University of California Berkeley Employee Reviews

Found 465 reviews matching the search See all 473 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience at Berkeley
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAMarch 11, 2019
Pay is way below the average of what people make elsewhere in same position or role. More skilled to take more challenges and make key decisions but talent isn't used well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stuff
Staff Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAFebruary 20, 2019
Really great stuff gents, drinks all around. But seriously, good place to work, obviously, doesnt pay much, but you could be a techie sellout if you wanted to make money, right?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paradise for postdoctoral researchers
Postdoctoral Scholar (Current Employee) –  Alameda County, CAFebruary 8, 2019
Berkeley provides a wonderful working environment with world-class resources available.

I have found that the faculty (including Nobel laureates) and researchers at Berkeley are knowledgeable, friendly, and eager to help each other.

Almost any scientific equipment need can be found on campus or nearby.

The San Francisco bay area is an amazing place to live, but too many people want to be here, so it is very expensive.
Pros
Paradise for postdoctoral researchers
Cons
Cost of living in the Bay Area is high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Business Manager/Bookkeeper/Controller/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 29, 2019
Good place to work. Many opportunities. Great benefits and network .connections. Nice environment with trees and surrounding nature. Professional and collaborative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work in berkeley is challenging
Research Assistant in BRAVO (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 24, 2019
Every day in berkeley is a new day. you need to face challenge everyday. people around you are smart and competitive. You have to compete with those people
Pros
Great people
Cons
too competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate student
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Electrical Engineering and Computer scienceJanuary 9, 2019
Huge department, very difficult and busy. You must take a minimum set of courses and have breadth and depth requirements in those courses. The courses are very hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestigious
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 7, 2019
excellent brain power but poor integration with lecturers; teaching excellence is given lip service but is not really valued as exemplified by their pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was wonderful as an Intern
Health Education Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 7, 2019
I was an intern at the UC Berkeley School of Public Health. I enjoyed my time in this position and learned a great deal. I was exposed to new ideas and learned what research truly is. Very satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a just=graduated person
Word Processor (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 3, 2019
This was a bridge job between graduating from Cal, and going on to something different. The professors were very supportive and helpful in giving opportunities to tackle different projects to expand skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Senior Civil /structure Engineer (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 2, 2019
IT was a good 12 years of rich experience with them especially in dealing with faculty staff during mapping project for last 3 years of my employment with them
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CADecember 19, 2018
It was a fun place to work. There were always students looking for help. If you did happen to have some down time, you could use that time to study. The hours were also flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Student
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CADecember 19, 2018
Typical day at UC Berkeley is attending lectures and office hours. Being a student involves taking exams, quizzes, writing papers, and completing projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all depends on your supervisor / group / project
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CADecember 10, 2018
Pros:
- a lot of resources for continuing education
- great talks from the world-famous scientists
- great and very smart colleagues
Cons:
- the attitude to postdocs is very bad, especially compared to Europe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mgmt culture was very steady. they were generally lifers, to work there until retirement
Oracle Planning Consultant (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CADecember 10, 2018
Great crowd to work with. supportive and respectful. lots admiration for the quality of the work done. the environment was most time very patient and understanding that good work took time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and too political.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CADecember 6, 2018
My experience was that this wasn't a place a hard working individual could get ahead and grow professionally without considerable amounts of stress and disorganization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CANovember 18, 2018
Good job for students but not to make a career, not stressful and easy paced enviroment. Flexible schedules but low salaries. Discounts for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with great supervisors/coworkers
LAB INTERN (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CANovember 7, 2018
I was able to determine my own schedule while working in the lab, and I would come in to help out whenever my schedule was free. The people supervising me were very understanding and helped me learn valuable skills. The people I worked with were very easy to work with as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with some of the brightest students in the world
Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CANovember 6, 2018
Enjoyed interacting with students from all over the world. Collaboration was challenging at times but overall it worked out. Fast-paced environment but, ease of adaptability was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging place to develop research skills
Student Researcher (Summer) (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CANovember 5, 2018
Working at UC Berkeley was the best experience of my exchange program. Doing research with the best students in the world, in a lab with a good infrastructure is very motivating. Everyday I was challenged to do newer and harder tasks. I learned a lot during my intern!
Pros
Free lunch, free snacks, great infrastructure, competent co-workers
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Hours
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAOctober 28, 2018
I really enjoy working at the Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley because it is on campus and the hours are very flexible. I appreciate the fact that management understands how strenuous schoolwork can be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of California Berkeley. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 473 reviews
5234
4148
360
219
112

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

2.9Fairygodboss Score

69%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

45%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

University of California Berkeley Reviews by Location