University of Alabama, Birmingham Employee Reviews

Found 417 reviews matching the search See all 426 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Organization
Assistant Director of Research and Analysis (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 9, 2018
It is the largest employer in the state of Alabama, thus my experiences may not reflect the norm. I am positive in the right department or unit within UAB, I could/would have a completely different outlook.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Study Coordinator/Clinical Trials Administrator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 5, 2018
Poor management, poor salary, negative environment. The culture is difficult. Most employees are overworked and not compensated fairly for the amount of work performed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, friendly and professional
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 26, 2018
UAB has set the standard as Alabama’s largest employer. All staff, regardless of title or department are considered to be part of the UAB family. UAB provides the best medical and psychiatric care in the state and ranks high nationally in numerous medical specialities. It is a teaching college as well as a hospital.
Pros
Organized and structured
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 25, 2018
Need to be able to work hard in this environment.
I work at night so I do not see my manager often.
Vitals, blood sugars, ECG's.
Must be reliable and come in when you're supposed to and on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to grow
Office Associate (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 25, 2018
Here at UAB I have opportunities to learn and grow, allowing for advancement, and I enjoy my coworkers. They have good benefits and a good retirement plan.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
difficult to park, adds to commute time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Patient Observer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 24, 2018
I love that it's always evolving and multicultural. You have free schooling not only for yourself, but children or spouse as well. I also love that they have a benevolent fund for employees. They look out for their employees.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grest co-workers
Stat nurse (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 13, 2018
been there almost 20 years- lots of room to move.

Lots of opportunity to do what ever you love.

Family gets school discount.

Lots of places to have a good lunch with friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with UAB, I believe that I could help someone.
Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Greenville AL.September 12, 2018
I believe that I could help someone in the field that I was working in. I enjoyed working with UAB, it was a great experience for me and I was so sorry when the grant ran out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptioniss
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 12, 2018
I was part time but enjoyed working and meeting people I verified
the insurance and sometime it was hard for the insurance companies to respond. I like meeting people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience with many resources and benefits provided
Administrative/Payroll Specialist/HR (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 5, 2018
I felt like my career in this position had peaked and had no potential of advancement. The structure and dynamics of the department changed and while, i am adaptable to change, I feel like my skills and abilities would be better utilized in another position.
Pros
benefits
Cons
unannounced structure and departmental rule changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Administrative Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 29, 2018
UAB is a wonderful place to work! As a student assistant, I was paid fairly and a great wage for a student. They worked well with my school schedule. They truly value education at UAB and want you to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My boss was wonderful
Reseach Specialist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 23, 2018
There were a lot of ignorant and lazy people there. People with loud political views. Some of the work was enjoyable...but some very boring. It was a large organization.
Pros
Nice appreciative people
Cons
immoral people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a better work place for those intrested in advancement
CRNA (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 22, 2018
I have been employed 20 years at this institution and during this time have completed and Executive Masters in Health Administration and a Doctorate in Nursing Practice in order to position myself for advancement.
Pros
I am here because of work life balance
Cons
Direct leadership indulges in favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and sometimes stressful workplace
Office Associate II (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 21, 2018
Productive and sometimes stressful workplace with not much ability to advance. I objected to not having very many evaluations, so there was little room for raises due to this.
Pros
non-profit loan forgiveness eligible, state retirement
Cons
not very good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Instructor
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 17, 2018
It was good work, teaching Public Speaking to freshman students at UAB. It was the most hated course on campus and frankly any campus anywhere. People would rather die than do public speaking but I still enjoyed teaching it.
Pros
Good money
Cons
contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UAB is a great place for biomedical research and medical school students
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 11, 2018
UAB is a great place for biomedical research and medical school students.
I like there as the biomedical research platform is pretty good and lost of research source to be shared, including tons of seminar every week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace
Animal Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 8, 2018
Ok place good environment to work nice people good benefits the better education and great job enforcement a great place to work good employees good management great great policy an overall of a great job
Pros
Free education
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Place
Temp Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 5, 2018
My Employment with UAB has been excellent over the years I have worked for UAB. I have loved everything about my jobs at UAB. I love gaining opportunities to learn more through taking classes to help me in my job.
Pros
Short Breaks
Cons
Competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid research University
Lab Manager, Researcher III (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 18, 2018
I truly enjoy my job and my ability to use my SCUBA skills for the job. Unfortunately the lab spaces in the biology department are very small and old and are in serious need of renovation, and really replacement. Having updated labs would truly make working for UAB much more a pleasure.
Pros
Great work, and often fun work
Cons
Poor facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Audio Visual Technician (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 16, 2018
Environment was great. The pay was minimal for the temporary position and there was no benefits for temporary workers. Overall though awesome company and culture.
Pros
Environment
Cons
Temp positions not as favorable as Full Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Alabama, Birmingham. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 426 reviews
5207
4145
347
214
113

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

University of Alabama, Birmingham Reviews by Location