Universal Logistics Employee Reviews

2.9
Overall rating
Based on 41 reviews
Ratings breakdown
53
412
312
25
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workers was ok
DOCKWORKER (Former Employee) –  Maryville, TNJuly 29, 2018
not a good place to work ..way under paid..bosses don't care for the workers.they couldn't keep workers there.takes for ever to get a raise.then u might ger a .25 cent raise
Pros
none
Cons
whole bunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill job if your looking for just a check to pay bills and get by
Lead/Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJuly 18, 2018
If your a good driver and a quick learner youll be a good fit for this easy job. If you hate to work in the heat DO not prefer 2nd shift during summer is extremely hot. Everyone is easy to get along with and work as a team.
Pros
job itself is easy
Cons
pay system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you Can't trust with this company
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJuly 1, 2018
Dock environment , Stacker environment , Do Box Move, pick Face, Do Adjust pick Face , Inventory,Print Label & Master Label, Scan Part & Location,Performs a task a fast paced,Use Bar Code Scanner,Forklift Driver
Pros
30 mints lunch
Cons
NO any good Benefits, long week for shutdown
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive
hilo position stocker (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 19, 2018
team effort but not always positive attitudes slow paced evironment but also get backed up at times only union get treated reasonable poor attendance from their team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and No Work/Life Balance
Material Planner (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 4, 2018
Work 9-10 hours a day
6 day work weeks sometimes 7
communication in upper management was poor
salary employees get no overtime or compensation for working more than required
upper management does not do well to improve the morale
Pros
work experience
Cons
dirty, poor management, long work hours, no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNMay 3, 2018
I really enjoyed working with the company, staff and management were ok becoming line lead taught me alot on how to run a line and how to handle situations.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take ownership
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNMay 1, 2018
Upper management is not willing to take ownership of anything but will definitely hold you accountable for it. Good ol boy system and will not pay you correctly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of proper management/ lack of hours
Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNApril 16, 2018
Management was not up to part . Each individual was treated differently when it came to certain situations .

Lack of hours: we weren’t even working 40 hours a week due to new president
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never work here again.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Madison, ALMarch 21, 2018
I worked from the bottom to the top, every position in the warehouse and working with everything from the customer to corporate... I was never paid for my positions held, there is no 401k, they only paid paper checks so they could draw interest off their workers money. You work 2 weeks and get paid on the third... So you work 2 weeks and get paid your first weeks hours on the third week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subcontractor for Boeing
Permanent Lead Receiving Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 18, 2018
A decent pace of work that always kept you busy and made the day move along. Receiving the product in an 8 hour period as well as put away within 16 hours. I enjoyed working with my coworkers and it was nice to have friends at work.
Pros
overtime
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNMarch 12, 2018
this place is one of the poorest run companies i have ever come across. management is horrible, company will continue to rehire fired employees, pay is by paper check and 3 weeks behind. no tracking of your hours, pay is consistently screwed up. promotions are impossible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Forklift Operator/Slip Driver (Current Employee) –  Conley, GAFebruary 22, 2018
It was a good company to work for in the process of finding something permanent. The supervisor were understanding to personal needs and fair when it came to employees. Work was just slow and there was a lack of growth in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Supervisor/Assistant to Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXFebruary 20, 2018
If i ever move back the way i'm going to try to work there again
you get a ton of overtime and they have great team work i meet some GREAT people there
Pros
great team
Cons
not much time for family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a good team but had a weird shift.
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJanuary 28, 2018
I had a great time while I was at universal Logistics working for Nissan plant in Smyrna. I didn’t feel like I fit in with the people because all the time because they were bad influences.
Pros
As many hours as you wanted to work.
Cons
No lights in the warehouse and no heat or air conditioning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always working
Forklift and reach truck operator (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJanuary 10, 2018
was working 7 days a week plus being a full time student, it got rough. constantly staying busy never a dull moment but all the people working there. it was entertaining
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave work
LOGISTICS SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 1, 2017
Learned alot of new things good for someone young who can work your way up if youre really serious. Management is childish no work life balance checks where short union rep did not backup employees...must I go on!
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Madison, ALNovember 20, 2017
Management doesn’t give a care about you. Far as promoting its all favoritism. U bust your tail and get nothing in return. They won’t take care of issue that you have problems with. They ignore all your problems
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Benefits, Managers, Respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Polaris
LINE LEAD (Current Employee) –  Madison, ALOctober 16, 2017
Making sure your employees are at work in place;and ready for a great day at work. Have meetings on what we need to work on to advance on daily task. Make sure we service the customer (Polaris) and give them our best at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNSeptember 17, 2017
Enjoyed working. Great working environment, people friendly company. Clean and professional environment. They were will to take the time to train each person
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Dock Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNSeptember 6, 2017
Great place to work. The vacation policy is amazing. Our Shakopee operation was a start up. So it felt good to help build a winner. I would like more recognition, but who wouldn't.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport