University of California - San Francisco Employee Reviews

Found 376 reviews matching the search See all 378 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent management
Senior Contracts Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 3, 2018
Management attempts to undermine the integrity of public procurement process. Lead Contract Analyst is pressured to circumvent the competitive procurement process. Incompetence is rewarded and nepotism and favoritism are rampant.
Pros
Pension for vested employees
Cons
Management corruption and indifference
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 29, 2018
school internship. it was great. There really is nothing to review about this place for an internship. i have to provide this review just to update my resume and i find this very trying......
Pros
great
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Gastrointestinal/Hepatobiliary Pathology Fellow (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 25, 2018
8am-8pm. Robust clinical services with more than average case volume. But training is top notch, and the doctors and staff are exceptional at their jobs, and are great colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Project Director/Data Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 17, 2018
great place to work. Smart, educated people, interesting work. Very dedicated to improving the health care system. They are interested in helping their employees stay healthy too with lots of healthy activities programs for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 16, 2018
If the cost of living was not so high in the San Francisco Bay Area, I would have definitely continued to work at UCSF. I moved back to the east coast for more money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept of Psychiatry doesn't value support staff
Executive Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CaliforniaOctober 11, 2018
Some employees are overloaded with work while others who brown nose and get in good with management do absolutely nothing. The "EQUITY" system is a joke. You are left to make the same amount of money as a person with no previous experience or education if they get a job based off who they know. This happens quite often. Life work balance there sucks and management is clueless or pretending to be clueless of just how miserable their employees are.Support staff is paid pennies and required many times to do the work of 2 positions.
Pros
pretty good benefits
Cons
little advancements, poor compensation for amount of work being done, crab in a bucket mentality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing People, but no advancement
Administrative Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 5, 2018
The community is filled with amazing people that care and are great to talk to. There is just no advancement to further your career in one department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Clinical Practice Coordinator (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 4, 2018
Fabulous and enriching place to work. It’s truly rewarding to work in a teaching medical institution where everyone is working toward a common goal of best health care practice and delivery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 3, 2018
While being in San Francisco I have learned the city's culture leans on diversity, thinking differently and pushing the envelope. ALL these things are true at UCSF. It was the place where I have grown the most and I will take the characteristics that I learned here with me always.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring law school in the heart of San Francisco
Assistant Director of External Relations (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 3, 2018
The faculty, staff, and students at UC Hastings College of the Law are wonderful. It is a culture that strives for excellence in the legal field and encourages its students to work for justice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was only temporary during that time
Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 27, 2018
I can't say anything since I worked here for a few months only, in my 6 months experienced working at UCSF the manager in the department was supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surely can enhance your skill level
Budget Assistant III - Department of Anesthesia (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 17, 2018
Having been funded partially by the state, the variance in opportunities in the UC systems is amass and will surely secure an individual's skill level through its training programs.
Pros
state-funded
Cons
employees has to be part of a union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
CLINICAL RESEARCH ASSISTANT INTERN (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 6, 2018
Great place to volunteer and learn. Shaped a lot of my career. Great mentors as well as supervisors. Was an intern so not sure what else to say about the work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Work, Low Pay
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 6, 2018
The work is very rewarding and the management is great. Annual salary increases are very modest. Almost makes no difference when they also increase health insurance premiums, parking costs, etc.

The pay is not competitive considering we are in the center of the Bay Area.

Major Con: managers have little to no say when it comes to pay. HR takes the lead and rarely rewards a high-performing and motivated employee. This eventually causes loyal employees to leave the organization and take their talent elsewhere....Stanford
Pros
Rewarding Work, Great Managers, Collaborative Environment
Cons
Extremely Low Pay for Bay Area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Cooperative and Good workplace culture
Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 15, 2018
Good place to develop job skills, experience. There is a lot work and the job responsibilities are often broad which allows for more opportunities for growth and development. Company is open to suggestions for process improvement and efficiencies. The work place culture is very cooperative, people are willing to help. Management is fairly good. However, significant improvements in leadership would result if the company instituted 360 performance review for supervisors and managers.

Cons: The mandatory retirement contribution > 7% is high and a large portion of an employees paycheck is taken for taxes, benefits and retirement (up to 50%).
Pros
Job growth development opportunities
Cons
High mandatory retirement contribution > 7% & low salary, benefits are fair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady place to work
Finance Administrative Services (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 1, 2018
Experience is based on working in a back-office function. There is a decent amount of job security plus the benefit of the pension. It can be difficult to advance because you have so many long time employees, especially for non- Senior leadership roles. Generally most people care about their jobs and the mission of the university is supported. But it is a quasi-governmental institution so you have the slow pace and lack of modern systems and processes in place that take some time to learn and work through.
Pros
Security, decent pay and benefits
Cons
Not a lot of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cares for their employees
Research Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 26, 2018
I had a good experience being employed by UCSF. I received great HR help, easy on-boarding sessions and they offer had great benefits. They also have monthly meetings to gather all staff in the different departments and are frequently trying to improve the wellbeing of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ucsf
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 26, 2018
Enjoyed working for 3 different supervisors and all were professional and fair with clear job responsibilities. Made a strong effort for work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Unorganized
CN III (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 26, 2018
Very busy and unorganized. Lots of change in the wrong direction. Patient care became more complicated and there were less RNs and more MAs and the care became less intense and complete.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 24, 2018
I loved working here, my work consist of helping people, and that's what I loved about working here, it was a new challenge every day, I started from the bottom and worked my way up to management, there was room to grow.
Pros
Good Benefit, Salary was good along with healthcare
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of California - San Francisco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 378 reviews
5187
4111
349
221
110

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

University of California - San Francisco Reviews by Location