University of California, Riverside Employee Reviews

Showing all 477 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect for a student worker
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAApril 18, 2019
Front desk receptionist duties(answering questions, scheduling appointment, basic filing).

Eventually I received more and more duties, and only one superior was ever questionable in her work ethic. Overall I really enjoyed working there. It was not stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Experience
Volunteer Researcher (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAApril 4, 2019
It's a good experience. Can be a bit bureaucratic, but overall you get out of it what you put into it. Knowing that, I would still do it all over again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 28, 2019
The job is pleasant, and allows scientists access to resources that devlope their skills, and allow them to grow. There are a number of high caliber scientists, and great machines that give students access to hands on experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little direction or support
Sr. Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 14, 2019
Not a professional administrative organization. Little knowledge of best practices nor is there a sense of urgency to complete work in support of UCR's mission.

My review does not reflect the school's academic mission.
Pros
No stress job.
Cons
Low pay and virtually zero chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 27, 2019
UCR is the best school to go to. I can't say how a full time job is but I cans ay that the work environment is awesome. Everyone is upbeat and ready and willing to help you out. This is a school where scientist are made. You can take what you learned and advance your skills and experience to a career when you graduate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't ever think of joining UCR. Worst place. Lots of discrimination, and dumb management
Academic (Former Employee) –  RiversideFebruary 27, 2019
UCR is the not a good place to work. The management and directors of certain institutes they hired are very bad and why they hired such dumb management.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Bad management, dumb administrators
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with plenty of great people to hang out with
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 21, 2019
When I come into work, I usually greet my supervisors and they then lay out what it is needed to be done today. I learned a lot of techniques related to analyzing soils and their properties, as well as the relevancy and implications of their conditions. Generally the hardest part of the job is trying to remember everything that is explained, as there is simply so much to do. The work environment was really relaxed, and they sympathized with what was generally happening in my life.
Pros
Flexibility in hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress Environment
Admissions (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 18, 2019
The university itself does a great job in hosting events and providing resources for its employees. However, each department manages differently and some don't do a good job. A lot of staff is still highly overworked and underpaid
Pros
Diverse campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great expeirence
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 17, 2019
Research is a great way to gain a sense of what area of study you would like to pursue in the future. TAs are great help and can assist with future plans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 4, 2019
Great working environment. My Supervisor is great and I love teaching. I highly recommend working here and experiment with the experience of teaching in this multicultural environment.
Pros
Flexibility, good pay
Cons
few hours, part-timr
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and I learned a lot
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CADecember 7, 2018
It was a stressful environment but management and the people in the office mad it easier. Helping the students was also very rewarding! There was a lot of driving that went with the job because we visited community colleges all over California.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promote healthy eating
Nutrition ambassador (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CADecember 7, 2018
I mostly did the Nutritionists job. Did whatever she told me to do, and I learned a lot on nutrition and how to put together recipes. We held lots of events to educate students on healthy eating, and events where they can come talk to us and ask us about any questions they have.
Pros
I love learning about nutrition
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful opportunity
Teaching and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Riverside County, CANovember 17, 2018
I wish that I had more time to spend there. I felt as a valuable asset to my research group which made me feel confident and content.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work for students
Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CANovember 5, 2018
it was a great source of extra income while being a full time student. schedules were flexible and supervisors were understanding. great opportunity to build your work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are family
Financial Aid Counselor (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CANovember 5, 2018
This department is a family. The level of knowledge and understanding about financial aid is staggering. I am fortunate to be part of such an amazing and productive team.
Pros
Opportunity to Learn and Grow, Great Coworkers, Very Busy
Cons
No Promotions, Wages are not competative for the area we live.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Postdoctoral Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CANovember 4, 2018
Laboratory, field, greenhouse work and office. Good relationship with the manager. Plant genetics and breeding, Plant disease assays and disease assessment, DNA and RNA purification, QTL mapping...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fair pay.
Senior Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAOctober 31, 2018
Had to leave because it was difficult to move up. The union made it so you had to apply to move up. Ity made it difficult. Learning and staff development was hindered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient and fun wwork place
Cashier/ Waitress (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAOctober 28, 2018
This job was convenient because it was on campus therefore i could go to class then wwork and bac to class in a timely manner. Everything worked around my school schedule therefore i could always be on time to both.
Pros
Discounts on food
Cons
Not allowed to get more than 20 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unlimited opportunities
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAOctober 26, 2018
With a company this size there is always room for growth.
On the job training. Excellent Benefits.
Family atmosphere. Work hard and you will be rewarded.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided the opportunity to work with many different personalities which really sharpened my communication and management skills
Student Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAOctober 24, 2018
With the number of team members we had, it could be easy for someone to fall off task easily but mostly took the job seriously which made for excellent customer service.
Pros
One free meal a day
Cons
Difficulty finding coverage when we had call offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of California, Riverside. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 477 reviews
5254
4157
350
29
17

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

University of California, Riverside Reviews by Location