United Way Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Internship
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJune 12, 2018
This was a good internship. Not much else to say, I got to do a lot of different things, from photography to web page editing. It was an internship. A good one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but pay is dreadful
Director, Donor Processing (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 8, 2018
Typical day included managing two employees who processed Donor pledges. Accuracy was extremely important and there was a high emphasis on this because, as a non-profit, we are stewards of other people's donation money. I loved my Manager, but when she was let go, the culture changed and I did not feel secure in my position.
Pros
Occasional free lunches and parties
Cons
No flexible hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
LSP processor (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 6, 2018
Productive and relaxed place to work. Position was full time temporary. Only negative was there were no benefits or paid time off. But overall it was a good experience and I would recommend to some one seeking employment without benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to be a part of.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Greenville NCJune 4, 2018
The supervisors at United Way are very fun but like to make sure each individual is responsible for their work. They answer questions very effectively. They most enjoyable part of the job is the fact we get to work with kids and make sure they are ready for the upcoming school year.
Pros
hour lunch breaks, good work culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Receptionist (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  LaBelle, FLJune 3, 2018
United Way was an amazing place to work, full of friendly faces and co-workers that made you feel as if you were part of a family. Working there was very calming and the manager was kind enough to allow me to study as I worked . Although I wish I could work there, I only worked there to achieve work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good cause
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mercer County, PAJune 1, 2018
The United Way offers many activities and benefits to our youth. The after school progran helps them with homework, decisions, activities and education
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great time
Medicaid Customer Service Trainer (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJune 1, 2018
I had a great time working at United Way . I believe every ones experiences at a job is different . For me personally I really likd my bosses and most of my coworkers. United Way is a company that tries to do the best for others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Information and Referrals
Information and Referral Specialist (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHMay 31, 2018
Working at United Ways 2-1-1 gave me a chance to learn about the resources in the community. I was able to help my callers figure out what they needs where and how to meet them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gurnee, ILMay 31, 2018
Definitely has a good work/life balance which is a plus. Each department comes together to work as a team to create a lasting change. The work environment is amazing and always positive!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With great pay comes great stress
Executive Assistant/Office Manager (Current Employee) –  OhioMay 29, 2018
This employer is wonderful when it comes to pay and benefits, but they come at price. The workload is heavy and the busy season lasts for several months out of the year. Most positions are multi-faceted and require a lot of time to learn well. With lots of room for error and an entire season of high stress levels to work with, an applicant should be able to take the heat and learn as time passes.
Pros
Great pay and benefits.
Cons
Unflexible schedule during campaign seasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Finance Associate/CoC Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCMay 29, 2018
Small staff great relationships and flexibility with work life balance. Not much room for career development and growth. Friendly community focused organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Loaned Executive
Loaned Executive (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMay 28, 2018
Great people, great cause, great work.Needed to adapted to multiple concerns which allowed to stop the job from becoming repetitive. The people there are very supportive there so you never felt you didn't have the tools necessary to be successful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job enhanced my skills.
211 Tax Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 24, 2018
A nice place to work. The supervisors are more than fare. Someone is always available to answer questions you may have. The training is detailed and geared to help you be success.
Pros
Hour lunch, help is always available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good volunteer experience
Volunteer Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 24, 2018
Overall good management. You can start building up your CV with their choices of relevant volunteer activities: tax, communication, organization,... I learned a lot about tax preparation through the work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Salem, NJMay 23, 2018
Constantly giving back to the community through food distribution, resource fairs, tax programs.
Low pay, hard work, great co-workers , great management team
Pros
helping people
Cons
no health care low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We answered phone calls for all sorts of help and support.
Community Developer and Organizer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 23, 2018
I loved it! I became a Community Organizer and worked in three counties without a problem. I did this for a total of 5 years. When I recognized the fact that the community leaders were the problem to the many issues the communities were facing, I left and returned to teaching where I felt I could make a difference!
Pros
I was working with so many types of people!
Cons
The community leaders were stubborn and did not want to collaborate!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (Former Employee) –  Bloomsburg, PAMay 22, 2018
Feels great helping others and giving back to the community. They train you well and help you along the way. It is a very relaxed setting. Pretty much do the work on your own time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun place to work
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 21, 2018
I loved my time at United Way. We worked hard but played hard. Such great people to work with - I still keep in touch with them to this day even though I live in Chicago. We have 'alumni' get togethers ;)
Pros
Access to high level executives
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Work
Director of Information Services (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 21, 2018
A fast-paced work environment. The Organization's community based mission will make you feel good about the work that is being done. Staff are dedicated to the mission and the benefit package is fantastic!
Pros
Great Benefit Package!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission and work-life balance
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 16, 2018
I believe in Unite Way's mission. The staff are kind, caring and fun to work with. Some of the drawbacks are lack of career advancement, and low salary.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Poor career advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United Way. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,336 reviews
5690
4363
3197
245
141

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

2.7Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

4.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight