University of California - San Francisco Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 262 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5138
475
330
215
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 260 reviews matching the search See all 262 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at UCSF
Senior Research Associate/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 23, 2018
UCSF is an awesome place to work! They provide you with work-life balance, have a clear chain of command and are supportive of their employees. You'll get to meet a lot of brilliant folks while there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good finance department
Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 15, 2018
This was a contract job, specifically to review a large number of contracts between UCSF and research entities such as other universities or private medical institutions. The contracts were often very large, hundreds of pages on paper exclusively. We tried to analyze for collectibility, there wasn't anything left as all contracts were well over five years old, were considered closed and paid by the other parties, and there was no apparent substantial grounds for further collection. The University was still carrying a receivable number for all these contracts, in short, erroneously.
Pros
Interesting contracts to analyze
Cons
Ultimately frustrating project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 27, 2018
This is a great place to work! I found that the organization cares about your success; as well as, your health and well being! This work culture of this organization is excellent!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained research experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 27, 2018
Was able to gain a lot of experience in the research field working with different participants. Allowed to openly and closely work with the amazing Principal Investigator.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Locale Culture
Grant Administrator/Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 19, 2018
Working for UCSF was a learning experience. San Francisco is very different than Chicago. The atmosphere was more laid back but responsibilities were designated as desired by superiors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Radiology Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 19, 2018
I learned a lot at the job and hope to be in similar work situation in the future. Management was flexible with my hours and respect their employees when pursuing other career endeavors. When I first started there, most of my co-workers were welcoming and were patient with me when it came to training. I learned to time management and how to address patients. It can be stressful, but when it does you can your co-workers for help.
Pros
positive workplace culture, 1 hour lunches, healthcare
Cons
Paid parking, or moved your care every two hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Finance Analyst II (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 16, 2018
Very busy work day. Reconciliation of your accounts are very important in order for you to have a good report. Part of this jobis the once a year Consolidated budget that is implemented by the university.
Pros
supportive co workers
Cons
micromanaged supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and high energy work environment
Senior EVS Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 6, 2018
The hardest part of the job was losing patients and meeting last minute deadlines. However the staff is united and supportive which balances the atmosphere and enables quick bounceback.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient and suitable place for research but competetive
Associate visiting scholar (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 6, 2018
I am satisfied from research at UCSF but I want to change my area of research to learn more and increase my experience. If I can find any position at UCSF, think about it.
Pros
Intimate environment
Cons
Collaboration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you like working with students & professors
HR Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 1, 2018
Enjoyable academic environment with 'student' energy.
Very tough financial situation makes it tough to provide appropriate pay and benefits for well educated San Francisco based employee group.
People attracted by the mission and stay due to friendships and mission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn and grow
Registered Nurse, Kidney/Liver/Pancreas Transplant (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 29, 2018
UCSF has very interesting patient populations and is a research institution which allows for constant learning. There are a variety of different roles a nurse can play at the institution so one is not just limited to hands on patient care. It is a rigorous place to work but you will clinically strong provider.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Molecular Structure Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 24, 2018
No authority to deal with security issues on the networks and associated systems. It was a deal with it, or resign the position situation. I resigned so that internal politics could remain as the boss liked it.
Cons
NO work to life balance, no *useable* time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a government job type, not much room to grow
Clinical Research Data Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 17, 2018
The job started great, lots of training for all the systems they use. Over a period of time, management likes to keep you where you are. There isn't much room for growth. Either you're a medical personnel, an administration or in research.
Pros
Fairly low stress environment
Cons
No room for growth and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Workplace
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 17, 2018
I worked for UCSF for nearly a year and a half at the Park Lab, on isolating circulating tumor cells (CTCs) in blood samples from metastatic breast cancer patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive workplace
POSTDOCTORAL FELLOW (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 16, 2018
Lots of learning opportunities, interdisciplinary training, collaborations , good benefits, state-of-the-art research facility, excellent faculty, competitive job culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are passionate about healthcare and the medical field.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 11, 2018
I would recommend friends and family to work for UCSF as it provides a great place to work if you are passionate about healthcare and the medical field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Are you up for a Challenge?
Clinical Nurse 2 (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 9, 2018
Assigned to a full case load. IT is subject to change. Often communication can preclude efficiency. Complicated cases with high acuity Management has been supportive of individual needs, The schedule is reliable. A mixed culture of blended work places. Smart and supportive crew. Hardest part is getting crossed trained and the uneven skill sets of the crew. The most enjoyable is you have support with equipment and cleaning the rooms.
Pros
Lots of support with support crew and assistabce
Cons
can be chaotic and short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Clinical Instructor 1 year (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 28, 2017
loved working here. i got this job directly out of nursing school. it was my dream job and i was offered the job during my initial interview. bone marrow transplant nursing taught me so much and i loved the staff i worked with. we were comrades and we all helped each other.wonderful work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and engaging staff
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 27, 2017
UC San Francisco is a great place to volunteer at. You learn a lot and the staff really utilizes your skills. Patients are generally happy and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anesthesia Technician - exciting and overwhelming working in a operang room environment
Anesthesia Technician 3 (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 25, 2017
A typical day in the OR is a bit stressful. As anesthesia technician the job duty include but not limited to preparing and assisting in operating rooms, preparing IV lines, assisting in placement of central lines, and so on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of California - San Francisco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

University of California - San Francisco Reviews by Location