University at Buffalo Employee Reviews

Showing all 178 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fine
Kitchen Staff and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 6, 2019
it was kind of hard because the managers would give a lot of things to do but it was okay because it wasn't too bad. It was easy to get to work and they were lenient about cancelling work
Pros
close to home
Cons
strict
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job stability
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Amherst, NYJanuary 28, 2019
Great place to work but lack of advancement within the department. There’s always work because it’s a college and students are always on campus. However management is outsourced with leaves no room to advance within the department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flagship of the SUNY System
Senior Staff Associate (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 24, 2019
UB is the flagship University in the SUNY System. It offers great benefits and job security. It is growing in size but not resources which can tax employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 23, 2019
UB could care less about its employees. Limited advancement, awful pay, very poor management. Higher-ups only concerned with their own careers and have no regard whatsoever for lower level staff. A lot of big egos to deal with.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
No raises/recognition, limited advancement, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
university job is always good
Gradute Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 15, 2019
it provided me an opportunity to increase my scope of on going engineering problem.With the projects i have done in the university increased my knowledge about the topics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and chance to grow.
Resident Advisor (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 9, 2019
Working as a Resident Advisor was a great experience. University at Buffalo has a good paraprofessional staff that helps RAs balance school and RA life and duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of Experience
PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYDecember 13, 2018
Simulates real world problems so you can test your skills with real world problems. We used processes and theories explain during class in order to help solve our task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow Assistant
Reasearch Assistant (Current Employee) –  Amherst, NYNovember 26, 2018
This university is one of the best reasearch places to be the facilities is remarkable and i was very impressed by the machine shop. It is so elaborate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Snr Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYNovember 13, 2018
Great company to work for, there are a lot of pros if you work for University at Buffalo. working conditions are among the best i have seen, management is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Clinical Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 29, 2018
Good place to work. Nice culture, and coworkers from a wide variety of diverse backgrounds. Large class sizes are a potential drawback, but support structure is in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is non existant
Payroll and Tax Accountant (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NY 14226October 15, 2018
Internal fighting and those in authority using it for ill towards its employees. There were days when the team was uneasy with how the dynamics were being handled and would cause friction within
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer Assistant Strength Coach (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 4, 2018
Overall a good environment to work in. It's a very competive institution with high achieving individuals. I would recommend anyone pursuing an athletic background to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment, deceitful management
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  UB NorthSeptember 7, 2018
Director of Financial Aid is a monster and any advisor thinking of working at UB in the financial aid office should run away as fast as you can!!
Really not kidding! You will regret every day you are there as long as the current director is still in place. Processing is so poor and yet lies are told to how effective things are working.
Pros
Fellow co-workers
Cons
Director, upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Student Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 4, 2018
I liked this experience . I learn various thing while woking here. I learned how to be more responsible and I learned how to manage different personalities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 3, 2018
It was a good learning opportunity. The people were really nice and easy to work with. Provided flexibility. Got to develop an application for immigrants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The experience is average overall
RESOURCE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 15, 2018
Working at the University at Buffalo is an overall average experience. Depending on your career level, there are very few chances for advancement and often your career is left in the hands of managers who have no interest in promoting or encouraging growth. Salaries are stagnated because the State of New York no longer funds raises for their employees and tuition has remained relatively flat.
Pros
Employee benefits
Cons
No visible track for promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fast learning
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 7, 2018
Chefs the review how you work and get you pass your goal your willing to receive and overcome to new goals in cooking. Well mannered customers that makes it a breeze to serve them.
Pros
Confidence in cooking experience
Cons
Service lots of people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Resident Advisor (RA) (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJune 27, 2018
Friendly staff who are willing to take the time out of their day to help you out. Flexible hours and accommodating to students with a hectic schedule as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJune 5, 2018
It's been a privilege working with UB family, they treat you like you are one of them, the hardest part of the job is giving the right advice to right students sometimes you think you saying the right think but it actually never works, so be careful while giving advices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for a student
STUDENT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Amherst, NYApril 29, 2018
My job was very understanding with my school work and encouraged me to continue my education. I always felt like I had a good support system and no matter what I needed help with, there was always someone willing to help me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University at Buffalo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 178 reviews
584
473
314
24
13

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

University at Buffalo Reviews by Location