Universal Music Group Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 226 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5103
476
336
29
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 144 reviews matching the search See all 226 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Musicians/Artist finds the Business to be very difficult
Musician (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJuly 1, 2018
As an Artist Universal Music Group found it hard to place me in any one Genre. The Music Industry is very difficult and then my Manager passed away..
Pros
None
Cons
It was a not very profitable struggle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, fast pace environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Santa, IDJune 21, 2018
I enjoyed ,meeting and greeting people. arranging meetings and fulfilling all guests needs and desires. Obtained greatTeam solution skills. Learned how to adjust to different work personalities.
Pros
discounts
Cons
demanding and competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help Desk Analyst
Desktop Support/Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Studio City, CAJune 5, 2018
Call center of 12 agents, took incoming calls from Artist and professional musicians, setup special network access for the same clients.

I got great Macintosh experience as I was totally Microsoft support person.

WorkPlace Culture seemed to be a bit lonely at times when I worked nd shifts.


Hardest part of the job was leaving. I got divorced and had to reloate. I'd still be there.
Pros
Fortune 500 company that rewards their employees.
Cons
Its location is on top of a sink hole. The structure is at risk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Voice & Accent Coach (Former Employee) –  ParisMay 7, 2018
As all know, Universal Music is a major company. I enjoyed working with them for the time of my contact. I was employed as a voice coach consultant and was pleased by the professionalism I encountered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical record company
National Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 16, 2018
It was good when people were actually buying music, then that stopped and the culture changed. Perks decreased, far too many over paid executives operating on an old mind set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Executive Chauffeur (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2018
worked for the President of the company. Transported him & his family to there destinations daily. Ran errands, made dinner reservations , coordinated theater tickets. set up all maintenance on all vehicles in the private fleet.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Vice President of Finance (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 6, 2018
Financial review, great benefits, good working environment

Daily - cash reports, inventory control

Monthly - financial package, general ledger maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal Music
Executive Director of Finance (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 6, 2018
Financial review, great benefits, good working environment

Daily - cash reports, inventory control

Monthly - financial package, general ledger maintenance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Educational Temp (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2018
UMG is a great place to work. I was an intern at a label during my last year of college. I learned a lot and made connections that still benefit me today.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Royalties Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 5, 2018
Excellent work environment, positive work culture, advancement opportunities, competitive salary, supportive management, hardest part of job was leaving due to relocation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay...Poor Management
SVP Strategic Marketing (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMarch 29, 2018
Universal stands out as one of the largest music companies in the world, with many of the top artists on the rosters of the labels, as well as under the publishing arm. However, upper management is not trained to supervise staff. There is a lot of nepotism and subtle racism. Some of the top black artists are still mocked behind closed doors.

It's great for starters and those early in their career. It's always wise to keep your options open at companies like these.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Cut throat environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universal summary
Music Producer (Former Employee) –  1755 broadwayMarch 26, 2018
just what i thought it would be
a great learning very social
the place i will always want to work
excellent look foward to working for them again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 26, 2018
Great internship! Learned a lot from staff. Given a lot of creative freedom. Collaborated with group and worked solo. Management was fair and supportive!
Cons
Office in atlanta closed in 2010
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized office but good benefits & management
Production Coordinator, E-Commerce (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2018
Half of the people in the UMG office do all of the work and the other half hang out all day. There is no training program when you start and the departments are very separated (retail vs. tour vs. web). I worked a minimum of 50 hours a week. Luckily, I had great bosses and the work was easy (just too much of it for one person to handle). The rare free concerts and t-shirts were a good addition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UMG made my career!
senior mastering engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 14, 2018
I couldn't have done it without the support of everyone at UMG. Supportive staff in every department made learning and coordinating all aspects of my job possible.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Fun
Social Media Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMarch 2, 2018
Good Salary and attractive incentive structure which pays on time. I highly recommend working with UMG

Had no issues whatsoever during my time working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best run company I ever worked for, I always felt that I was a part of the best.
Network Systems Analyst II (Former Employee) –  N Hollywood, CAFebruary 26, 2018
Terrific workplace filled with a creative culture that inspires the mind. I especially enjoyed mingling with people that were outside my area of responsibility. It's amazing to see how the pieces fit together to drive the business to excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Relaxed Work place with Less salary
Vendor Analyst (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 6, 2018
Can maintain work life balance as it is not stressful though the salary is less in this company.
The Benefits are really good. The growth is very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet Relaxed
Paralegal Assistant (Current Employee) –  1755 BroadwayJanuary 31, 2018
My typical day at UMG would include reading emails, making phone calls and checking statuses of certain projects for my supervisor. The culture is very relaxed and friendly. I learned how to view the music industry under a legal perspective.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One place I really do miss working.
Product Manager/A&R (Former Employee) –  Universal City, CAJanuary 4, 2018
Universal comes with all the bells and whistles. I've learned so much business wise there with entertainment. Fortunate to work with so many great and legendary artists. Work hard anywhere and you'll make it on top.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal Music Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight