University of Arizona Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work independently
Adult Nurse Practitioner/Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 10, 2017
I completed home wellness assessments in rural Pinal county, lower socioeconomic clients. Utilized EMR for charting and often in rural Pinal county internet connection was not the best.
Pros
work independently
Cons
charting was time consuming and you are not reimbursed hourly, rather per visit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like academic research this is for you.
Research Specialist Senior (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 9, 2017
The person I work for did not care that you only were paid to work 40 hours per week. She generally made you work closer to 60. This is why she could never keep people working for her.
Pros
Free classes
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great staff
Transcriber (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 7, 2017
The University of Arizona has a very professional, wonderful team , very talented transcribers , scientist, videographers . Anybody would gain so much from this wonderful non profit team.
Pros
My own schedule and boss always available for questions
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the office
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 5, 2017
It is obviously a very big institution and different offices have different cultures. Some are good some are not so good. People are relaxed, salaries are OK, city is decent. Budget cut are 30 years old and still going on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there a long time and they modified my work area so many times.
Certified Welder (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 3, 2017
It was easy to go to work early everyday and I built so many things in the many years I worked there. They gave me so much overtime that I had a lot of fun but sometimes in the tunnels the work environment was dirty hot and dusty and there were bugs.
Pros
nice work shop and truck.
Cons
some of the tunnels and basements had a lot of bugs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Teaching Assistant - Grader (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 2, 2017
Typically, I would be teaching in the classroom or in my office grading assignments. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to meet students and helping them in their academic endeavours.
Pros
Flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, easy schedule.
Undergraduate Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 1, 2017
They work around your schedule to give you hours you need, willing to help you out if needed, very minimal effort required, easy tasks that need to be completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth the low wages for discount if you, spouse, or kids are going to college
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 26, 2017
Seems good At first till you realize about 1% raise a year does not keep up with the rise of inflation. Management seems to not know what they are doing or how to keep to a budget. They promote the inexperienced to management positions so they can pay them less.
Management does not have your back.
Pros
75% off your kids tuition. Good health insurance
Cons
Toxic work environment, you learn not to care
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working place
Research Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 25, 2017
Work environment is excellent at University of Arizona. The employer offer great health and other benefits.I learned a lot of techniques and research experience here. The lab mates are wonderful. Most enjoyable part of the job is flexibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as research assistant. I got the tuition discount which helped me a lot financially to complete my master degree.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 21, 2017
As a research assistant at University of Arizona, I started my day by fixing the computer related hardware and software issues. I had to visit several offices every day in order to support their daily office activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 19, 2017
There has been a very work ethic at the university of Arizona when it comes to laboratory work. The work consisted of preparing sample for the work for the teacher and comparing data of each group to conclude the overall solution. Team work was very developed.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no use of cell phone during work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 12, 2017
Wonderful experience at the U of A both as a graduate student and GTA. My teachers and mentors were experienced and gave me some wonderful experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 12, 2017
Working as a researcher at the university of Arizona is truly a special experience. the workplace is motivated and extremely talented, both of which breed an environment geared toward success and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring!
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 11, 2017
Tutoring and mentoring at the U of A is highly encourages and supported. They work well with schedules and support student needs when it comes to dedication to your studies!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Worker Position
Office Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 9, 2017
Worked well with class schedule and trained students in important office responsibilities. I worked with important departments and a friendly staff where ever I went.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ua
Accountant, Associate (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 30, 2017
This is a good place to work. There are many training opportunities.

There are many departments to work for, which allows a person to find something that fits. There is a diverse group of people on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
ACCOUNTANT ASSISTANT, SENIOR (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 29, 2017
Amazing place to work for. People are friendly, wonderful benefits. Offers lots of opertunities to grow and to find time to participate in group activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UofA
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 24, 2017
University of Arizona is a good place to work. The offices are usually even paced and has a good balance of time off you can take. Working with managers was easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Children's Multi Specialty Center (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 19, 2017
Traveling with doctors to five different locations around Arizona to assist in clinics.
Making appointments for patients, answering phone lines and assisting patients with any questions,
appointments, or concerns, triage, EKG, vital signs, preparing patients for doctors' visit, preparing clinic for
next day or traveling clinic visits, preparing charts, entering data into system, assisting doctors with Spanish
speaking patients, worked front office as well as back office, cleaning rooms, multi-tasking.
Pros
great group of doctors
Cons
supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
TA (Former Employee) –  U of AJune 15, 2017
I worked as a TA for the University of Arizona, which was basically a teacher of one of the introductory biology labs. It was a great working environment and a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Arizona. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 409 reviews
5236
4117
336
215
15

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

2.9Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

University of Arizona Reviews by Location