United Technologies Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Plant Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  East Hartford, CTMay 20, 2018
Good Job. Long hours. Good pay. Great people. Customer assistance driven. Provide assistance as needed respond to alarms and ensure plant safety. Conduct safety patrols.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short interview and to the point
Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Arden Hills, MNMay 19, 2018
A division of United Technologies that was in the process of closing it's doors, and they needed help finishing up their projects committed to their manufacturing operations in Mexico
Pros
well supplied tooling
Cons
short term employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience but hard to advance
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTMay 17, 2018
Complex environment provides a great opportunity to grow skills. However, limited opportunities to advance within company, preference for outside hires (tax group).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, Benefits leave some to be desired
Machine Repair Technician (Current Employee) –  Tipp City, OHMay 16, 2018
Open communication, diversity, good wages, flex time, good vacation accrual, support from leadership good, Labor Union for factory positions, employee activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for people with blind ambition.
Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNMay 9, 2018
Great place for people with blind ambition. Really sickening place to work cause of the a&% kissers. Not looking forward to ever going to work there.
Pros
Many great people
Cons
corporate culture is bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not applicable
Project Manager/Integrated Product Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILMay 8, 2018
Not applicable. Culture isn't the best but can be overcome. Needs work to make it a better place to work. Hopefully things improve with the new leadership.
Pros
Non
Cons
Plenty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay and Easy Work.
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INMay 7, 2018
It was a easy work and good pay. I did not have circuit board assembly skills before working here. The company is moving to Mexico later in 2018. Were some stressfull shifts here and there but was an Okay place.
Pros
Paid breaks, Health and Dental
Cons
Moving to Mexico
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great global company
Value Stream Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTMay 7, 2018
company with multiple resources and benefits that allow a lot of professional growth within this company in both the commercial and aerospace industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management & no room for career growth
Legal (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 7, 2018
Management is weak and retaliatory. Your opinion is never valued, and there is no room for career growth. The only way to advance from your position is to leave the company.
Pros
Flex time to work from home
Cons
Poor management, no annual bonuses, capped 3% raises, and terrible benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
IT Consultant/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Newington, CTMay 5, 2018
Great culture and availability to allow their people to advance! Worked in the IT Data Center managing IT programs and projects! The management and teams are always helpful to assist with questions and recommendations to assist with projects!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an amazing company
Engineer Intern - Operations Leadership Program (Former Employee) –  Lincolnton, NCMay 3, 2018
I loved working for UTCF&S (I don't know what they are now). I was upset that after college I didn't get into the extremely selective Management training program and didn't want to take a plant based production job. They had an amazing management team and I have absolutely nothing but glowing reviews for all the people that I worked with there. From the production floor up to management.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Extremely competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of work
Quality Manager/ACE Manager (Former Employee) –  Bamberg, SCMay 2, 2018
Good pace to the work. The Bamberg plant was not aerospace related but was required to meet AS requirements. Management gave me latitude to do my job. Training available for your area and ACE.
Pros
Good people on shop floor and management
Cons
Located in small rural SC town.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Mechanical Design Engineer, Compressor Stators (Current Employee) –  North Berwick, MEApril 27, 2018
Challenging environment
Decent pay
Decent benefits
Opportunities for skill improvement
Managers are helpful and encouraging
Most employees have positive attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
set up wave and ran board
Solder-wave operator (Former Employee) –  Huntington, INApril 25, 2018
it was good while it lasted was hoping i could have stayed there until i retired but they had other plans i was good at what id did taking care of wave and fixing what wave missed
Pros
clean place to mwork
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative atmosphere
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTApril 18, 2018
I was surrounded by hardworking, intelligent people with high ethical standards during my finance internship at their HQ in Farmington, Connecticut. My manager was always willing to provide useful feedback and guidance throughout the internship.
Pros
Diversity, accessibility of managers, culture
Cons
Limited dining options in office park area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior QA-Automation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAApril 16, 2018
I would recommend others to work at UTC.
I was lay-off due to work force reduction.
I like my coworkers and management team members.
HVAC industry is very exclusive to a certain market and a new industry for me, although we had some basic training, but more comprehensive training would be more efficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Inspector 2 (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NDApril 16, 2018
Great place to work. Great people. Good benefits. 10hr. shifts, 12 hr. weekend shifts. World wide company. I would recommend working for UTC and UTAS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UTAS Horrible Experience
Senior MRB Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 13, 2018
Having worked a UTAS in San Diego on (2) occasions it became clear to me that there was NO sense of loyalty among the worker force. All positions were unstable which made the culture very cut throat. The positions were very demanding and the work culture was not the best. With unpaid mandatory furlough days and having almost no PTO for holidays, UTAS pretty much was a sweat shop for those in aerospace.
STAY AWAY from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
E&CS Intern, Systems Engineering (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTApril 13, 2018
UTC is very hierarchical but does have plenty of opportunities. A very traditional working experience. I was allowed flexible working hours around a core of 9-3 which allowed me to come in early and leave early once I had completed my 8 hours. The culture is slightly behind the times and is not a cool place to work but they have products that are at the forefront of the industry which meant I spent every day learning something new.
Pros
Predictable, Benefits, Products
Cons
Structured, Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a great place to work
Material Specialist (Former Employee) –  Huntington, IN 46750April 13, 2018
Starting there it was an awesome job, they started to slowly take benefits from us and exchange them for extremely cheap ideas. Then the announcement of the move to Mexico and it steadily went down hill from there!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Technologies Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 724 reviews
5209
4264
3151
271
129

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.5Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight