Universal Hospital Services, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
customer service technician (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 14, 2018
Love the job. I do actually love the job. But the people that I was working with sucked. Either they were lazy or did not know what they were doing. The manager was also lazy. I got trained to be a hospital service technician 2 on November but did not get the title. My manager said to wait until June.The pay also was not good. Been there for a year and new employees got the same pay as me or more than me. That's when I left.
Pros
Easy and simple
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce Place to work
Field Service Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 1, 2018
Good and understandable environment.
Staffs and management comes together to discuss issues at hand.
Nice place to work when you wanted to balance your work life with your home life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repair
Patient Handling Technician (Current Employee) –  Bridgeville, PAApril 24, 2018
Repairs/maintenance on medical equipment and hospital beds service equipment at hospital/medical facilities - travel radius of 150 miles - customer/patient contact.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Executive at UHS
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 17, 2018
I really enjoyed working at UHS and it is a very valuable company who serves their customers well. I will always recommend this company if anyone asks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great things happening
Manager (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis-Saint Paul, MNApril 16, 2018
New leadership team is making good progress. Company is exceeding goals and making a stong impact in the market. There are lots of good things happening here.
Pros
Opportunities
Cons
Lots of work, little time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is Job
Technical Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 6, 2018
Not the worse place to work for but certainly not a desired organization to work for if you have multiple options. Other locations may be better than I experienced. However when meeting employees from other regions they rarely had much positive to say when higher ups were not around.
Pros
Secure if you have low aspirations, Large Company
Cons
Stagnant and Adversarial to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Electrical engineer (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAApril 4, 2018
A typical day at work is meeting with co-workers and planning the schedules for them. Also, reviewing the designs of the products and analyzing the cost.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 3, 2018
I learned a lot a UHS mostly what to do and what not to do in the workplace. How to trust and how not to trust. I also, would have to say the best part of the job was the part that I was able to deliver to the outside public. I got to meet and enjoy a lot of the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to work in a hospital setting but horrible management.
Hospital Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Mineola, NYMarch 26, 2018
If working inside a hospital is what you're looking for then this job might be the easiest way to get in but management is horrible. Job is repetitive but fairly easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated it
Hospital Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 19, 2018
It's good if you want to make good money, I guess. It isn't my type of job. All shifts basically play a game of "Who Does the Least Work" and it all results in everyone doing a lot of work. Really, it's janitorial work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Universal Hospital Services, Inc.?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little old school, solution is a little lo-fi
Marketing Manager, Solution Validation (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2018
Company is friendly enough but not fully confident in solutions. Atmosphere is somewhat reactive which results in periods of higher stress than needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About UHS
Hospital Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Greenbrae, CAMarch 14, 2018
This job gave not only me but my coworkers that have been here before me no room for growth within the company
its under staff
low pay
horrible managment
Pros
great way to experience working in a hospital base environment
Cons
low pay, horrible management, under staff, horrible hours, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviorment striving for growth
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wixom, MIMarch 6, 2018
Working with UHS has developed many leadership skills that I can take with me for life. I have not only gown as a leader but as a person as well. The medical market is extremely fast paced and ever changing which causes myself to make hard decisions that are best for the customer as well as the company.
Pros
Great management, Good bennifits
Cons
Limited acess equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Hospital Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN Alamogordo, NMFebruary 26, 2018
Great opportunities for advancement! Depending on title, most positions work with very little supervision. I loved working in a hospital setting, I was able to help so many patients. The culture of UHS and what they stand for are amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good transitional job.
Hospital Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2018
The job is decent with good benefits. You get paid decently for not a lot of hard work. It’s probably not a job you’ll want to get stuck at unless you absolutely love it. Great transitional opportunity.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Relying on other shifts to do their jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Retrieve requisitions from the Materials Management electronic supply system, fills orders, and delivers to requesting department
Stores Supply Technician (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVFebruary 8, 2018
Assist the Director with all the essential job duties for Materials Management.

Issue inventory and maintain records for each PAR

Deliver supplies and maintain the Central Supply Department in a clean, organized, and functional condition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent reputation in the field
Operations Manager-District/Hospital (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 6, 2018
I actually loved working for that company. I had a great experience with my manager, who is the northwestern regional director of operations. I have a reference letter from him as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Hospital Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 2, 2018
- scan equipment
- pick up dirty equipment
- clean dirty equipment
- deliver equipment to requestor
- repetition workload
- mobile position
- hard part: Scanning equipment for labor/ delivery --> I feel like we are invading mother's privacy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best job
Hospital technician (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJanuary 28, 2018
UHS is the best job i had so far you work with great people the manager is real cool chill u do your job and have fun at the same time. I highly recommend and you get to learn about medical equipment while working in a hospital.
Pros
low pay not enough pto
Cons
people and health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Biomedical/Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Port Saint Lucie, FLJanuary 24, 2018
While working at UHS I enjoyed my job at first. I enjoy being a bmt but the company takes advantage of the techs and stretches them very thin. If the company wasn’t so cheap and would staff sufficiently it would be as bad but they are as cheap as it comes.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal Hospital Services, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 205 reviews
545
456
347
224
133

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

3.1Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight