United States Postal Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GANovember 17, 2017
I liked my job and what i did and somd of the people i worked with. It can be stressful at times but what job isn't. Christmas is the busiest time of the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flat screen TV'S in the lunch room. Building kept clean.
Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Bellmawr, NJNovember 17, 2017
A day at work was always a good time. work place was ok not the best place. managrment was ok. Only seen or heard from them was when they needed me ask me to do what they wanted done aside of my regular duties that I had to do. their really wasn;t a hard part of my Job. Working together with my coworkers in the plant.
Pros
good benifits, good pay, paid uniforms. Retirement plans.
Cons
Working with people who had no clue of what they were doing. Managers included as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced at first until you get to know your assignments
Career Letter Carrier (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 16, 2017
very fast paced place want you back on time no matter the situation. at some stations heavy work schedules around the holiday seasons. When you begin don't expect to have to much family time because when you first get started they will work you like a dog for the first couple of years. but that was in New York City other places may be different.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changlinging workplace
Lead Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 16, 2017
Lack of upper management support at my level to be successful on a daily basis to transport mail from stations for processing and delivery to the customer service units for customer deliveries
Pros
Great bennifits
Cons
lack of upper management support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair to good
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 16, 2017
Very fast paced, lots of mail to deliver to customers, customers were very pleasant to work for, worked a lot of over time during Holidays when I was finished with my route I would ask to help other carriers deliver their mail. The hardest part of the job was finishing work load with in 8 hours. the most enjoyable part was making sure customers were satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for family oriented people.
Mail Handler Assistant (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 16, 2017
The job security was great however the culture of the postal service isn't the same from years prior. Many of my family has and still work there but in the end it was not for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potal Carrier
Postal Carrier (Current Employee) –  Socorro, TXNovember 16, 2017
Not a bad job if you like being by yourself most of the day. Very relaxed and easy to get into a routine, unless it is during the Holiday times, then it isn't very relaxing. Decent pay, decent people that work there, but you wont see much of them except during the morning pick up.
Pros
Pay, Indepenace
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Rural Carrier Associate (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILNovember 16, 2017
You have to take a lot each and every day, but if you are a "heads down" type of worker, this is for you. You are told exactly what needs to be done -- no decisions.
Pros
steady job
Cons
outdoor elements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to love this job
Acted supervisor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89119November 15, 2017
This is a great career job for someone young and in shape. It is a very physical job and you will work long hours. Management is not good in the post office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Mail Carrier and Window Clerk - Full Time (Former Employee) –  New Hampton, IANovember 15, 2017
No comments, this is not necessary for working here so long ago. I do not like this requirement on this system. This is not necessary it should be voluntary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is real good, poor management,
Mail Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 15, 2017
No good leadership, not accountable for your actions, no praise or appreciation for hard work. No respect. No equality, favoritism, nepotism. No team work. Only thing good about the job is the pay and benefits. No advancement for good work. Supervisor never said thank you for your hard work.
Pros
Money$$ gainfully employed high security
Cons
Every thing.. Horrible management, no respect or appreciation.does not get recognized for your hard efforts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Mail Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Augusta, GANovember 15, 2017
very poor working conditions, not enough information to do your job, no job training, working as a military company, bad supervisor and employee comunacation, not struture
Pros
the pay
Cons
unhealthy work area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, terrible management, fast paced job
Regular Letter Carrier (Current Employee) –  IllinoisNovember 15, 2017
Working for the post office is stressful at times but a lot of great people (customers/coworkers), easy enough once learned, and out on your own most of the time.
Pros
Good people, on your own, decent benefits/salary
Cons
Management, physical, time oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Title
City Carrier Assistant (Current Employee) –  New JerseyNovember 15, 2017
Job is great but everything is based on seniority, not performance, so you literally just wait for people to leave or die before you're promoted. I am the type of person who works hard to follow an advancement path and the post office does not provide such a path.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Rural Mail Carrier (Former Employee) –  Chino Valley, AZNovember 15, 2017
Fun work place besides the fact i was let go right before christmas after i made a tip from the people for always delivering their mail for them i was told from a former workee the lady who hired me let me go for that reason and told her since there close.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not worth it
City Carrier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Point Pleasant Beach, NJNovember 15, 2017
There are no longer career positions offered at the post office unless someone retired and you're next on the list to move up So 40hrs are not guaranteed to you one week you may work 40hrs the next you may only get 20hrs
Pros
A lot of excercize
Cons
Hrs aren't guaranteed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energentic
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLNovember 15, 2017
Motivated fast pace

Get to sort the product

Good nice

Friendly and nice and new friends

Pushing the crates

Getting to as a team work

Have a good day
Pros
Watch tv
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working envirnment.
Rural Carrier Associate (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 15, 2017
A day in the post office varies from day to day with the amount of mail and packages. Learning different routes and ways to prepare and deliver mail. The management has always been helpful and very understanding. The hardest part of being a mail man would be the different weather conditions. I enjoy meeting and interacting with different people on a daily bases.
Pros
meeting and interacting with different people
Cons
bad weather conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady fun, fast
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Capitol Heights, MDNovember 15, 2017
fast pace, fun, steady, hard to light work, patience, dealing with lazy-workers became stressful, rewarding at times, customer service at its finest, overall worth the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and hard work
mail carrier (Former Employee) –  Fuquay-Varina, NCNovember 15, 2017
fine for someone young and strong. must be able to handle pressure. lift heavy parcels. be self-motivated. be available at all times, including Sunday. extra long hours around holidays.
Pros
Meet good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Postal Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 12,619 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4