to a different location or use you as a bargaining chip to raise the contract prices.
Pros
Great work for a single person
Cons
No Pay raises, No Time Off, No Paid Vacations, Can't support your family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Crew
Field Training Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 12, 2018
Nothing but good things to say really about the company. The job was nice, the people were great. This was a temporary job for me so I was only there for a year, but it flew by as a field training officer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a real joke!
FTO (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 4, 2018
They do not do a background check on their employees and they call them security officers. Apply if you enjoy working with convicted felons or not to worry if you are one as well.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok at first
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 30, 2018
This was a great company to work for at first. You have different posts you get put at since they do contract security so different posts have different pay and managers. I didn't have an issue until I had to file a complaint on my post manager and then was pretty much told to either suck it up or quit because if I wanted to move forward with the complaint I would loose my job anyways.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 29, 2018
I wasn't long enough with the company due to school. I didn't. have issues with them. I would recommend anyone to work with them since they offer benefits like health insurance including dental.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 26, 2018
Clock in by calling dispatch and sign my name and time on a time sheet. Head out to patrol premises on golf cart or on foot. Management was poor and ineffective changing the rules unexpectedly and work long hours. I got along well with coworkers and worked together to solve problems. Hardest part was long working hours, low pay and poor management. I enjoyed working with coworkers solving problems on the site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love The Company
Security Officer, Fto (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXMarch 22, 2018
UPS is a great company to work for. They value There employees, If you work hard and put in extra hours and prove your willing to work you will advance quick in the company.
Pros
Relaxed easy chill posts
Cons
Insurance sucks, No Paid sick time and only 1 week vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Protective Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 101 reviews
519
424
320
216
122

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

United Protective Services Reviews by Location