United Rentals, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate atmosphere
sales representative (Former Employee) –  IdahoMay 16, 2018
You're just a number in this company and there is no real connection from the working class to upper management. Big company culture and large company mindset with putting gear out cheap and killing local equipment markets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Branch Manager IV (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 8, 2018
Fast paced and challenging, large corporate structure. Annual bonus can be good at times. Great systems and IT development and awesome focus on employees and growth of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Temple Terrace, FLMay 8, 2018
Fantastic management that looks out for your best interest. Fast growing company that rewards and advances those that work hard and continue to develop themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Service Technician III (Current Employee) –  97F Manassas, Va.May 8, 2018
Started out with Neff Rentals, which wasn't a bad company to work for. We were bought by United Rentals and that's when things went down hill. No more profit sharing, lousy raises, cut hours and vacation, etc. The worst part is them blaming you for things you were told to do. Modifying and staging equipment according to contract and then getting blamed for doing the wrong thing even after showing them a picture of the contract.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working weekends sucked, no way out
Counter Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMay 7, 2018
this manager was a complete jerk he favored employees, he was not fair, he didi not recognize the value in people who knew what they were doing, safety was never a priority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  norco laMay 2, 2018
it is challenging but over all a good place to work. just the hours are not there and the pay is not there and driving out of my way and not getting comensaded for it as for as travel time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Equipment Associate/Welder (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 29, 2018
I left and regret it. I didn't realize how good I had it until I left. The work made the day go by quickly. I always felt like the company provided well, for the most part.
Pros
Company paid meals and gatherings often
Cons
Didn't always have help when I needed it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 24, 2018
Very fast paced work environment and would even go back to work for them! They are a great company with job security great people great management overall a great place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rushed,
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VAApril 19, 2018
Not given enough time to load and check load before being rushed off the property. Always being timed to load and unload, therefore creating possibility of accidents. Not given time for Lunch, or Bathroom breaks. Branch Manager very rude and condesending.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many internal problems but great pay!
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  OklahomaApril 18, 2018
UR has its positives and negatives.Positives-some great people to work with. Making customers happy and putting their trust in you. I learned how to negotiate contracts, build relationships and overcome rejections. It took me out of my comfort zone. Coming to UR was the best career decision because it prepped me for my next adventure. Negatives, the integrity and value is not really there. No sales support especially from the District Manager. He is the opposite of what he represents. We have had 5 great reps quit in less than a month due to internal issues.
Pros
Benefits and compensations
Cons
No Sales Support from manager and District Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical big business in 2018
Senior Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  New York StateApril 15, 2018
This company knows how to please their shareholders but is often putting the cart before the horse when they roll out new strategies and policies. They claim the world to the average internet page browser but many items are not readily available in certain locations and it causes logistical nightmares for employees as well as pricing bumps to the customer. I don't feel they have enough help either at our location. More and more pile on without adding staff.
Pros
Pretty decent compensation for the area.
Cons
Not enough support, extreme fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maybe the best company i have worked for
Power/HVAC Tech IV (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAApril 11, 2018
Great company. They have quickly became the largest rental company in the world. They buy rental equipment from good suppliers, so they are renting out good equipment. Good pay and a lot of overtime.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Difficult to find time for training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's nothing proprietary about UR
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  MichiganApril 11, 2018
UR is the MOST expensive vendor on the market, but they rent/sell the SAME equipment as their competitors.

Plan on being in a truck for 4-7 hours per day, driving to offices and jobsites. there's a ton of computer work expected from the sales position, including writing up quotes and putting in orders, and logging calls and jobsite visits into a sales database.Sales Reps are often towing light towers and compressors to jobsites as well.

There's a lack of respect among employees (truck drivers,shop crew, sales reps, and other branches). The monthly safety meetings are very uninspiring and lack professionalism.

The money is fair, but there's nothing fun or pride fulfilling about working here.
Pros
Commissions on used equipment sales and you rarely have to be at branch
Cons
Uninspiring, lack of direction, not a fun place to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
SERVICE TECHNICIAN II (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 3, 2018
most likely the best pay in the business, especially in Miami, FL. Management is a little off the mark when implementing change. decent place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Rentals
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, PAApril 2, 2018
It was a good place to work. It was fast paced and stressful at times. I could have received some better training. That was an impact in my release from the company I feel.
Pros
Fun People
Cons
Lacked training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rental Company
Internal Auditor (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCApril 2, 2018
United Rentals is one of the nation's largest rental companies.

Individual stores operate as profit centers which can lead to demanding General Managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving semi-truck with low-boy trailer.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Pico Rivera, CAMarch 27, 2018
Pick up and delivery of rental equipment.

The job included interaction with customers. The organization of paperwork and daily safety checks of truck and equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard company to work for.
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, WIMarch 24, 2018
Very hard company to work for .Low a steam when working for them because they were going in all different directions.But very high tech company for the times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, lack of growth, no pay advancement,
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMarch 23, 2018
You can bend over backwards for this company and their is no reward for it, company puts an insane amount of responsibility on its employees yet doesn't provide a pay scale that sufficient for the load or responsibilities. Constant change in rules and regulations. Safety is only a priority when someone is hurt and then they wanna point fingers at who was hurt. Really just poor management from the top down. In their eyes "everyone is replaceable"
Pros
Benefits, job security, locations
Cons
Low pay, no growth, day to day rule changes, micro managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practically a brand new shop
Service Technician IV (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, NDMarch 23, 2018
The shop was just built about a year before I started so we were still trying to get the proper equipment needed in the shop. The yard was sometimes not big enough for all the equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Rentals, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 565 reviews
5168
4193
3123
234
147

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.1

2.9Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight